We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Boutique feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago Suburbs
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Boutique feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

If your into the small, boutique hotels, this place is for you! It is tucked away from King street, in a quiet spot. The location is great, and the service was incredible! I found it to somewhate expensive for what you get, but I guess you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    87
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
59
263
54
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The hotel is located very close to the Alexandria main street, but on a very quiet block. The staff is amazing and the food was one of the best I've had in Hotels in a while (if ever). Also the whole hotel interior is charming from the hallways and lobby to the hotel rooms.

The prizing of the hotel is high compared to general level in U.S. and the same goes with the food. Breakfast for instance was ridiculously high prized. But in a way it is worth the extra cost.. I guess you shouldn't expect the extra comfort without the extra cost.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

What a wonderful hotel in downtown Alexandria. The staff was very helpful in every way. My mother and I were in town for a funeral and had not been there in many years. The staff went out of their way by printing out directions for us and making sure we were pointed in the right direction. Tobias even upgraded our room so we would have more space. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. I would recommend this hotel highly. Thank you Tobias and staff for a wonderful couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our team was holding a five day workshop in Alexandria and needed rooms and a meeting space for nine people with breakfast and lunch included each day. The staff of the Morrison House ensured we had everything we needed for our stay and the food was delicious. Everyone -- from housekeeping to our event coordinator -- was attentive and accommodating. We may not have enjoyed working the weekend, but getting to do so at the Morrison House helped to make up for that in spades.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Walking up to the Morrison House, we were stunned by its beauty and clasic southern charm. From the outside it just looks like a place you would love to visit in that it was meticulously kept with attention to detail. Then just as we were walking up the stairs to enter, the door opens up and this wonderful man steps out to help us with our luggage! We are from the west coast where a travelor just isnt treated this way! We were shocked at the consideration given to us! Every single person in that hotel, our entire stay treated us like they were really glad to have us. It is clean and elegant, with outstanding old fashion charm. For example the key to our room was a real key, a heavy one that you could hold in your hand and use in the lock of a door that was so heavy it clunked when it closed. No plastic or artificial anything in this place including the wonderful staff. LOVED the experience, would never stay anywhere else in Alexandria or the DC area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

They put a baby high chair in my room before I got into my room. When I asked for a toy (I heard they have toys for children), they apologized for not having one. Half an hour later, Jose, the valet, surprised us by knocking on our door and handing us an organic rattler he bought at a nearby toystore. When we discovered that the refridgerator was broken at night, Dereje, the butler, wheeled in a new refridgerator for us. He also managed to fix the toilet, which didn't have the strongest water pressure. We loved the hotel so much, we ate at the restaurant downstairs. It was pricey, but worth it - and I'm very cheap, so that's saying a lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrison_house, General Manager at Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Dear Chupachuby,

Thank you for taking the time to commend on your recent experience with us. Even though I’m very happy that you overall enjoyed your experience, I like to apologize for our shortcomings.
We take a lot of pride in our room product and the service we provide. I’m disappointed that not everything in your room was perfect up on arrival and I like to apologize for this. I’m very grateful that you acknowledged the effort of our team to make you stay as comfortable as possible and I’m glad that you got the chance to taste the fantastic food in our restaurant the Grill. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist you with in the future.

Respectfully,

Tobias Arff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just had to "get out of Dodge". Never stayed at a Kimpton hotel before. We were very pleasantly surprised. VERY accomodating staff--courteous & polite. Room was comfortable in size. Nice armoire, three drawer bureau also incorporated the mini-bar/fridge. Bed was amazingly comfortable--fell asleep without all the tossing and turning usually found in hotels.
Breakfast was adequate: filling, but nothing special. I had the lox omelet, my wife had the Eggs Benedict.
Location was great, about halfway between the Metro and the Torpedo Factory (a must not miss attraction).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 116 South Alfred Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by rich architectural history, the Morrison House is a Federal style inn set in the heart of Old Town Alexandria. Conde Nast Traveler has named the Morrison House one of the best hotels in the world five years running and it has been awarded the AAA Four Diamond Award for 26 straight years. Near our nation’s capital, this boutique luxury hotel provides impeccable service, an award winning restaurant and luxurious amenities in a soothing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.