We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great piano bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and SAVE!
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Oak Lawn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, great piano bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Morrison House is a very nice, upscale smallish hotel perfectly located to get around Alexandria by foot in good weather. Our room was on the 5th floor corner and was very comfortable. The service is impeccable. Very friendly staff. We found the restaurant to be too stuffy and expensive to be enjoyable. But the piano bar on Tuesday, Friday and Saturday is fantastic.
The piano player worked at the White House for 30 years. Neighborhood folks come in on these days each week and sing. Everyone treated us like we were regulars too. Lots of fun. Go for the piano bar and quality service. Go elsewhere for good food at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had a 5th floor corner room that was lovely and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear stringerOakLawn,

Thank you very much for choosing the Morrison House for your recent stay and for taking the time to write this Trip Advisor review. It is great to hear that you found our service to be impeccable and that your room was very comfortable. I’m sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your experience in the dining room and that you felt it to be too stuffy.
Please contact me directly if you are planning to return. I would like to assist you in securing a table in our more casual area of the restaurant, the Grill area, which you enjoyed so much.
My email is: tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com

Thanks again for the great feedback,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    82
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
54
248
52
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel and paid about $80-90 over what the room was worth. Don't pay more than $160/night. The staff was great, coffee service in the morning was good, but the rooms were small and the location was not great.

Room Tip: The rooms are mediocre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear ontheincline,

Thank you for staying at the Morrison House and thank you for the nice feedback about our staff. You must have picked busy time to stay with us and I’m disappointed that you were not fully satisfied with the value. I would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. I can be reached at tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A wonderful surprise indeed. We booked this Hotel due to a business trip, but being it was our anniversary I was looking for a romantic "not so congested" four star hotel in Alexandria Va. After reading your reviews we decided on the Morrison House. We found a "GEM"! The service was "like no other". It felt more like a "5 star bed and breakfast" than a hotel.Warm greetings every morning, a friendly staff through out the property no matter what time it was. Afternoon tea/coffee/wine/flavored water, cheese and cookies was a delight - the general manager was there to greet the new guests and share recommendations regarding restaurant's, attractions and entertainment in the area. The Piano Bar on the weekends is an experience. Everyone dresses in cocktail attire singing along to "Fiddler on the Roof" and other musical melodies - a real treat. Overall an elegant hotel with gracious service. Colonial Charm at its BEST!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Yoly M,

Thank you for staying at the Morrison House and for the TripAdvisor review. I really appreciate the nice comments about our service and your overall experience. How awesome that you were able to combine your business trip with a romantic anniversary celebration. It looks like you made the most of your time with us and I’m glad that you were able to enjoy our piano bar as well as our complementary evening wine reception.
I’m very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked this hotel through Expedia.com and because the rates quoted were lower than the average for a four-star hotel, I wasn't expecting much. Turned out to be a great experience, from the warm greetings every morning at the reception desk, to the willing and friendly car park guy, to the cookies upon arrival to the chocolates on the pillow every night. Would warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Heather W,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Morrison House on Trip Advisor. I’m excited that you chose to stay with us and that your experience exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate the warm recommendation. Please come back to see us again soon.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Morrison House for 4 days mid April. First mistake was booking through Travelocity Top Secret Hotels. I paid for a four star hotel, but this is no four star hotel. Once I found out the name of the hotel, I found review after review complaining about being put in their first floor (basement) rooms which are below grade, and look up at the street level. Sure enough, this is where they put us when we checked in, even though I asked to be put elsewhere. The response was, "Well, for what you paid for your room...we're full." The window in our room looked up at the courtyard in front of the hotel (at the feet of people standing or sitting there), so if there were people in the courtyard, we couldn't open our drapes because anyone sitting in the courtyard was 5 feet away and could look right in our window. The room also smelled moldy, and dank. When we asked to be moved again on our second night, we got the same story. The sad part is this was the worst part of an otherwise great vacation, and I could have gotten a beautiful room at Embassy Suites, the Hilton or the Marriott for the same price. I wouldn't pay $50 for this basement room (my husband kept referring to it as "the dungeon") if I knew that was what we were getting. When we go back to Alexandria again, we will go to the Embassy, Hilton, or Mariott. This was my first time using a Kimpton hotel, I'll never use one again, there are lots of choices out there. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice... I have used Luxury Link and other sites to book four star hotels and find new brands, but this is one brand no one needs to find.

Room Tip: Book at any other hotel that is not a Kimpton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House for your recent stay with us. I’m sorry that you were not satisfied with your room assignment and that we were not able to upgrade you do to our availability.
All of our deluxe rooms, which are located on the upper floors of our hotel, were reserved by guests who specifically booked these room types.
If you prefer to be on an upper floor please remember to reserve one of our “deluxe” rooms. The queen and king rooms are located on the lower level of our hotel as outlined in the room description on our homepage.
Again, I apologize that we were not able to change your room type and that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I would be more than happy to personally assist you with any future reservation needs. I can help you with the room type selection and I will ensure that your next stay with us will be flawless.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had had enough of Kimpton hotels, thought they were overpriced and fake, but I got a great deal on Snique Away and when I called Kimpton they not only matched the price but gave me a 25 dollar food and beverage credit! We stayed two nights for pretty much the same price as most people pay for one. I fell in love with the hotel when the housekeeper saw us at our door and said, "I have some cookies for you!" the decor was really lovely and elegant, although some of the bathroom fixtures were a little shabby, and it was spotlessly clean. The staff were all wonderful, attentive and friendly; I loved the butlers! The service at the restaurant was a little odd and spotty but the whole experience with the hotel was impeccable. The downstairs sitting rooms were fun, complete with a photo booth. Definitely would stay here again if I could get a great deal. A wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear LeonaHtheQueen,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Morrison House on Trip Advisor. I’m glad that you were able to find such a great deal and that you truly enjoyed your experience with us. I hope that your recent stay with us might help to reenergize your love for Kimpton. Please come back to see us again soon.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Some of my family stayed at The Morrison House for a 4-day reunion & we were all totally impressed with the impeccable service. Johan & the delightful staff anticipated & fulfilled every request promptly & with a smile. The doormen were delightful & there is a warm & friendly ambiance in this lovely inn. Centrally located in charming Old Town Alexandria we were within easy walking distance of many, many wonderful restaurants & shops. The complimentary airport shuttle service simplified our transportation needs. We wished there were rooms with 2 queen beds but they accommodated us with roll-away beds. Our suite was perfect for family gatherings & the bar & restaurant were very nice, too. This will always be my place to stay when I'm in the DC area.

Room Tip: Nice size suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello Salli R,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House for your family reunion. I’m glad that we were able to help make this special time for you and your family such a great memory. I will be delighted to share your kind words with our entire team and in particular with Johan. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back whenever your travels bring you into our area.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;