We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Excellent Location, Smallish Rooms-great secret for Old Town Alexandra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and SAVE!
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Excellent Location, Smallish Rooms-great secret for Old Town Alexandra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by friendly staff and attractive public rooms, the Morrison House is a great aspiration all hotel that provides comfortable accommodations. The Carlyle it is not, but for the price and location, is is very civilized. A smallish hotel / largish bed & breakfast with a private home feel. Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Jim S,

I’m thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    79
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
53
245
52
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Love, Love, Love the Morrison House and it's Location! As you arrive you feel like you are a house guest of this beautiful colonial home. A friendly doorman greets you and you don't need to lift a finger. All staff is very eager to assist you. Not your typical downtown hotel. The Morrison House is tucked away but, the location is perfect for experiencing Old Town on foot. Close to shops, restaurants and beautiful sites. Coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the afternoon doesn't get better than that. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sharon M,

You love the Morrison House and we love having you as our guest!
Thank you for the glowing review!

Please come back to see us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel with a terrific location that has all of the charm of a colonial home and wonderful service, as befitting a Kimpton property. It is much nicer in every way than the much busier factory that they own down the street in the Hotel Monaco. The furnishings are nice, the bedding is very comfortable (with the exception of very hard pillows), the room is very clean and quiet, and the little restaurant & bar is lovely. The only downsides are: (1) there is no gym, and the one to which guests have access in the Hotel Monaco is hardly worth the name as the equipment selection is so sparse; and (2) the karoke in the Morrison little bar at night completely overwhelms the ambiance; it seems planned and is very loud, and since the bar area is very intimate, it obliterates any opportunity for guests to have a nice time there - which is ok as it is very overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello islands4321,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you found our service to be wonderful. It would be great if we could accommodate an on property gym at our hotel.
It looks like you did not enjoy our open mike night that much. Don’t forget that we only have live entertainment like that a couple of nights each week and only during particular hours. You should try our fantastic restaurant if you travels bring you back to our area!

Thanks again,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just spent 14 days at the Morrison House - from the minute you walk in you realize this is no ordinary hotel. The staff is amazing. They are extremely friendly and there to help you with every need. There is wonderful coffee served in the parlor every morning. You can drink it in the parlor or take it back to your room. Every evening they serve wine in the parlor from 5-6 pm. The rooms are very comfortable and the housekeeping staff does a great job keeping them clean - including a bed turn down and chocolates on the pillow every night. There are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We can honestly say we never had a bad meal in Alexandria. The hotel is located a half of block off King St where there is a free trolley that runs 11:30 am to 10:00 pm every day. The metro is eight blocks away and the waterfront is eight block in the opposite direction. It's an easy 10 minute walk to either location or you can take the trolley. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we definately plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: AAA and AARP members get a discount.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscience. In addition to recycling, they really abide by your wishes regarding changing bed linens and towels.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Gary and Lynn K,

Thank you for your great feedback! We are excited that you chose the Morrison House for your home away from home.
It means a lot to our entire team that we were able to make your 14 days with us as comfortable as possible.
We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Old Town Alexandria and to the Morrison House.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were delighted with the location--right on the self-guided walking tour recommended in the AAA Virginia guide book and close to the waterfront. We met friendly and interesting people at the manager's wine reception and also around the coffee urns in the morning. At check-in we were surprised to be told that we were being given an upgrade because a better room was available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Gordon J,

It is great to hear that you were delighted with our central location and that you found the recommendation in the AAA Virginia guide book to be spot on. Isn’t it great if you end up being the lucky one that gets upgraded?
Thanks for staying with us and thank you for this kind review.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A great hotel with excellent service. Our deluxe suite was of a high standard with air conditioning, a comfortable high king size bed, en-suite bathroom and a lounge where my son slept on a comfortable roll away bed. A good size suite for 2 adults and a teenager. The breakfast, which was not included in the room rate, was exceptional (including the service of the staff) and our favourite was the buttermilk pancakes with maple syrup and a side of Canadian bacon. We would defiantly use this hotel again.
A lovely first stay in Alexandria within 20 minutes of DC. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jo C,

I’m thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your recent experience with us and that our deluxe suite worked well for all of you.
I have to admit that I had the buttermilk pancakes myself and they are indeed extremely yummy!
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Morrison House and our beautiful city in the near future.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed one night, August 30, 2013. Hotel is extremely clean, convenient to Washington, DC and Old Alexandria, VA. Staff couldn't have been more nice and accommodating. We were greeted by a staff member who parked our vehicle in the underground garage. BTW, vehicles are very safe and secure. Only staff members can enter the garage. Primary purpose of trip was to bicycle ride around Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area. Hotel even locked our bikes for the night in a room in the underground garage. We were allowed to keep our vehicle parked until we return the next day from riding. We were also allowed to clean up and change clothes even though we had already checked out.

Room Tip: Hotel is pet-friendly, so beware that you may have some barking dogs. We booked this room from Trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello lastrayer,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your recent stay with us. What an awesome idea to use the Morrison House and our central location as your home base for your bicycle trips around DC. I hope you made it to Mount Vernon as this is such a beautiful ride!
Don’t forget that we have a complementary bike program at our hotel if you don’t feel like bringing your own bikes next time.

Thanks for the great feedback!

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.