We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, unprententious, perfect location,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and SAVE!
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elegant, unprententious, perfect location,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Morrison House. Our room accommodations were superb. The Morrison House is indeed unique among Kimpton Hotels and it remains our favorite hotel destination. The guest room was elegant and the staff friendly and accommodating. The location in Old Town Alexandria is ideal as the hotel is a half block off the main road (thus more private) and an easy 10 minute walk to either the waterfront or subway/train station with interesting shops, restaurants and pubs along the way. We lived in the D.C. / Northern Virginia area for 25 years (moved to Maine) and know the region very well. In our opinion, Old Town Alexandria is superior to Georgetown, Bethesda and all other locals for vacationing in the D.C. area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    84
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
56
252
52
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

I had a great experience at this hotel. I was lucky to get a great rate on Gilt.com and have enjoyed staying at other Kimpton hotels. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are relatively small but very comfortable. We enjoyed having coffee in the parlor in the morning. They even had to-go cups and iced coffee! Don't pay for valet parking- you can park at a meter overnight if you time it right and the city will give you a free parking pass for 24 hours if you visit the visitors center.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
626 reviews 626 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 230 cities Reviews in 230 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel certainly lived up to its Trip Advisor ratings. The staff is very friendly and somewhat efficient. First impressions are of a luxury hotel with valet parking and a concierge. We booked two rooms, one was ready on arrival, so we left our bags and went for lunch. The rooms were not spacious, but very tastefully appointed. Our only problem with the rooms was that the refrigerators in both rooms did not work. We reported that to the desk, but with no result. Perhaps it had something to do with the previous day’s hurricane, but we expected better. We ate breakfast on both days of our stay and found it good. A previous reviewer thought the breakfast was expensive. It was not cheap, but the quality justified the moderately high prices. No local restaurant offered as good a value. Yes, a McBreakfast is cheaper, but… One small annoyance was the $3.50 charge for coffee with breakfast. We drank our fill at no charge in the lobby and took one last cup with our meal.
This is not a hotel for the budget traveler, but it is the best value for those looking for something better than the big chain hotels – and the prices are equal to or below big chain prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I always try to stay at Kimpton Hotels.
They go the extra mile and the value is excellent.

Morrison House,( which gives us the feeling of a
fine European Botique Hotel) and Monaco (mid size
and flawless)-- in Alexandria are
both my family's hotes of choice when visition
in the DC - Northern Virginia area.
Tappy

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

We were very comfortable at the Morrison House along with our beagle. Jose really made us feel welcome and at home. The hotel is just far enough from lower King St. to be very quiet at night (and we were on the third floor on Alfred St.). However, it is close enough to all of the restaurants and attractions. Those who have said it is too far from the waterfront are not walkers. It's only 7 blocks and it's a great walk. Don't miss the farmers market in Market Square on Saturday mornings. We felt very comfortable here with our dog and we our room, although not large, was well appointed and everything we needed. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Fiji80,

Thank you so much for the kind feedback. I’m very happy that the three of you enjoyed your experience and that Jose was able to take good care of you.
I hope to welcome you back soon to your home away from home.

Yours,

Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here as part of a road trip and used it as a base to visit Washington. For a hotel of this class it was very reasonable. The rooms were beautiful, the beds confortable and there were some nice touches of a free glass of wine between 5 and 6pm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Actually a 2-night business trip but with my husband to see new installation of his art and meet with clients. But it was also a quick getaway to the heart of old town Alexandria. We enjoyed a fourth floor king room with fireplace (not in use since it was 90+outside,but I imagine would be incredible in the winter). Very modern comfort and decent-size room (not studio). It felt just right. Very helpful, positive front desk and staff. We ate 2 nights in the Grille restaurant (once with guests and once alone). Attentive service, lots of menu choice. Food okay. I had a few hours to stroll down King St. to the Potomac and back up Prince Street to enjoy historic houses, cobble street in part, and sense of being in a perfect place in a perfect location at a very reasonable price. (My husband guessed it cost $150 more than it did.) When I made the reservation they suggested I join the Kimpton club or whatever it is (no charge). I did and when arrived got free internet and $10 off the in-room snacks. Delightful place.

Room Tip: I asked for one higher up. I signed up for the Kimpton Intouch or club or whatever it is which might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.