We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Boutique chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is great like most Kimpton's. We loved the Eco friendly touches, comfort style, and pet friendly amenities. It is located just off of King street in Old Alexandria. There are lots of places to eat and shop nearby. We loved the 5-6 free wine hour, infused water all day, and free morning coffee and tea. The mix of old and modern decor made well for great photos too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hey Natdl11,

What an awesome picture you captured of our main entrance! Thank you for sharing the picture and your experience with other travelers. I appreciate that you noticed our efforts to support sustainability. Our hard work paid off and TripAdvisor recognized us as a Green Leader and we are Green Key certified.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    87
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
59
263
54
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at a Kimpton Hotel. I have to say it was great! The Hotel is beautiful, the room was spotless and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The location of the Morrison is right of King street and in walking distance to everything the street offers. The place is pet friendly and they had the names of the pets staying on a welcome sign at the main entrance. I thought that was a nice touch for the pet parents.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello danroto,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for being loyal to the Morrison House.
We can’t wait to welcome you back for the third time!

Hope to see you soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Exceptional upscale hotel at reasonable price. Service is the best. The hotel rooms are nice, the elevator is small (it's an older building), the upkeep and amenities are all 2013 and it's a beautifully cozy hotel. Wine, restaurant, piano players who are humbly famous. The restaurant is the best in service, presentation and quality. Cleanliness is exceptional. Definitely join the Kimpton club. and be prepared for great offers to many places you'll want to go.

Green Features: Definitely GREEN and everything politically and environmentally correct. A+++
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear jjp76,

Thanks for the glowing review! I’m excited that you had such an awesome experience at our hotel and restaurant. Please come back to see us again soon.

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Double dated with wife & daughter & boy friend celebrating our 32nd anniversary in piano bar for absolutely delightful evening. Pianist & trumpet/cornet player are superb musicians and entertainers, as were the "stable" of many rotating singers, male & female, crossing multiple generations, who seem to be steady regular performers. Sampled cheese plate and charcuterie plate which were delicious. Plan to return fairly often.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Bidnesstraveler_13,

Congratulations on your 32nd anniversary. We are honored that you shared this very special day with your family at our restaurant.

Hope to welcome you back soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I boo9ked two rooms -- one for my stepdaughter and granddaughter and one for myself. They upgraded us up a category and I loved my deluxe queen which was a corner room with a fireplace (not that it was needed in the 90+ degree head the past few days in the DC area. It was an easy walk to Metro which took us to the Capitol Mall for fireworks, and later to be tourists at the Smithsonian and other museums. It is close to many fine restaurants and to some great nightlife as well in Alexandria and the Grill in the hotel was a great place to have dinner on one evening. As always, the little touches, made all the difference. We never got back to the hotel in time to avail ourselves of the wine reception at 5:00 pm, but the morning coffee service in the charming lobby was a great way to start the day. Overall, a great weekend at a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sari10,

It is awesome to hear that you had a great weekend at our hotel and that you and your family enjoyed all the great amenities we have to offer. I appreciate that you noticed the little touches which hopefully help to make each guests experience as enjoyable as possible. Thank you for choosing the Morrison House, we truly appreciate your kind words.

Please come back to see us again soon,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location on a quiet street off of King Street. The room on the 4th floor was quiet, well sized, with nice if older anenities and a great high bed. The hotel is good on all of the big stuff and is off only on the step between four and five stars---the service was a little argumentative or indifferent at times (as opposed to warm), the minibar was never completely restocked for three nights, there were some cracks and minor nicks in the furnishings. These are minor things and given the location and the price this is an exceptional value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear EWWARIN,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location, your room and that you found us to be an exceptional value.
I have to admit that I’m disappointed that our team did not show you the consistent warm service we are known for.
I will defiantly share your important feedback with our entire team and in particular with our new team members.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank1212dc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Well done boutique hotel. Nice touches in the room especially if you are a Kimpton member such as $10 credit for the minibar, IPOD docking unit, cupcake in room upon arrival, and great pillows. Understated rooms in great location. We stayed there and walked to Eve Restaurant 3 blocks away. Be aware valet parking is $25 and I don't think you have a choice but its part of the experience and comfort they provide. Stayed on the top floor (5) and must say their elevator is the fastest I have ever experienced. Unexpected in a historic building!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear frank1212dc,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers.
It is great to hear that you took advantage of the great perks our Kimpton In Touch membership has to offer and that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon so you can take our super fastest elevator for another spin.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.