We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer for Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and SAVE!
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Customer for Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We recently stayed at the Morrison House while visiting family. We were traveling with our 6mo old daughter and returning to the United States after a 4 year military tour overseas. This charming hotel is perfectly situated in the historic part of Old Town Alexandria, VA. The room and amenities were terrific and rivaled any of the hotels we stayed at in Europe. But the real value of this hotel has got to be the staff. Robert (the GM) has managed to find an amazing group of people that genuinely care and work to make your stay something special.

It was one of the few times I have found a Hotel that fit into its surrounding area, had great facilities and an outstanding staff. The Morrison House turned what was going to be a business trip to see family into a true vacation.

The Morrison House is a treasure in the heart of Alexandria. If you have a chance to stay there do it. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Dear JBeall,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us at the Morrison House. It was a pleasure having your family with us and I’m thrilled you enjoyed yourself. I also appreciate your feedback about our staff and agree they’re a very special part of our success. I would appreciate it if you could reach out to me the next time you’re here, so I may be prepared to welcome you back personally. Loyal guests mean everything to us.

Thank you again and welcome home!

RH
General Manager
Morrison House - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    76
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
52
232
51
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Morrison House Hotel is absolutely the greatest venue for a truly romantic evening! The rooms have a fireplace, the beds are terrific and the candelabra lighting can be adjusted to create a soft sultry atmosphere. I can not say enough about the staff. They provide first class service and always go out of their way to let you know how much they appreciate you as their guest.

I lived a lot of my life in Europe, traveling the world, staying in luxury hotels. The Morrison House can compete respectably with all of them. This is a top notch hotel with class. I highly recommend that you plan to attend their complementary wine hour in the lounge and then treat yourself to a wonderful dinner in the dining room. I enjoy dining in the bar as the atmosphere is wonderful and the food terrific! Oh, not to mention the incredible drinks by Rosen the bar tender! Once you finish dinner take a short walk down to the waterfront or do some shopping in Old Town.
The Morrison House, General Manager Robert Hannigan and his staff, the rooms, the bar and dining are all first class!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear laffinalot,

Thank you! Your loyalty means everything to us; it's always a pleasure to assist our regular guests. We look foward to welcoming you back to our home soon!

Robert
General Manager
Morrison House - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The Morrison House in my home away from home. I stay there about once a month or so. The staff are beyond friendly and the service is beyond superior. At the end of your stay you'll want to invite everyone to stay i your own home. I highly recommend this beautiful comfortable hotel and I'm looking forward to many future nights at the Morrison House.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Dear CEJack,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. I'm glad you had a good time and am very happy that you plan on joining us in the future. Your loyalty means everything to us!

We want to be the best loved hotel in Alexandria. If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue work toward that goal simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We recently sent our parents to Morrison House to celebrate a very special event. The manager (Robert) went above and beyond to make their stay "one to remember." The excitement of the staff made our long distance planning all the more fun and the final product left our parents speechless! I am amazed by their creativity and follow through. For example, I mentioned my father liked key lime pie and twice, someone arrived at their door with a "key lime themed" dessert! Robert suggested we email pictures of the grandkids, which he then placed in photo frames all around the room. That kind of service is not easily found, but it is definitely the standard at Morrison House!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Dear NavyWifeRN,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your family's recent experience at our property. We're absolutely thrilled that your parents enjoyed their stay. Than you for trusting us with such an important milestone in their lives. I'm also especially grateful that you reached out in advance; we honestly enjoyed planning your parent's stay as much as you did!

We want to be the best loved hotel in Alexandria. If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue work toward that goal simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. Thank you again and I hope we see you and your family soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This is an old-style (i.e. architecture) hotel, located in historic district, with modern-day amenities and a superb staff that goes all out to make your stay pleasant. The front desk clerks greeted me by name each day.

The hotel is about eight blocks from a subway station which provides easy access to the sights in Washington, DC. The hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurants and shops.

The hotel is not for the budget conscious, but if you want to pamper yourself to feel like a King or Queen, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear HallPlante,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. I'm glad you had a good time at our property and also appreciate your feedback about our team. They take great pride in what they do.

We want to be the best loved hotel in Alexandria. If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue work toward that goal simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010 via mobile

Took the recommendations from this site to heart and booked a stay. With a six month old daughter, good service in a hotel can be hard to find. Morrison House redefined what service can be.

During my stay, I had the opportunity to meet staff from the desk, bar, engineering, housekeeping, and butler groups. While each one seemed to outdo the others, two stand out: Jose and Sasha. These two both went out of their way any time we were near to make sure we were comfortable.

The consistent high level of attention to detail and commitment to customer service made this visit outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear California11,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. We're especially grateful for your comments about our staff. We completely agree they're a very special part of our success.

We want to be the best loved hotel in Alexandria. If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue work toward that goal simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I are here for the entire week (we're halfway though the stay right now) and have truly enjoyed being right in the middle of old town Alexandria. We are in the area at least once a quarter and this is the first time we have stayed at this particular hotel. It will not be the last. :-)

My only (tiny) complaint is that the internet connection here is extremely slow and weak.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Dear ZagnutMom,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. I'm thrilled you're having a great experience with us and also appreciate your comments about the internet speed. We're aware of that as well and have been working to improve the situation. I'm happy to report that we've recently signed an agreement with a vendor that is going to double the bandwidth serving the property. We expect to resolve that issue for good with this upgrade.

We want to be the best loved hotel in Alexandria. If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue work toward that goal simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton
Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.