We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience - you will feel very welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, D.C.
1 review
“Fantastic experience - you will feel very welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

The Morrison House is a charming hotel that makes every effort to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. From hot coffee, hot chocolate and hot cider on cold winter afternoons to red and white wine set out (complimentary) before dinner, every minute just flows nicely and beautifully. The staff is friendly and available and every request is honored. I highly recommend the restaurant and especially the cocktails made by the fantastic bartender.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear DCMich55,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. We're very happy that you had a special time and truly appreciate your feedback about our amenities and also our staff. I completely agree that they're a very special part of our success!

If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue to make the Morrison House your favorite hotel in Alexandria simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. We also recommend that you check out the Morrison House - a Kimpton Hotel on Facebook.

Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

Best,

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    84
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
57
253
52
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I am a frequent business traveler and have had the pleasure (and displeasure) of staying at many different locations throughout the country - whether thru business meetings, outings, seminars, etc. It can be especially taxing when you are the one responsible for running them.

I have used several Kimpton properties as "home base" for some of these events and they never fail to exceed my every expectation on service, hospitality, cleanliness and reliability - especially the Morrison House. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is extremely attentive and neither I, nor my associates have ever had an issue - in fact, its tough to take credit for the accolades as I truly don't deserve them - this hotel does.

I have brought my family along (two young children) on select trips and they are treated wonderfully in a safe and clean environment. Whether business or pleasure, I would strongly recommend this hotel - you will not be disappointed, and neither will your associates.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear Hanni33Middletown,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. We're very happy that you had a special time in our hotel and that it works for you both personally and professionally, we try to accommodate every need!

If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue to make the Morrison House your favorite hotel in Alexandria simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. We also recommend that you check out the Morrison House - a Kimpton Hotel on Facebook.

Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

Best,

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I recently stayed and must say the wait staff was amazing. They went out of their way to make sure my room service order was perfect. They made several trips to bring each course separately and with perfect temperature - the meat was hot and the ice cream was cold :). Cant wait to visit again in the Spring!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear DeniseH01,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. We're very happy that we kept the hot side hot and the cold side cold for you. It's a lost art our Room Service team is very proud of!

If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue to make the Morrison House your favorite hotel in Alexandria simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. We also recommend that you check out the Morrison House - a Kimpton Hotel on Facebook.

Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We've been to Morrison House several times and we are never disappointed. The service is attentive and everyone is gracious. Even our dog was warmly welcomed! Our room was clean and comfortable and the linens are wonderful quality. This is a small, intimate hotel within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. We always feel welcomed and we always have a wonderful stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear Lola9,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. We're very happy that we were able to make your pet feel welcomed as well. Many of us at the Morrison House have pets as well, so we know the importance of treating them like family.

If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue to make the Morrison House your favorite hotel in Alexandria simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me. We also recommend that you check out the Morrison House - a Kimpton Hotel on Facebook.

Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

This Kimpton property is located in Old Towne, just across the Potomac from DC in a very walkable area. You have easy access to the harbor, shops and restaurants. Morrison House is a boutique hotel of 45 rooms. We booked online and think the value with the amenities was wonderful. Enjoy a complimentary wine hour on Friday night with horsdoevres. The continental breakfast consisted of hot pastries, fruit, juice and a hot beverage served to you by a gracious wait staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear YogaPal,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. Please come back and see us anytime, especially in that we're hosting a complimentary hosted Wine Hour each day for all of our guests. We're thrilled to be offering this signature Kimpton amenity.

If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue to make the Morrison House your favorite hotel in Alexandria simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me.

Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

My wife and I got trapped in Alexandria for the Blizzard of 2009 and had the most wonderful time at the Morrison House. There were little to no services available in the whole area but the Morrison House met our every need. The staff was beyond helpful, the food at the Grille delicious! We had a lovely view of the holiday lights in the near distance of the main street in Old Town (King Street) with the snow falling lazily down. It was magical!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear BradleyJD,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. It was quite an exciting storm, we're thrilled you had a great time with us.

If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue to make the Morrison House your favorite hotel in Alexandria simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me.

Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

If you want an old Alexandria experience, and a staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome, this place is for you.
The rooms are very clean, with great beds! The restaurant and bar are good as well (a bit pricey, however), and it's nice to have room service available 24 hours.
The hotel is centrally located in the town, but off the main King Street, so it's very quiet-really a perfect location, near dozens of shops and restaurants.

Folks from the west, like us, might be a bit overwhelmed by all the door opening, smiling, bag carrying, helpful service. At times it's almost unsettling how eager everyone is to be of service at the Morrison House. But you get used to it! :)
Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Dear Ityr2001,

On behalf of the Morrison House I wanted to write to thank you for the comments you provided about your recent experience at our property. We're very grateful for your feedback on our staff, we do aim to please!

If there’s any additional feedback you have on how we can continue to make the Morrison House your favorite hotel in Alexandria simply contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with me.

Thank you again and I hope we see you soon.

RH
General Manager
Morrison House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.