We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed here at the start of a long journey across America and enjoyed the facilities very much. Comfortable and ideal for tourists at a reasonable level.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and I hope you had a great trip and many pleasant experiences in your trip accross our country. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope you will stay with us again when the opportunity arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    156
    107
    51
    23
See reviews for
77
100
32
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This Crowne Plaza is a cross between a motel and hotel. Seven stories high, it has a huge parking lot over which my room had a direct view. There may be rooms with a more attractive view. Good features: large room, good bed, good pillows, excellent temperature control, good bathroom with tub/shower, large screen tv. Coffee in room was surprisingly good - a B+, I'd say - I'm a coffee fanatic, so that's a good rating from me. Mini-van shuttle to airport takes about 10 minutes, runs on the hour and on the half-hour, makes only one other hotel stop en route. Elevators are surprisingly sufficient - hardly ever a wait of more than a minute. Quiet at night - not a partying kind of clientele. Minuses: Lacking: safe; mini-bar; small frig. No pool, alas. Broken: outlet for clock radio. Didn't complain since only there for 2 nights and had my own alarm. Outlets: a few, adequate for my three devices, but maybe not for a highly tech-carrying person.

The restaurant is ok for casual lunch/dinner. Food is pleasant. There's also a sportsbar. Didn't try breakfast, because the conference I was at provided that; however, it was catered by the hotel, and the quality and variety (including eggs, bagels, lots of fruit) was excellent. I liked the conference facilities a lot: the chairs were comfortable and the acoustics excellent, so the lack of a mike for speakers wasn't a problem. Also, since the hotel is small, it's not necessary to run a mile between the room and the conference facilities as it is well laid out. Conference bathrooms are clean and well-supplied with necessities. As you will accurately guess, I go to lots of conferences where these issues, if not well done, can ruin the event. Especially the acoustics!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
I am sorry that your room did not have a view of the Capitol or the river as some of the rooms on the upper floors have and that you had some difficulties with the outlet. I asked housekeeping to test all otlets to ensure that proper connectivity exist.
Also, we are in the process of getting refridgerators and micro wave ovens for all guest rooms and the project should be completed by the end of September.
Thank you for your compliments about the food quality you experienced. We are proud of our food quality and our Executive Chef who is a Culinary Institute of America (CIA) Certified Executive Chef. The quality and selection of food and beverage in our restaurant the "Rail Stop Gastro Pub" shows his creativity and culinary skills.
Thank you for your comments and I hope if you return to Alexandria you wil again stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed at this Crowne Plaza for the second time. The gentle man checked me in with free upgrades due to my status as a Priority Club Platinum member. We asked for microwave and the front desk was willing to deliver it to my room, but my wife declined the offer. We only spent one Saturday night there. The best part of this stay is the recreation opportunity by the river, in addition to the free upgrades (including breakfast). We did not use other facilities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank for staying with us for the second time. You are correct, the location is perfect with most rooms offering a great view of the Potomac river and the rooms on the upper floors facing north also have a view of DC.
For the physically active we aso have great choices for Biking, Jogging, Walking and Tennis.
Besides the George Washington Bike Path that runs from Mount Vernan Estates to Roosevelt Island and streches for 18 miles and passes behind the hotel, right accross the hotel is Montgomery park featuring 4 Tennis Courts that are open to the public. (First come first serve basis). The hotel provides rackets and balls.
Again thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for the Easter weekend. This hotel was booked pursuant to a bid on Priceline, but I have to say that had a payed asking price, I would have been REALLY upset....

The positives - the room was spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel in general was clean. Unfortunately, there were alot of negatives.

1. Despite the fact that this hotel is not in downtown Old Town (about 10 blocks away) or that close the airport, they make you pay $20 a night for parking. Word to the wise, if you are there on a weekend, you WILL be able to find parking on Sunday on the street;

2. The room did NOT have a refrigerator;

3. The door closest to the parking garage, like many hotels, gets locked at night. Despite the sign that informs you to use your room key during those evening and night hours, mine did not work. When I went to the desk to inform them, the clerk looked at me like I was the idiot, gave a little attitude and said "Room keys don't work on that door." When I asked about ths sign, all I got was more attitude;

4. There is a gym, but the equipment is severely outdated - most of the functions on the eliptical and treadmill did not work.

There are so many other hotels in Old Towne with similar prices that are SO much better.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here with two children. The hotel staff were friendly, however not the most helpful. Hotel was a good value for the money during April school vacation. There is a parking fee of $20.00 per day in addition to hotel price. Complimentary Wi-fi is available in downstairs lobby. In individual rooms they charge an additional $9.95 per day. No fridge or microwave in rooms. Those items also available for additional charge. There is a restaurant on second floor which was kind of pricey. The rooms were very clean and hotel is situated in a very safe area. There is a big supermarket within a few minutes walk. They had a shuttle to Reagan airport every half hour on the hour. You just take that, and hop on metro to DC, Dupont Circle, Georgetown etc...very very easy. We stayed 3 nights and we each bought a metro pass and put $20.00 on the card, and that was plenty to get us all around DC for the 3 days. The hotel is located in Alexandria and Old Towne is a complimentary 5 min.shuttle bus ride away. Great shops and restaurants. Very pet friendly town as is most of DC with water bowls available in front of every store. If your looking to save a little money this is one of the places I would recommend.

Room Tip: If you book through expedia it will be cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed here for a long spring break weekend to hit a few more museums with the kids. This is really too far from the metro, especially after a long day walking all over DC with two kids, but they have a shuttle. When we checked in, the hotel was on generator power only, but that was corrected quickly enough, and made the fact that another family walked into our room with their luggage totally understandable. The staff was pleasant, the rooms were very clean (and kept that way) and we were pleased. I would definitely return if I didn't need the metro.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herreh, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
The powercut certainly made life difficult for a while and I thank you for your understanding during the difficult time and apologize for the problems it caused you. We are fortunate that two years ago we installed an additional Emegency Power Generator that enabled us to keep one elevator running.
Thank you for staying with us, I appreciate your business.
Hubert Herre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I was bumped and the airline booked me into this hotel. The staff were helpful in person, but not so much on the phone (see experience below). The hotel location is not great, it was too far to walk to the Metro or Old Town in the cold weather. And for Priority Club members, they did give a couple of snacks, but there is no free internet or breakfast, which is usually included for all in budget hotels and for gold elite members in nicer hotels.

Check-in was pretty smooth, and the room was fine, but when I went to take a nap I realized that the sheets were dirty. I called down and asked for someone to change the sheets. Twenty minutes later, with no response, I called again and asked to switch rooms, and they assured me that housekeeping was on their way. After waiting another ten minutes, I was finally able to talk to the front desk manager and he was very helpful, even bringing me the key so I wouldn't have to come downstairs

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.