We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and SAVE!
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Berwyn, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place has it all in terms of service, amenities and fun. We arrived and were treated to complimentary wine in the front room which is beautifully furnished. There, we met some very interesting travelers and realized they all were repeat customers. Some, claimed that this was the ONLY place to stay in the Washington area. After two nites here we definitely agreed.

The restaurant has top notch food and we were surprised at how unhurried the waitstaff was even thought there were people waiting. If you decide not to eat here make sure you stop in for a nite cap to here the wonderful local talent sing along with the former white house pianist. That was a real treat...

Did I say the staff was terrific? Here's one reason why. I left my jewelry on the nite table but didn't realize it until a few days later. I immediately called and was reunited with my jewelry in less than 24 hours. Now that's service!

Thank you Morrison House for providing us with a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: We had a room on the lower level and while quiet I think it would be nicer to stay in a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear moose112,

Thank you for this wonderful review. The complimentary wine reception that we host each evening is a great way to socialize not only with the management team but also with other travelers. I’m glad that you took advantage of this Kimpton tradition. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and it means a lot to our team to be called “terrific”. How nice to hear that we were able reunited your with your jewelry in such a timely fashion. Please come back to see us soon!

Cheers,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    79
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
53
243
52
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Exceptionally good service and amenity distinguish Morrison House.

From the moment we parked the car in front, help was present for valet parking and for carrying luggage. Check-in was both friendly and efficient. The room was exactly as requested: upper-floor, corner room, quiet location. Amenities are excellent: good furnishings including a small sofa in the room, nice toiletries in bathroom, a $10. credit for the mini-bar if a Klimpton member, and complimentary wine off the lobby between 5 and 6 pm.

I would choose Morrison House in Alexandria over the options in central DC -- this is a place with service, amenity, and a welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: For a quiet location, choose upper floor, and back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear triptraveller,

I truly appreciate that a frequent traveler such as you takes the time to review our hotel.
I’m pleased that you enjoyed your recent experience and it is great to hear that you would choose that Morrison House in Alexandria over the options in central DC.
I hope to welcome you back soon,

Yours,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I decided to go with the elopement package at the Morrison House. The wedding turned out amazing and everyone had a great time. We planned the whole event in a few months and with the help of the Morrison House it went very smoothly. They are very busy with planning events so finding a date and getting in touch with the event staff can be hard at times.

They provide the venue, officiant, hotel rooms, food, live music, and flowers for the event. No need to find a caterer for a small wedding. You do get to pick a food menu, flowers and type of music. If you want more contemporary rock, I recommend Timmie Metz for a guitarist.

The hotel rooms a very comfortable and quiet. All the rooms have the same type of amenities, just laid out slightly different depending on location in hotel. Some rooms in the corners have great views of the Old Town Alexandria. The hotel is located in the center of Old Town and within steps of great restaurants and shops. Our guest enjoyed walking the streets of Old Town.

The front desk and waiters were excellent. They responded to every little request from our guest. They made sure everyone was comfortable. Our families were very pleased with the location. Everyone wants us to throw our first anniversary party at the hotel next year.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are below grade, so you have a small window looking into an alley way. Recommend r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Craig S,

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing the Morrison House for your very special day.
It is great to hear that you event was a great success and that you and your guest enjoyed the Hotel and the beautiful city of Old Town Alexandria.
I wish you all the best for the future and please reach out to me directly if there is anything I can assist you with in the future.

Respectfully,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We actually stayed at this property in June 2012 but I still wanted to write a review. I found MH by reading a survey actually through Tripadvisor and it stated that MH was one of the top 25 hotels in the country for customer service. This property is very nice and very different from what I am used to in hotels. The area is very historic and very "in town". We were treated so nice and everyone was so very friendly to us(staff). We had a wonderful room and we even had a complimentary champagne delivered to our room that totally surprised us! The second best part of our stay was The Grille! Oh my goodness, this was a meal to remember! We had the dining space to ourselves as we dined fairly late but that was perfect for us. The meal we had was wonderful and the wine was perfect. We were adjacent to the piano bar and enjoyed the music while we dined. After our meal, we slipped into the bar which was standing room only. It was a sing along night and the crowd was very lively. We were also a good 20 years younger than any other patron in the bar! We were very entertained as we watched the older folk sing along. The only downpoint of the night was being obviously stared at and snidely talked about by an older, single lady. I just chalked this up to a more "snooty" crowd and a sad, lonely older lady. My dress wasn't as "sedate" as most of the crowd so if you go to this bar, be prepared to feel a bit snubbed by the locals! That being said, the hotel is wonderful and the Grille is amazing. I will always cherish this night and memory of the 2nd night of my honeymoon. Thank you so much Morrison House!!

