We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Traditional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and SAVE!
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming and Traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is more traditional than one would expect from the Kimpton brand, but you'll still find exceptional service and design. The room was charming with its four-poster bed and faux fireplace, and the antique feel was balanced with a few modern Kimpton touches. The staff went above and beyond to help us celebrate a birthday with style, and we enjoyed every minute of our long weekend. You'll feel like family every time the doorman greets you while coming and going. The location is perfect to explore Old Town Alexandria shops and restaurants, so bring your walking shoes and an empty stomach.

The only strange moment was visiting the hotel bar for a 10pm nightcap to find a group enthusiastically singing along to a small band playing "hits" from Barry Manilow and the Carpenters. Say what?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear ArlingtonTravels,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House for your birthday weekend. It means a lot to us to see that our team went above and beyond to make your birthday celebration a special one. I’m glad that you enjoyed the more traditional feel of our hotel combined with exceptional service and some modern touches.

Please come back to visit us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    79
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
53
244
52
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a few days at the property. This is a charming boutique hotel in a great location..close to everything in the very walkable Old Town. The staff is extremely service oriented, professional and took the extra steps to insure our comfort. Room was well appointed and the Kimpton Style bed was what the doctor ordered for a great night's sleep. We're looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear truepleasure,

I like to take this opportunity to thank you and your wife for choosing the Morrison House and for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful mini vacation in Alexandria. We decided to stay at the Morrison House after reviewing the comments on Trip Advisor. The Morrison House is a charming hotel. The staff welcome you as soon as you arrive, they are friendly yet professional and courteous. The King Deluxe Guest Room was spacious, clean, very quiet and the bed so comfortable. We didn't manage to take advantage of the evening wine offered, but really enjoyed the complimentary coffee provided each morning, great coffee by the way! If you are planning on visiting Washington The Morrison House in Alexandria is a very convenient location. Left the car in the valet parking and took the train into Washington. A very pleasant walk or you can jump on the free shuttle service to the train station. Alexandria is a lovely town, lots of restaurants and things to do. I would definitely stay at The Morrison house again and have no hesitation in recommending it !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Carol M,

We truly appreciate that you chose the Morrison House as your home base for your recent mini vacation.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you picked us based on the majority of positive reviews on this site. I’m glad that we were able to live up to our reputation and that we met your expectations.

Hope to welcome you back soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this through a Travelzoo special. It is a lovely old hotel and the staff are helpful and the rooms clean. We were in a "garden' room which afforded us a view of an SUV's tires, but that's OK as we just slept in the room. The bed was very comfortable,but I don't think we got more than a few hours sleep as the old A/C was SO loud. It was like (trying) to sleep next to a ride on mower.
On check in we were told that coffee would be available until 10 or 11 AM. Couldn't find any in the morning so asked at the restaurant and they seemed unaware of this. However, overall it was lovely really. Perhaps a good nights sleep may have made it 5 star!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear KirstyGharavi,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the kind comments about the hotel our team and the cleanliness of your guestroom. I’m sorry that the AC unit in your room was a little noisy. We have a detailed inspection process in place and we should have caught this prior to your arrival. Our complementary coffee service is available every day from 6am to 10am. I apologize that you missed it!
The majority of our guestrooms are located on the upper floors and they are called our “deluxe rooms”. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com if you are planning to return.
I would be happy to assist you in booking one of our rooms on a high floor; and I owe you a cup of coffee anyway.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinity fla
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A lovely, beautiful hotel located in the heart of Old Town. The amenities of this wonderful hotel are too numerous to mention. The staff is top notch, the rooms comfortable and the restaurant is the best. They see to your every need. Only place we'll ever stay again while visiting our soon.

Room Tip: Room 508. It's on the top floor with 2 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello 7springstrinityfla,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this nice review. We are looking forward to become your new home away from home whenever you are visiting your son.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My stay was everything more than I expected . Tha staff was excellent an made you feel right at home as soon as you walk in the door . They have anything you could possibly need so you dont have to worry about anything . I would definately recommend Morrison House !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear blueboxer513,

We truly appreciate that you chose the Morrison House and that you took the time to review our hotel.
I can’t help it but I really like your title of the review: “A world within a world !!!”
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Morrison House Hotel, and wish it would have been more. The hotel and our experience could not have been more perfect. This was our first stay at a Kimpton property, and I was pleasantly surprised. Not only would I stay at the Morrison House again, but will now willingly seek out other Kimpton properties.

LOCATION: Located right in Old Town Alexandria, this hotel is perfectly situated and in walking distance to exploring many of the beautiful sights that Alexandria has to offer. About a 10 minute walk to the waterfront, where you can take a boat to Georgetown, Mount Vernon, and even the MLB Nationals venue, this location makes a perfect base for exploring the Washington, DC area. Included in the price of our room was valet parking at the garage next door - an added benefit in a place where parking could be an issue.

ROOM: We got a standard queen room, and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was impeccably clean and modern, with a comfortable bed and linens. Had everything that you could possibly ask for -- robes, fluffy towels, stocked mini-bar (sign up to be a Kimpton member for free, and you get a $10 "raid the minibar" voucher), in-room wifi (also free with the Kimpton membership), toiletries, etc. In addition, the lovely sign in the bathroom states that "if you've forgotten anything, we have it for you." Anything and everything was on the list, down to cell phone chargers and power converters for international travelers. Extraordinarily exceptional - well done!

SERVICE & AMENITIES: We knew that this was a special place upon entering, when a doorman opened the door for us and welcomed us to the property. Upon check-in, we were told that we were just in time for the evening wine reception (between 5-6 pm), and were offered a glass of wine. Upon sitting in the hotel parlor with our glass of wine, the lovely front desk attendant (sorry that I did not remember her name) graciously approached us to talk about our stay in the area. When we told her that it was our first time to the area, she helpfully offered dinner suggestions, and provided us with a map. Waiting for us in our room was a hand-written note from the hotel manager. These little touches all added up to a spectacular experience!

VALUE: Having found a Travelzoo offer of $99/night to stay at this location, this was one of the best deals we've found in a long time. Admittedly, we were glad to have gotten this promotional price, but would have been just as happy paying the full price given the attention to detail, level of service, and beautiful hotel. Well done!

My only complaint, if there could be one, was that breakfast was not included in our room rate. Being within walking distance to so many little coffee shops, this was not a particular problem at this location. Complimentary coffee and tea service was provided in the hotel lobby.

Can't wait to have reason to be back in the area, and will definitely stay at this property again. And this is not to be taken lightly, as we often seek out different places and rarely return to the same place twice. It's that good!

Room Tip: We had the standard queen, and found that it fit our needs perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Amush,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind and detailed review. It means a lot to our team to receive positive feedback, especially when it comes from a frequent traveler such as you. Please don’t forget to sign up for our awesome “Kimpton In Touch” loyalty program. It will give you some great additional perks at all of our properties. The entire Morrison House family is looking forward to your return.

Thanks again,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.