We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Love the Kimpton Hotels.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great place. Love the Kimpton Hotels.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very nice building with comfy beds and nice rooms. The bar and food were perfect. The bar is not a loud drunk crowd, it's nice with a piano and table seating. Staff was very very friendly. Good location for walking to food and shopping. Great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Wal-Dawg,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House for your stay in Old Town Alexandria. I enjoyed reading the nice comments about our location and service. Thank you also for the nice comments about our award winning piano bar and our on-site restaurant the Grill. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    87
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
60
263
54
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Morrison House for two nights last week and had a good experience. The staff is exceptional--uniformly warm, friendly and helpful. Kimpton Hotels generally do a wonderful job of training their people, in our limited experience. Also, their loyalty program, In Touch, actually gives you stuff that makes you feel you're getting something--free wifi and $10 credit to raid the minibar. The Morrison House's rooms were pleasant, but somewhat small. Ours wasn't particularly well laid out, either. The TV was at right angles to the bed, which isn't that comfortable for watching. We also had a rollaway bed for our teenager, which made it almost impossible to walk around in the room. He's not a complainer, but he said it was really uncomfortable. Apart from that, the location was great, the wine reception lovely and the breakfast tasty. I'd recommend it!

Room Tip: Most rooms look out on another building across a little courtyard, but they are sunny and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear JMA07,

Thank you for the very nice TripAdvisor review. I'm glad that you had a good time with us and that you have been very pleased with the consistent high level of service you received. Many of our rooms have a different layout and I would like to offer my personal assistance in finding the perfect room for you up on your return.
You can contact me at tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com.

Thank you for being a loyal Kimpton In Touch member!

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the minute we arrived to the minute we regretfully had to leave our experience at Morrison House was exceptional. The location is perfect for visiting Alexandria, easy walk anywhere, the Metro stop, and many restaurants are close. The individual that assisted with our luggage and valet park was professional, friendly and so efficient. The front desk personel were very helpful upon checkin providing an abundance of information to assist us with our stay at the hotel and within Alexandria. This is a boutique hotel, unique among hotels in Alexandria and a welcome change from several hotels we stayed at in Virginia during our vacation. The charm of the parlor and rooms made our stay even better. Comfortable beds and linens, furnished nicely, with all the amenities you could ask for. The wine social became a highlight with the serving of an excellent cabernet and our server was personalble and knowledgable making the wine social a pleasent experience. On checkout the front desk person was very efficient and inquired about our stay. She also took the time to check us in for our flight and printed our boarding passes. Jose took care of our luggage and car for our departure. We highly recommend Morrison House for anyone planning a stay in Old Town Alexandria, you will not be disappointed. A customer satisfaction survey sent by Kimpton was completed and shortly thereafter we received a personal communication from the hotel manager. The hotel is very nice, but the staff is what made our stay exceptional and this hotel delivers service the way it should be. Thanks.

Room Tip: Become a Kimpton InTouch member before reserving, it results in added benefits and upgrade options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello CurtisinTexas,

Thank you for reviewing the Morrison House on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the true boutique feel of the Morrison House was a welcome change to other hotels you experienced during your trip. I’m glad that you found the time to join us for our complementary daily evening wine reception and that it became a highlight for you. This tradition is such a great opportunity for our management team to mingle with our guests and we truly enjoy hosting it.
I also like to thank you for the kind comments about our team. It makes me smile to heart that our staff made your stay exceptional.

Respectfully,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved our 3 night stay. The staff are so amazing that you want to thank everyone by name. We arrived on a cold afternoon and were ushered into the hotel like like VIP's. Jorge welcomed us on the front steps and took our bags. Lesley handled our reservation with charm and efficiency and there were no problems.
Our room was compact but perfect, the bed comfortable and the linen soft. The free evening drinks led us into the cosy pub and dining area. It's hard not to feel as though you are in a friend's luxurious home. The decor is understated but fairly opulent. Loads of lovely sparkling chandeliers.
I celebrated my birthday while there and everyone made a point of remembering
Not only are the staff friendly but so are the guests. We made new friends at the bar. The barman, Rosen was attentive and does his job with aplomb. Fanta assisted us with our bags when we left.
A really memorable and enjoyable stay. The hotel is located in a quiet area but close to shops and restaurants. If you dont feel like a walk you can jump on the free trolley bus.

Room Tip: We had an upper corner room which gave us a lovely view as well as afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Magicladybird,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback and once more Happy Birthday. Your kind words mean a lot to us and it will be my pleasures to share your review with my entire team.
Please come back to see us again soon.

Yours,

Tobias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just returned from celebrating our daughter's wedding at the Morrison House in Alexandria, VA. I must say the experience went far beyond our expectations. The staff went way out of their way to make our stay a truly wonderful experience. I have never been in a hotel where the staff cared so genuinely and did everything in their power to make our stay the best it could be. We will definately stay at the Morrison House again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Ute h H,

Thank you for choosing the Morrison House for your daughter’s wedding. I remember you well and it was a pleasure to meet you during the evening wine reception I hosted. It is awesome to read that you and your guests had such a great time and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Please say hey to the newlyweds from me!

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly, NJ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I were spoiled the minute we arrived at the Morrison House in Alexandria. We were greeted by Jose who took our bags to the reception desk and then parked our car. Once we checked in, Jose then brought our bags up to our room. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We chose the continental breakfast option and found the simple breakfast provided enough energy to get us through the day. Thursday-Friday evenings, the piano bar hosts sing-a-longs and various songs presented by professional singers, accompanied by an excellent piano player. The only drawback was the bar filled quickly with guests and performers-so finding seating was a premium. The hotel's location was perfect-a nice walk to the King Street Metro stop and most of the restaurants can be located along King street. Our trip ended with Jose getting our car and putting our bags in the trunk for our trip to the airport. All-in-all, this was an excellent choice in hotels. We were spoiled at every turn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear whitecd2000,

Thank you for the nice Trip Advisor review. I loved reading the great feedback about Jose who really is an exceptional staff member. Please let me know if you are planning to come back in the future. I would like to assist you in securing a table in our restaurant in advance, as our piano nights at the Grill are indeed quite popular. You can email me directly at: tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com.
Please come back soon for another relaxing break.

Sincerely,

Tobias Arff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We always stay here when we are in town (Easter weekend), and they always make us feel welcome. Familar faces, great service. We love the piano bar on open mike Fridays, what a show! Great breakfast, as well as a fine dinner menu. Location, valet parking (thanks Jose), easy check in and out, never any issues. Treat you like family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear john b,

Thank you so much for your loyalty and for your kind review. You indeed have become part of the Morrison House family. Your special friends Jose and the entire Morrison House team is looking forward to welcome you back next year or hopefully even sooner.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.