We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza Alexandria - Top Notch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Crowne Plaza Alexandria - Top Notch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed her in July 2011 and found it to be a good standard of hotel. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.
I read in other reviews about aircraft noise, never heard a thing. Our room overlooked the car park and I was worried about car doors banging, but slept like a log – big bed and firm mattress. Room was spacious, dark wood and good quality tv (that's just the tv, not the programmes!!!)
We'd overdone the museums the previous day in Washington, and just wanted a day to chill, so it was a nice touch to have a shuttle bus to take us down in to Alexandria where we walked around, had a Starbucks, sat on benches, and just got a feel of the place. (Liked the Baptist Church car park sign included here.)
Back to the hotel to try out the bar, which was surprisingly quiet. (Is that because it was summer?)
Ate out both nights, once in Alexandria and once at the Italian across the road.
Ticked all the boxes for me as a stopover hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    146
    103
    50
    23
See reviews for
76
94
28
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, IL
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Spent one night here for a business meeting nearby the next morning. Slept fine until 6 am when the air traffic started at Reagan, after that room was extremely noisy. Soon after the ice machine came into use and added to the noise level.
Entering the room is very confusing: there are two lights on the door. When you swipe your keycard, one or both light up. The green light always lights, even if the card doesn’t read. If the red one lights up, you can enter.
Normal sized hotel room with a flatscreen TV, coffee pot, smoke detector, and sprinkler. Desk includes a chair, lamp, telephone, and wireless internet ($9.95/day). My room had two double beds but no easy chair, no refrigerator, no microwave.
Bathroom includes a sink, bathtub, and toilet all behind the same door, and a hairdryer. Closet included an iron and an ironing board.
There’s a wonderful bagel/breakfast restaurant kitty-corner from the hotel. The hotel has a small but capable bar. The restaurant is open until 11pm but I did not have an opportunity to try it.
Overall is decent hotel if you have a nearby meeting and need to get up at 6am anyway. Otherwise stay downtown or at the Holiday Inn a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

i stayed here the 16th and 17th of Sept,,, very lovely inside,, the staff was most helpful, they have a very nice Buffet breakfast in the morning,, for lunch and dinner they have a real nice bar/restaurant,, which has happy from 4pm to 7pm.. prices in there are very reasonable
my room which was on the 6th floor looked out over the water and you could constantly watch the planes coming into Regan National. they have a shuttle to the airport but not to the train station,, so if you go down there by train,, be ready for a cab ride that costs a bit over $7.00. and dont try getting a cab the way you do in baltimore or New York,, they wont stop that way,, you have to get over to the train station and buses will get you there if your out and about and then you catch a cab and go back up town,, that was a bit odd but not that bad,, Alexandria has great shops and eateries.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were in town for a family wedding, and the reception was going to be at the Crowne Plaza, so we decided to stay here. I was a little hesitant because of some of the reviews that I had read here, but we were pleasantly surprised.

Before our arrival, I had to call to change our reservation (add a day before and take away a day at the end). The person I spoke to was very short and unfriendly. However, she got it done, and I was happy enough.

Shuttle: They have a shuttle that goes from the hotel to the airport and back. It is very convenient as the DC Metro has a stop at the airport. So for a couple of days, we took advantage of the shuttle to get us to the Metro to visit DC. The only problem is that since the CP at Old Alexandria is so convenient, there are also a LOT of airline crew that stay there. If you are at the airport waiting for the shuttle, there are a couple of drivers who show preference to the airline personnel. One afternoon, we had been waiting longer, but when the shuttle arrived, some flight attendants ran out of the building and were served first. Some people who had been waiting (arrived after us but before the attendants) were told to wait for the next shuttle because there was no longer room on this one. So that's where I take the fifth star away.

Reception/Staff: All of the staff I encountered within the hotel was very nice. We arrived quite early (noon), but since they had a room available, they let us in. We had joined their reward program prior to leaving Dallas, so when we arrived, we were given a little goodie bag including bottled water, bag of popcorn and some other little things. They also let us know that we would enjoy free wifi as part of the program. So join if you plan on staying at a Crowne Plaza!

