We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a anniversary get-away for one night. The hotel staff went out of their way to make it a completely enjoyable from the moment we arrived at the door until the minute we drove away. They provided a beautiful room, provided a complementary bottle of wine, turned down the covers while we were out for dinner, and stowed our bags at the front desk while we stepped out for breakfast.

The hotel is right off King's St and the perfect location to stroll through Old Town. The hotel was easy to get to. If I have one critical comment, it would be that the parking fee ($25) was a bit much, but it was a wash when we looked at parking further away and then taking a taxi. If you can avoid the fee for a car you won't use while in Alexandria, do it.

The great surprise of the evening was in The Grille restaurant/bar after spending most of the night out. There was an informal group of folks singing songs with the jazz duo (piano and trumpet). The singing talent was truly impressive and the atmosphere made the night for us.

Room Tip: Room 512 (or other corner rooms, have two walls of windows and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear garykramlich,

Happy Anniversary from everyone at the Morrison House and thank you for staying with us.
I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your room our service and our awesome piano bar. I’m glad that my team surprised you with a little amenity to celebrate your special occasion. Hopefully we'll see you for your next anniversary.

Tobias Arff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    87
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
59
263
54
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a small, intimate hotel/Inn in the heart of Old Towne Alexandria. It has a very historic, residential feel and they have done a great job of creating a peaceful environment - elegant sitting areas, classical music, friendly staff - you get the picture. The rooms are small, but comfortable and nicely appointed. There is a cozy bar with a friendly bar tender and they have an elegant restuarant with high quality food. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Basement rooms are a good value, and perfectly fine for 1-2 guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear venturer2009,

I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of our great restaurant the Grill. I hope you also had the chance to check out our piano bar. I suggest that you treat yourself to one of our deluxe king rooms or even a suite to get some extra space the next time you are in town. Please don’t tell anybody but they are actually not that much more expensive.

Thanks for the great feedback,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

From the minute we walked in we felt like we where not only welcome but also that they wanted us there. The general manager greeted us and everyone we encountered as far as the staff, we're wonderful.
We dined in the restaraunt the first night and that was very nice the food was great and the service was perfect. We will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear innkeepercg,

Thank you for this great feedback. I’m glad that I had the opportunity to personally welcome you that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Thanks again,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My beautiful bride and I were married at Morrison House on Feb 9th 2013. We wanted an elegant, intimate affair for 20 guests and we couldn't have chosen a better location. Sara and Anne in catering were fantastic from the very start and all the other staff we're detailed and responsive. We stayed in a suite Rm 509 and were greeted with freshly baked cookies and a card. The suite itself was well appointed and quite roomy with a seperate sitting area. If you're a foodie do consider The Grille, which is really quite good, preparing locally sourced ingredients with an obvious attention to detail. All in all Morrison House feels more like a grand manor house rather than a hotel. It's elegant, sophisticated and charming, befitting the character of Old Town.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Colin M,

Congratulations to a beautiful couple. Wishing you a wonderful journey as you build your new life together.
We hope to welcome you back to the Morrison House for your anniversary. It would be my pleasure to assist you in the planning.

Sincerely,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Last Sunday we had the delight of having our son and his beautiful new bride wed at The Morrison House. They had the intimate, romantic ceremony in the lovely parlor and library and the reception in the dining rooms, grill and parlor. The lovely hotel had all the feelings of a gracious home. The catering manager, Sarah, and banquet manager, Adam, were exemplary in planning and attending to every detail and making sure everything flowed perfectly. The dinner was excellent and all the guests enjoyed every aspect of their wedding, including staying at the hotel for the weekend for those traveling from out of town. Thank you Morrison House for all you did in being a part of the lifelong memories we will cherish!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Cindi P,

We are thrilled that you chose us to host your son’s wedding. It means a lot to all of us that we were able to make this very special time a delightful event for everybody. Thank you for your kind words. I will share them with the entire team and in particular with Sarah and Adam who were highly involved in the planning and the execution of this beautiful wedding.

Congratulations,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I travel all over and am fortunate enough to stay in the "finer" places. I would have to say that the Morrison House ranks up there with the best of them. I stay there at least twice a year, for 3-4 nights and have done so for many years! In all categories, from room quality to staff competence to location, it is clearly the best choice in Alexandria. In fact, once I started staying at the Morrison House, I use it whenever i am in the area and no longer stay in D.C. proper.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear GeeAtl,

Thank you so much for your great feedback and your loyalty. It means a lot to us that you find the Morrison House to be the best choice in Alexandria and that you even use us if you have meeting in DC.

Sincerely,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

All of the staff at the Morrison House were so very attentive during my recent visit. I was not well during much of my stay. The entire staff was on call for me from John in the grill to Johan at the front desk. There are few places like the Morrison House where personal attention is both a pleasure and a standard. Thanks for the great care!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear William M,

I hope you are feeling better. It is good to hear that my team and in particular John and Johan took good care of you while you were not feeling well.
Thank you for your kind words. I will do something nice for Johan and John to recognize their genuine care.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.