We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rdeasonable but OLDER Crowne, COnvenient to GW Pkwy and DCA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Defiance, Missouri
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Rdeasonable but OLDER Crowne, COnvenient to GW Pkwy and DCA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

reasonably priced, good service, but OLDER propoerty. Needs refreshed, moldy grout in old style bathrooms, fuzzy flat screen TV reception, older fixtures. well noise proofed as I had north facing room on the Reagan flight path with no aircraft noise. very close to DCA, convenient to GW Pkwy, shuttle to King Street food strip, NOT close to Metro.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    166
    110
    53
    27
See reviews for
81
105
32
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Located several blocks north of Old Town Alexandria, the Crown Plaza provides a quiet and quaint escape from the travails of travel, be it for leisure or business. As this hotel is situated a few steps from the Potomac River, many rooms offer a few of the distant Capital Dome. There is a pleasing lobby, well laid out, with internet access available; a staircase takes you to the second floor where guests will find the restaurant Chequers, which for some reason is named after the country home of the British Prime Minister; adjacent is the Railstop gastro pub, where thirsty guests can hop atop plush stools and quaff pints of craft beer, including a local porter brewed here in Alexandria. Of course, should you wish to enjoy these privately, the room service is quick and efficient.

The room is large enough and contains the usual amenities, such as a flat screen television – these seem to be found more often these days. There is a large frame window, through which you can view the aforementioned Capital Dome. The bathroom was clean and functional. I did like the artwork that came with the room (Yes; the pictures were bolted to the walls.)

The Crowne Plaza does offer a shuttle service to and from the nearby Reagan National Airport; also, there is limited shuttle service to Old Town. However, it is really not that far of a walk. Speaking of which, the hotel is situated adjacent the 18-mile long Mt. Vernon Trail, which allows active people to walk, bike, run or jog along the Potomac shoreline from Roosevelt Island to George and Martha’s place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for 10 days and enjoyed the room and location, since we had a Patomic river view room on the top floor and know the location. Rooms was clean, spacious and comfortable. Sleept very good in the beds. Unfortunately the breakfast and staff is not up to Crowne Plaza standard. We stayed at several CP's in Europe and Middle East before. The breakfast had more selection and better quality during Radisson times. We ordered smoked salmon from the menue (which was on the buffet, when it was Radisson) to hear that they do not have it available. Some of the hot items on the buffet were cold. That was the reason we always went to La Madeleine downtown. Now the staff does not say a word more than necessary. No welcome to the Crowne Plaza, no How are you today?, no How was your stay with us? at check out. And this after 10 days with them. Dissappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for river view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Alexandria. I apologize that our staff did not give you the friendly and attentive service you are entiteled to and I would like to ensure you that your comments will be followed up on with the appropriated departments and employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed there for 2 weeks this july. The rooms were nice and clean. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator. The staff was always very nice and helpful. The shuttle to the metro was a plus. We were withing walking distance to old town alexandria. I would definitely stay there again on my next trip to washington dc. The connecting rooms were nice since we were there with family.

Room Tip: The beds were a little small. they were supposed to be queen but im sure where full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
I thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and the positive comments regarding our staff, the shuttle service and our location. As far as the beds are concerned, you obviously have been given some wrong information as it relates to the bed size and I apologize for thast. We only have King andDouble beds. By the end of September all our rooms will have Refridgertors and Micro Wave ovens, which will be a great additions especially for guest staying longer then just a few nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights for a conference last month. The hotel has a very nice location, right along the waterfront, with easy access and walking to King Street and nice historical areas. The conference rooms were also very nice, although quite cold with the air conditioning! The room was beautiful, and bed very comfortable.

We had hit-or-miss service from the front desk staff, and also a meal at the hotel bistro where we waited very long for our meal -- but otherwise I was very happy with this location and would recommend to travelers or conference attendees. Price is probably fair the area but expensive coming from the west ... :)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us during your conference and your nice comments regarding our location in relation to the river and the historical sections of Alexandria.
Your comments regarding the frontdesk are very much appreciated and I can assure you that it will be addressed. As far as the GastroPub is concerned, we are working out a few kinks related to production and service. This is a new venture for us and we are almost there.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed here at the start of a long journey across America and enjoyed the facilities very much. Comfortable and ideal for tourists at a reasonable level.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a great trip and many pleasant experiences in your trip accross our country. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope you will stay with us again when the opportunity arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This Crowne Plaza is a cross between a motel and hotel. Seven stories high, it has a huge parking lot over which my room had a direct view. There may be rooms with a more attractive view. Good features: large room, good bed, good pillows, excellent temperature control, good bathroom with tub/shower, large screen tv. Coffee in room was surprisingly good - a B+, I'd say - I'm a coffee fanatic, so that's a good rating from me. Mini-van shuttle to airport takes about 10 minutes, runs on the hour and on the half-hour, makes only one other hotel stop en route. Elevators are surprisingly sufficient - hardly ever a wait of more than a minute. Quiet at night - not a partying kind of clientele. Minuses: Lacking: safe; mini-bar; small frig. No pool, alas. Broken: outlet for clock radio. Didn't complain since only there for 2 nights and had my own alarm. Outlets: a few, adequate for my three devices, but maybe not for a highly tech-carrying person.

The restaurant is ok for casual lunch/dinner. Food is pleasant. There's also a sportsbar. Didn't try breakfast, because the conference I was at provided that; however, it was catered by the hotel, and the quality and variety (including eggs, bagels, lots of fruit) was excellent. I liked the conference facilities a lot: the chairs were comfortable and the acoustics excellent, so the lack of a mike for speakers wasn't a problem. Also, since the hotel is small, it's not necessary to run a mile between the room and the conference facilities as it is well laid out. Conference bathrooms are clean and well-supplied with necessities. As you will accurately guess, I go to lots of conferences where these issues, if not well done, can ruin the event. Especially the acoustics!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
I am sorry that your room did not have a view of the Capitol or the river as some of the rooms on the upper floors have and that you had some difficulties with the outlet. I asked housekeeping to test all otlets to ensure that proper connectivity exist.
Also, we are in the process of getting refridgerators and micro wave ovens for all guest rooms and the project should be completed by the end of September.
Thank you for your compliments about the food quality you experienced. We are proud of our food quality and our Executive Chef who is a Culinary Institute of America (CIA) Certified Executive Chef. The quality and selection of food and beverage in our restaurant the "Rail Stop Gastro Pub" shows his creativity and culinary skills.
Thank you for your comments and I hope if you return to Alexandria you wil again stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.