We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and SAVE!
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My 6 colleagues and I had a wonderful experience at the Morrison House in Alexandria, VA. The rooms were lovely, and the staff was very helpful during our Inauguration week stay. Recommendations for restaurants, nightlife, and transportation were top notch. I will make plans to stay there again when I visit Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear jsw15000,

Thank you for your kind review and thank you for choosing the Morrison House for this exiting time.
It is awesome to hear that you and your colleagues enjoyed your experience with us. Please reach out to me directly if I can be of any assistance with your future plans. I can be reached at: tobias.arff@morrisonhouse.com

Yours,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    83
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
55
251
52
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I spent four nights at the Morrison House in connection with the inaugural festivities in DC. More than any place I've stayed in the past several years, I found myself raving to my colleagues about how fabulous Morrison House was throughout our stay. I believe we all had a similar impression of the place. Tobias and his team treated us wonderfully - truly gave us a feeling that he genuinely wanted our stay to be special. It was! I'll be back to Old Town Alexandria at some point and will be staying at Morrison House again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear dgarbs,

I remember you and your group well; you guys were so much fun. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed hosting you.
Thank you for the awesome feedback. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have never been treated so well at a hotel. When traveling solo, the simple kindnesses and courtesies mean so much. The rooms are lovely and cozy, and the staff treats you like royalty. I love Morrison House!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Happy Birthday scully50,

Thank you for your very kind words, they really mean the world to us. We are super excited that you felt like royalty and we love to welcome you back soon.

Yours,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Morrison House, in the heart of old Alexandria, one night on our drive from the snowbelt to Florida. I would not say that the Morrison House lives up to the first class polish implied by its website, but it was clean and comfortable for one night, and the staff was extremely helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello ADGrantley,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.
I’m glad that you found our team to be extremely helpful and that you would stay with us again.
Base on your feedback it however looks like that we did not entirely knock your socks off.
I would appreciate and feedback you could share with me and I can be reached at: tobias.arff@morrisonhose.com.
Please let me know if there is anything I can assist you with in the future.

Respectfully,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife & I recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and decided on Olde Town Alexandria for our destination. This was a great choice overall but our decision to stay @ The Morrison House was an EXCELLENT decision. From the time we pulled up to the front entrance after our 4 hour drive we were greeted by the hotel staff, they carried our bags, parked our car, checked us in quickly, and provided a perfect room for us to stay!!!

The staff was outstanding, many calling us by name during our entire stay- this was amazing to say the least. We had a wonderful time and many, many, many thanks to The Morrison House for making our 30th wedding anniversary pleasant & memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear 13BobL13,

Happy 30th anniversary! I’m honored that you chose the Morrison House to celebrate this great milestone. I’m thrilled to hear that we were able to make your time with us special and I hope to see you for your 31st anniversary.

Thanks for your fantastic feedback,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had the incredible pleasure of staying at the Morrison House (a Kimpton hotel) in late December 2012. I was in the process of relocating from New England to the South and had my pet dog with me. I was very concerned about being able to find pet friendly accomodations along the way - while researching the internet I was directed to Morrison House by petswelcome.com. Not only is the Alexandria, VA Morrison House pet friendly but ALL Kimpton Hotels are. When we arrived at the dramatic and gorgeous civil war era mansion we were greeted by Abdullah who welcomed us as if we had been there many times before, he made me feel at home instantly! He greeted my dog and myself and got us checked in and comfortable very quickly. The room was beautiful and well appointed. The concierge was so helpful and kind as was all of the staff from room service personnel to the gentleman that brought ice to the room. Once settled my dog and I went for a wonderful walk in the old city, cobblestone streets, beautiful shops and kind and friendly passers by. After our walk we returned to the room to order some room service for dinner. My meal arrived very quickly and did not dissapoint. The next morning Sabrina helped us out with our checkout and just as Abdullah had when we arrived she made us feel appreciated as a guest and wished us well and Happy New Year with a kind and sincere smile. We had to set out again on our trip but I will not forget the brief yet terrific stay at the Morrison House and have pledged that we will be back soon to explore the area even more in the very near future. Thank you to all the staff that helped make our short stay so memorable!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, it was very quiet...you would never know there were several dogs and chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Happy New Year Denise D,

Thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review. I hope you settled in nicely in the South and I wish you all the best for the future. I’m thrilled that you and your dog had an all around awesome experience with us and that Abdullah, Sabrina and the rest of our team made your short stay in Alexandria such a positive one.

Please don’t be a stranger!

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Morrison House is OUTSTANDING ! We were driving from Massachusetts to Miami and thanks to other Trip Advisor reviews selected the Morrison House. We were not disappointed. Our corner room was outstanding, beautifully appointed with windows that open !!!! Dinner and drinks at The Grill ended a long day on the road and the area was quaint and perfect. Only wish we had more time to explore the neighborhood ... but we will on our return north! This hotel is a must for anyone in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. We were on the 5th floor. Very quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear JayMarshfield,

Thanks for the outstanding review of your stay at the Morrison House. Looks like we knocked it out of the park!
It sounds like you have to come back to experience all the fun and beauty Old Town Alexandria has to offer. We are looking forward to welcome you back with open arms!

See you soon!

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.