Room: Our room was great. Even though it's an older hotel, our room was clean and mold/grossness-free. The only problem with the room was that we had no refrigerator or microwave. I didn't think anything of it until I saw in my cousins' rooms that they had them. We all had the same type of room, but some rooms just don't get them. So if it's important to you, ask for one when you check in. When we got into our room, we had a nice little bag of lavender linen spray, earplugs and eye mask waiting for us. Nice touch. As part of a wedding group, we also enjoyed free parking throughout our stay.

Fitness Room:This was very nice. The room on the 2nd floor had treadmills, elliptical machines and weight machines. There were towels, water, and free weights as well. The air was cold, so it made running much more pleasant. Behind the hotel is a trail that goes for miles.

Area/Location: We were very close to King Street where you can find lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Right across the street are some tennis courts, a nail salon and a great breakfast place. A little further down is a cool Italian shop and a Thai place. Around a few corners is a grocery store. You can go for a quick drive and find shopping and restaurants. If you drive towards the highway, though, you encounter an area that isn't so nice. It's like one minute you are in a very seemingly safe area, then you cross the street, and there is trash on the sidewalks, unkept lawns and shady people hanging out at night. But right around the hotel, it's perfectly fine.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves. The wedding reception turned out great. The food there was awesome, so if that is anything close to what you'd get in the hotel, then that's good news. We'd stay here again if we were to come to DC again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator and microwave if you want them. Not all rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

reasonably priced, good service, but OLDER propoerty. Needs refreshed, moldy grout in old style bathrooms, fuzzy flat screen TV reception, older fixtures. well noise proofed as I had north facing room on the Reagan flight path with no aircraft noise. very close to DCA, convenient to GW Pkwy, shuttle to King Street food strip, NOT close to Metro.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Located several blocks north of Old Town Alexandria, the Crown Plaza provides a quiet and quaint escape from the travails of travel, be it for leisure or business. As this hotel is situated a few steps from the Potomac River, many rooms offer a few of the distant Capital Dome. There is a pleasing lobby, well laid out, with internet access available; a staircase takes you to the second floor where guests will find the restaurant Chequers, which for some reason is named after the country home of the British Prime Minister; adjacent is the Railstop gastro pub, where thirsty guests can hop atop plush stools and quaff pints of craft beer, including a local porter brewed here in Alexandria. Of course, should you wish to enjoy these privately, the room service is quick and efficient.

The room is large enough and contains the usual amenities, such as a flat screen television – these seem to be found more often these days. There is a large frame window, through which you can view the aforementioned Capital Dome. The bathroom was clean and functional. I did like the artwork that came with the room (Yes; the pictures were bolted to the walls.)

The Crowne Plaza does offer a shuttle service to and from the nearby Reagan National Airport; also, there is limited shuttle service to Old Town. However, it is really not that far of a walk. Speaking of which, the hotel is situated adjacent the 18-mile long Mt. Vernon Trail, which allows active people to walk, bike, run or jog along the Potomac shoreline from Roosevelt Island to George and Martha’s place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for 10 days and enjoyed the room and location, since we had a Patomic river view room on the top floor and know the location. Rooms was clean, spacious and comfortable. Sleept very good in the beds. Unfortunately the breakfast and staff is not up to Crowne Plaza standard. We stayed at several CP's in Europe and Middle East before. The breakfast had more selection and better quality during Radisson times. We ordered smoked salmon from the menue (which was on the buffet, when it was Radisson) to hear that they do not have it available. Some of the hot items on the buffet were cold. That was the reason we always went to La Madeleine downtown. Now the staff does not say a word more than necessary. No welcome to the Crowne Plaza, no How are you today?, no How was your stay with us? at check out. And this after 10 days with them. Dissappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for river view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Alexandria. I apologize that our staff did not give you the friendly and attentive service you are entiteled to and I would like to ensure you that your comments will be followed up on with the appropriated departments and employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;