We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel in charming area with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Milwaukee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute hotel in charming area with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Good pedestrian location to walk around Old Town . The King Street trolley makes it easy to get around but is a very popular idea so prepare for delays. You can take the trolley to the King Street Metro and from there navigate the entire DC area. You can also take the trolley to the River and ferry over to DC or the National Harbor. Very attentive staff that tried hard to please. The restaurant ambience isn't great but we only tried it for breakfast. Room was a little small but everything in this Old Town area is small as per the period. Note that this property is intended to look vintage such as the surrounding historical area but it is not a historical property. They did a good job of making it fit into the architecture in the area.
I appreciate the coffee and tea service in the lobby. Very good coffee - a lost amenity in many places. Overall good home base to see the immediate area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Newaukee1,

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoued the staff and service of the hotel. I appreciate good coffee too, so I understand how important that can be! It sounds like you got a good lay of the land, but please let us know when you are ready to come back to experience more, we're happy to help!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    87
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
263
54
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Morrison House several times in the last 3 years and, because of our repeatedly superb experiences, have made it the only place we stay when we are in the DC area. It is a very comfortable, well-maintained inn. The staff, from top to bottom, are always friendly, helpful, and recognize us when we appear for breakfast, return each night, and just wander down to ask relax in the lobby. One reason we travel to the DC area is to show each of our grandchildren the sights in their 10th year, and on each such trip, the Morrison House has done something special to make our grandchild feel especially comfortable. This attention to the differences between the individuals who are their guests makes the Morrison House, in our opinion, one of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear ADGrantley,

Wow, thanks for your loyalty! We're so honored that you continue to select us when travelling to Old Town, and will be happy to have you back again, hopefully very soon!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We booked an hour before on a Saturday night and got half price. Beautiful hotel! Within walking distance of the famous King Street area of Old Town. Quick walk to Murphy's Irish Pub! My only dislike of the hotel was our room on the ground floor - half a window looking out on car tires. This is not a property you'd book for the view anyway. The keys were actual old, heavy, metal keys! Very nice!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
SFlurry,

Real keys - it's true! We like them too, easier to find in our pockets after a late night at Murphy's! We'll be here, keys in hand, next time you are ready to cross the river for another staycation.

Take care,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I purchased a two night stay in a king sized room and I called ahead and informed the staff that I was staying for the evenings of my rehearsal dinner and wedding night.

The photos of the room on-line led me to believe that not only would I have ample space to prepare myself and put on my dress, but I was hoping to get some photographs in what I was expecting to be a fancy hotel room.

The room I received (405) was so cramped that I did not feel comfortable even putting on my wedding dress in the tiny amount of space.

The "icing on the cake" was that I later discovered that a guest to my wedding was upgraded free of charge to a larger room in the hotel without her even asking. I do not know what the circumstances were surrounding that decision, but if that was something that could have been done...isn't that the type of service one would expect for the BRIDE & GROOM?

All in all, I spent more money than I had originally budgeted for so that I could have a beautiful room (and not a cookie cutter space) to get ready in and spend my wedding night in, and I was highly disappointed with what was provided.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Erina42us,

I'm so sorry to hear that we missed our chance to be a great part of this special occasion. I'd greatly appreciate the opportunity to try and make it up to you. Please contact me directly at the hotel so I can help.

Best,

Kate
kellis@morrisonhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was an unexpected surprise. I have stayed at Kimpton hotels before, so I had positive expectation prior to our arrival. However, the Morrison house far exceeded our expectations. We arrived very late at night and the Valet was right there to greet us. With three young kids we were kind of "scattered" with our luggage and kid's toys and baby bags. This was not a problem, they gathered us up and we checked in and found our stuff waiting for us in our room. The room was very unique, almost had a "period" feel to it. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was updated and spacious. Breakfast was delicious, and they were attentive to our children while we waited for our food. Check in/out was very quick and easy.

There is always something to take note on, ours was the entrance to the hotel. It was almost midnight so it was very dark on the street. The entrance was hard to see and it is very small, a simple alleyway. Not a complaint, just something to keep in kind when you are arriving. We had a great stay and look forward to staying again anytime we go
To DC.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thanks for the review, MNVB!

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks for being loyal Kimpton guests. We hope to see you again on a repeat visit to DC!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is well-located in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Walking distance to everything. The hotel is a historic home. Very charming public spaces, which include a living room and study. Great spaces to enjoy the evening happy hour and morning coffee/tea. Our room was on the lower level and so wasn't fabulous, but it was well-appointed and comfortable, and it was large enough. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear VeraN,

Thanks for chosing to stay with us! We're glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the public spaces and our great location in Old Town. We do have 44 other wonderful rooms too for you to try, please dont hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of help finding the right one for you!

Best,

Kate
kellis@morrisonhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't be happier with our choice. We had walked from the Metro on a very hot day and while checking in, the thoughtful desk clerk gave us bottles of water, saying that we must be hot and thirsty. We were very happy with our room which was on the 3rd floor. Some reviews say not to get a basement level room. The bed linens were so soft and comfortable and there were some nice touches like an umbrella and yoga mat in the closet. The traditional decor was lovely. We really appreciated the wine and appy offered between 5 and 6 each day and morning coffee. The turn down service and chocolates each night were nice too. This hotel is in a great location. We spent one day exploring Alexandria and everything we wanted to see was in walking distance. Loved this area and loved this hotel. Great staff. Felt like we were coming home each night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Dale,

It's so great to hear that you enjoyed all of these wonderful aspects of your stay! Our team works tirelessly to make sure that each of these pieces come together to make a fantastic experience for all of our guests, and I am so glad to hear that is has paid off! We can wait to have you "Come home" to us again!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.