We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing retreat after a busy day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A relaxing retreat after a busy day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't be happier with our choice. We had walked from the Metro on a very hot day and while checking in, the thoughtful desk clerk gave us bottles of water, saying that we must be hot and thirsty. We were very happy with our room which was on the 3rd floor. Some reviews say not to get a basement level room. The bed linens were so soft and comfortable and there were some nice touches like an umbrella and yoga mat in the closet. The traditional decor was lovely. We really appreciated the wine and appy offered between 5 and 6 each day and morning coffee. The turn down service and chocolates each night were nice too. This hotel is in a great location. We spent one day exploring Alexandria and everything we wanted to see was in walking distance. Loved this area and loved this hotel. Great staff. Felt like we were coming home each night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Dale,

It's so great to hear that you enjoyed all of these wonderful aspects of your stay! Our team works tirelessly to make sure that each of these pieces come together to make a fantastic experience for all of our guests, and I am so glad to hear that is has paid off! We can wait to have you "Come home" to us again!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    100
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
65
281
55
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We could not be more pleased by our stay at the Morrison House. It's a beautiful spot in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly; they went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed and that our stay was stress free. The room was lovely and clean, though a bit smaller than a newer hotel. (It's to be expected with an older hotel, however). Very charming decor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear kazzam71,

Thanks for chosing Morrison House for your Old Town staycation! We'll be glad to have you back anytime you find yourself with a free weekend, just remember where we are, right in the heart of it all.

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This mansion-like hotel manages to achieve a sense of intimacy foreign to most luxury hotels. The ground floor features a number of well-appointed sitting rooms, with coffee and newspapers available all day, as well as a bar and restaurant (which we didn't try). Our room was comfortable if not overly spacious; what we saw of our friends' suite was impressive. Location, in Old Town, couldn't be better, and you'll have a plethora of dining and drinking choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Gerald,

We are so thankful for your gracious review! I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the common areas of the hotel. Please do return to join us for dinner and to meet our wonderful bartenders. We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband booked four king size rooms in mid-April for four nights directly with the hotel. Specifically stated that we had read that some rooms looked up from the window in the room to the street and was promised that this would NOT be the case with our reservations. Absolutely no mention was made that the rooms above the basement were the "deluxe" rooms and were priced a few dollars more per night. Subsequently three other couples were unable to make the trip and their rooms were cancelled. When we arrived at the Morrison House we were taken DOWN from the Lobby to our room and looked up through the window to the street. Went to the desk and requested an upgrade to a room "with a view" which we were promised and were told these were "deluxe" rooms and none were available. There definitely is something wrong with a hotel such as Kimpton providing better accommodations to guests willing to pay top dollar than for guests with pets. Plus as an aside, the air conditioner was incredibly loud making sleep quite difficult.

We are vehemently disgusted when we are not told the truth as with this experience with the Morrison House, and Kimpton Hotels will NEVER be considered for any of our future trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear James,

I am terribly sorry to hear of the confusion with your reservation and even more dissapointed that we were unable to have an upgraded room available for you during your stay. I assure you that there was no deliberate misrepresntation and do wish that you try to give us another chance. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any future assistance.

Best,

Kate
kellis@morrisonhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Charming and friendly staff,very convenient to shopping and resteruants,and only mins from Washington DC. Pet friendly they had treats waiting for Winston
We loved the piano bar ,a little disappointed with the food but the staff made up for it by being so friendly, but every time I go to Washington or Virginia I stay at the Morrison House, I love this place .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Bosohoft and Winston,

We were so pleased you chose to stay with us. We'll be ready, with treats in hand for you both, when you are next back to VA or DC!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This makes my top five of best places I have ever stayed. Quiet. Rooms that reflect the charm and spirit of old town Alexandria. And the staff who really made me feel at home. They were attentive without being intrusive. A true art. Highly recommend you book here. A special thank you to Wakiita who was an angel.

Room Tip: Loved 502 which was like being in a treehouse.
See more room tips
Green Features: I especially love this...it's one of the reasons I chose them.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Joyce,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I agree that Wakita and all of our staff truly make the difference that put us at the top. Please do come back to see us again soon!

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have stayed at the Morrison House in Alexandria, Va 4 times in the last year.
It is so lovely, like our home away from home. The staff make us feel welcome and appreciated.
The rooms are fully equipped with everything we need. Coffee is served in the morning, fruity water during the day and wine in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding while you are there and ask for a different floor. We like a high floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear bosredsoxfans,

Thank you for continuing to choose Morrison House for your visits to Old Town. I sincerely appreciate that you keep coming back time after time, even outside of the MLB season! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.