We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic old town location...but don't miss the piano bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and SAVE!
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Romantic old town location...but don't miss the piano bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I chose this hotel over some nearby chain hotels because I wanted a change of pace. I am happy I did! The service was personal, and the rooms are small but charming.

The real stunner is the piano bar at night, or at least on Thursday and Friday nights. I was astounded to see local amateur singers belting out show tunes and standards. I had to blink twice as I thought I was in a movie scene. (Was it a Raymond Chandler film noir, or a musical? Was that Liz Taylor over there flirting with the horn player?) When the Prairie Home Companion crew stays in Washington DC, they better book rooms here. Lots of material to work into the show, and more than one backup singer at the ready.

Oh, yeah, the food is good, and the walk-ability of the area is terrific. (Just steel yourself to walk by more yoga studios and artisan food shops than you thought could possibly exist in the same place outside of California.) But bring your friend that secretly wants to sing on broadway, and give him or her their Alexandria debut here.

Room Tip: Rooms feature antique furniture and are all different. Mostly small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello plamichigan,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for the great feedback on the personal service you received. It sounds like you really had a great time in our piano bar.
Please come back to see us again soon.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    76
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
52
232
51
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the friendly welcome by the valet at our arrival to the friendly greeting at breakfast, Morrison House exemplifies the best in personal service. Every staff member from reception to housekeeping made us feel special---they seemed to like their jobs and their visitors---how refreshing! Our room was lovely with an oh-so-comfortable four poster bed, soft bathrobes and a well-stocked mini-bar. Everything shone with cleanliness. The location in Old Town is perfect, close enough to enjoy all the restaurants and shops, but not on a busy street. In the evening, we discovered the hotel's hidden jewel of a piano bar with open-mike performers who rivaled their Broadway counterparts. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor which was excellent and the elevator was quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Julianne G,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I’m thrilled that you had such an awesome experience with us. Our team genuinely cares about the comfort of each and every guest and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Morrison House was amazing—wonderful room, lovely amenities, and pleasant, helpful staff. Great location right off the main street in Old Town Alexandria. Fabulous stay. Hope we can do it again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Coolcopygirl,

I’m excited that you had such a great time at the Morrison House.
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words! We hope to see you again very soon.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by friendly staff and attractive public rooms, the Morrison House is a great aspiration all hotel that provides comfortable accommodations. The Carlyle it is not, but for the price and location, is is very civilized. A smallish hotel / largish bed & breakfast with a private home feel. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Jim S,

I’m thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Love, Love, Love the Morrison House and it's Location! As you arrive you feel like you are a house guest of this beautiful colonial home. A friendly doorman greets you and you don't need to lift a finger. All staff is very eager to assist you. Not your typical downtown hotel. The Morrison House is tucked away but, the location is perfect for experiencing Old Town on foot. Close to shops, restaurants and beautiful sites. Coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the afternoon doesn't get better than that. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sharon M,

You love the Morrison House and we love having you as our guest!
Thank you for the glowing review!

Please come back to see us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel with a terrific location that has all of the charm of a colonial home and wonderful service, as befitting a Kimpton property. It is much nicer in every way than the much busier factory that they own down the street in the Hotel Monaco. The furnishings are nice, the bedding is very comfortable (with the exception of very hard pillows), the room is very clean and quiet, and the little restaurant & bar is lovely. The only downsides are: (1) there is no gym, and the one to which guests have access in the Hotel Monaco is hardly worth the name as the equipment selection is so sparse; and (2) the karoke in the Morrison little bar at night completely overwhelms the ambiance; it seems planned and is very loud, and since the bar area is very intimate, it obliterates any opportunity for guests to have a nice time there - which is ok as it is very overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello islands4321,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you found our service to be wonderful. It would be great if we could accommodate an on property gym at our hotel.
It looks like you did not enjoy our open mike night that much. Don’t forget that we only have live entertainment like that a couple of nights each week and only during particular hours. You should try our fantastic restaurant if you travels bring you back to our area!

Thanks again,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just spent 14 days at the Morrison House - from the minute you walk in you realize this is no ordinary hotel. The staff is amazing. They are extremely friendly and there to help you with every need. There is wonderful coffee served in the parlor every morning. You can drink it in the parlor or take it back to your room. Every evening they serve wine in the parlor from 5-6 pm. The rooms are very comfortable and the housekeeping staff does a great job keeping them clean - including a bed turn down and chocolates on the pillow every night. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We can honestly say we never had a bad meal in Alexandria. The hotel is located a half of block off King St where there is a free trolley that runs 11:30 am to 10:00 pm every day. The metro is eight blocks away and the waterfront is eight block in the opposite direction. It's an easy 10 minute walk to either location or you can take the trolley. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we definately plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: AAA and AARP members get a discount.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscience. In addition to recycling, they really abide by your wishes regarding changing bed linens and towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Gary and Lynn K,

Thank you for your great feedback! We are excited that you chose the Morrison House for your home away from home.
It means a lot to our entire team that we were able to make your 14 days with us as comfortable as possible.
We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Old Town Alexandria and to the Morrison House.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton
Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.