We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Upgrade
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Deer Park, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of Old Towne which is a wonderful little town. This is our second stay there. It is a small hotel, very intimate . When you arrive in your room, there is a handwritten note from the hotel along with fresh baked cookies. If you forget toiletries, they have an extensive list of toiletries they will provide you. Terrific rooms, a little small, but more than adequate. At night they turn the bed down and bring ice for your bucket. They have wine free between 5-6 for guests. This is a hidden gem, we love it there, and Old Towne is wonderful, and great proximity to DC. Also, they have a doorman who opens the door for you when you come in and out of the hotel. Classy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear LongIslandGiirl,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review and for staying with us.
I appreciate that you noticed the little touches such the personalized welcome note and the freshly baked cookies with our turn down service. The entire team cannot wait to open the doors for you again when you return for the third time.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    96
    24
    11
    9
See reviews for
61
274
54
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Plainfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay here at the Morrison!! The staff was great as always at the Kimpton Properties. It was in a quiet area of old town but was convenient to everything. We had a staff that was very informative and welcoming. This hotel really isn't setup for Children but it is a historical gem to stay. I would recommend this hotel to all for a get-a-way weekend as we spent this past.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear John F,

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent experience at the Morrison House and I’m thankful for your loyalty to Kimpton. Please come back and see us again soon!

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here in late Sept and used it as a base to visit Wash DC. We appreciated the shuttle from Reagan National and were greeted warmly by the staff. It was late Sat PM when we got in and we got one of the basement rooms, felt like a cave. No view as you are partially below ground level. We requested to change rooms that night but they were booked solid. The desk clerk made note of our request and called about 9:30 AM the next day and told us we had a room now on the 3rd floor. Huge improvement and a great room on the corner. Comfy bed and nice amenities, including turndown service. Old Town Alexandria is right there with wonderful restaurants and shops. We took a boat ride to Georgetown the first day. Next 3 days we walked about ten minutes to take the Metro to into DC. It was nice at the end of the day to return to the hotel and be greeted by the staff, like being in a B&B. We felt this was a great choice and like a bonus to our DC trip by seeing Old Town. Don't miss Murphy's Irish Pub or Theisman's by the metro station. We got a wonderful rate for the hotel thru AAA.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear PK49,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House and thank you for your review.
It is good to see that you took advantage of our complementary shuttle service from and to Reagan National airport and that our driver started your experience of with a warm welcome.
I’m glad that we were able to upgrade you to one of our deluxe rooms on a higher floor and that you overall enjoyed your experience with us.

Please come back to see us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nothing wrong with this hotel except part of the bedrooms are partly underground. This means the windows are really high on the wall and small. The only thing you can see are wheels of cars parked or, if you are lucky, the bottom part of a garage door. As a result it's best to keep the curtains closed but you'll never see sunlight in your room.

That such rooms are assigned to guests, and at four stars prices, is simply amazing.

I didn't try any of the facilities of the hotel since I tried to spend every possible minute out of it.

Room Tip: I would rather choose another hotel, but if you have no other option than at least try to get a room...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't notice anything particularly "environmental" in comparison with other hotels. Well, the underground rooms will force you to use electric energy instead of sunlight ... not sure if this qualifies as environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Marco B,

I’m very sorry that you were not satisfied with your room assignment. I wish we would have had the availability to upgrade you to one of our Deluxe Rooms, which are located on the top floors of the hotel.
Unfortunately all of these rooms were already reserved by other guests and we were not able to move you to a different room type.
Please contact me directly at tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com if you travels bring you back into our area. I would be happy to assist you in booking one of our deluxe rooms and I will make your next stay with us extra special.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Morrison House while on business, and my stay was nothing short of AMAZING. So many wonderful little touches [i.e., a robe laid out on my bed when I arrived, complete with homemade cookies and a handwritten note, ice in my ice bucket, hosted wine hour, turn-down service, fruit-infused water in lobby] in gorgeous surroundings, but one particular experience surpassed them all.

I checked in very late the first night, and at 4 a.m. that morning, discovered that I had forgotten the bottom half of my suit. And that was my ONLY work outfit to wear to Court that morning. Simultaneously, I realized that no clothing stores would be open before I had to be at the courthouse, I had literally nothing else to wear other than a pair of jeans, and I didn't have my car with me. So, I barely slept the few hours that remained, and early that morning, went down to the front desk, practically in tears, and told the young woman, Rochelle, who was working there, about my dilemma. I asked her if she knew of any clothing stores that were open at 7 a.m., and of course, she didn't.....but instead, went to her car, and pulled out a dress that I could borrow! I still can't believe it. She even told me if it didn't fit, she would just give me the dress she was wearing. Wow wow wow. She was a total lifesaver!

Thank you again to Rochelle, and the staff at Morrison House for making my stay so wonderful. I have been recommending this hotel non-stop ever since!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Kerri K,

I cannot thank you enough for recognizing Rochelle for her act of kindness.
I’m fortunate to lead a team that truly cares about each and every gests well being and I could not be more proud about the fact that Rochelle saved the day for you.

Please see us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Good news...king bed at the end of the hall. Clean, comfortable well appointed. Bad news...basement room, loud HVAC and big gap under the door letting in noise and light.
Staff was friendly, welcoming and very accommodating. The valet - I swear he has a photographic memory!
We got a sweet rate so the stay was totally worth it. Not sure I'd pay rack rate, however. But, at the right rate I would surely stay again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello caligal831,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House and for your feedback.
I truly appreciate the nice comments about the friendly staff and I’m glad that you found a sweet rate.
I like to apologize for the AC noise you experienced in your guest room. We have a detailed inspection process in place and we should have caught and fixed this prior to your arrival. Please reach out to me directly the next time you are planning to stay with us. I would like to personally assist you with booking one of our deluxe rooms which are located on the upper floors of the hotel. You can reach me at tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just returned from a weekend getaway to the Morrison House (Sept 4-6 2013) and it was a great experience. The House is in a fantastic location, a block away from King Street in Old Town, which is where the majority of restaurants and shops can be found in Alexandria. So many shops and places to eat are a short, easy walk from the hotel.

The House is a little less modern than other Kimpton hotels (we prefer to stay in Kimptons any time we can) but it suits the neighborhood perfectly. It is quaint, clean and charming. Our room was small, but very clean. The AC unit was quite noisy, and didn't seem to cool the room quite enough (unfortunately we had to run it throughout our stay since it was 90 degrees in October.)

The front desk and valet staff couldn't have been nicer. We planned to rent bikes and ride the Mount Vernon trail. When the valet staff got wind of this, they offered for us to borrow the hotel's bikes free of charge. They filled the tires with air, adjusted the seats and provided us with helmets. We were blown away by the customer service!

Since there are no ice machines on the floors, the housekeeping staff fills the ice buckets every night, which is a nice touch.

For the price and the location, I couldn't think of a better place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear heatherbessie,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House for your recent stay in Old Town Alexandria. It sounds like you took advantage of our great location and truly explored our awesome neighborhood. I’m glad to hear that you were blown away by our customer service and that you took our complimentary bikes for a spin. I’m sorry for the trouble you had with your AC unit I your room. I like to ensure you that the issue was addressed immediately.

Hope to see you again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.