Room Tip: We were on the front side 3rd floor and in the corner. Wonderful room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CBUCHAN,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! It sounds like your time with us was nearly perfect. Please accept my apologies for the behavior of the lonely old lady in the bar.
I appreciate your sense of humor and I like to thank you for taking the time to write this kind review.
We hope to welcome you back soon, possible for your 1st anniversary?

Sincerely,

Tobias Arff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We always stay here when we are in town. This hotel has it all; valet parking, dining room, bar, up-dated rooms,and a fantastic staff. The Piano Bar is always a "hoot"; lots of very talented locals on scene (Washington Opera). We love the location, the staff and the attention to detail.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear john b,

I like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words and for your loyalty to the Morrison House.
Your friends at the Morrison House are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The property

A purpose built block just off the busy King Street in Alexandria. The entrance is a pretty double staircase with a fountain. The block is about 20 years or more old, and beginning to look a little worn around the edges, but not unpleasantly so. Well located with lots of little restaurants and cafes within a few minutes walk.

The room

I had a corner queen. About 120 square feet. Carpets quite thin and worn. A biggish TV (obscure controls) well placed in front of the bed. The windows opened, but the background roar of neighbouring aircon plant made doing this unpleasant. The room had no kettle (housekeeping did not even know what a kettle was, but sent a sort of drip coffee making machine which made my tea taste of old coffee). Free internet, but you have to sign up to Kimpton’s mailing list which triggers a deluge of irritating mails.

The bed

A good quality true double, but a bit tired (squeaking springs). Good cotton linens. Sleep quality was OK, if a bit stuffy because it is too noisy to open the windows.

The bathroom

Decent sized bathroom with a larger than average bath and shower over.


Ambient noise

Medium to high. No traffic noise, but constant loud mechanical noise from neighbouring aircon units.

Overall

At $200 for a night this felt like an OK deal to me. I was given a $10 minibar voucher at checkin, but bottled water is $10 a litre, making the good feeling go away pretty quickly.

Room Tip: Room 512 is a corner room which looks out over half a dozen "always on" aircon units in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Coltbridge,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I have to admit that I’m a little bit disappointed that your experience was ok but not perfect.
It is very rare that we get feedback on the noise level at our hotel and I apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused you.
I’m very excited to share with you that we are in the process of replacing all windows in the hotel. Three out of our five floors have already been completed and this major project will continue to help us in our quest of providing the best night’s sleep in Old Town Alexandria.
The corner queen room you stayed in is 208 sq ft large while our King Deluxe rooms and deluxe suites are larger.
Please contact me directly if your travels bring you back into our area. I would like to personally assist you with your room assignment and I will ensure that your next stay with us will be perfect.

Thanks again for your important feedback and Happy Holidasys,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent Hurricane Sandy holed up in this hotel and it turned out to be my favorite hotel and experience of my entire trip, and not just because they never lost power!
I'd stayed at Westin and Renaissance before coming here and this one blew the others away. The front desk staff, the waiters, room service - all were top notch. It was honestly one of the classiest hotels I've ever stayed at. Location was great, in Old Town Alexandria, just off of King Street. I was really impressed how calm and courteous the employees were, though they must have been a little worried about their own homes and families with the storm approaching. I also know they were asked the same questions over & over, yet they always were patient and the most gracious hosts ever. They had taken all the precautions possible, they have a generator, they were out checking the storm drains and exterior. Prior to getting there I was worried about the storm and feeling really vulnerable, but they took all that worry away. I felt cared for.
The restaurant was great, especially the waiter at breakfast time! He must have been a British butler in a previous life!
The beds were great, the hotel was quiet. Amenities were top notch. They allow pets there and I never heard one nor did I encounter any tell-tale pet smells. They do everything well here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear why_pack_light?,

Thank you very much for your awesome feedback. I’m glad that your enjoyed your recent experience with us. It means a lot to us that your stay at the Morrison House was your favorite of your entire trip.
It will be my pleasure to share your fantastic comments with my entire team and in particular with John our British breakfast server.

Happy Holidays,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.