We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star service at a Five Star Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Williamsburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Five Star service at a Five Star Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

On a recent trip to Old Town Alexandria, my two friends and I styed in a fabulous hotel. I had toured the hotel a year ago and vowed to come back. It was a great experience from the point we pulled up to valet the car to when we left the front door on our way home. The best part was when we had a problem with another guest (screaming out of their door at 2:30 a.m.) the hotel didn't know about it until I told them the next morning. (We took care of it by asking the people to be quiet...twice) It wasn't the hotel's fault the other guests were rude up on the 5th floor! :) We didn't call the front desk because they stopped. Tobias the assistant manager waved our parking fee and even went to get us tea when I mentioned it to him the next morning in passing! I had no expectations for him or anyone to do that! It was just a great experience all around! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    319
    82
    29
    17
See reviews for
298
488
89
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I was looking for a place to get away over the holiday weekend with my girlfriend, but did not have time to travel far. I live in the District and wanted to do something different. We love Old Town but don't get out there very often, and it can be a pain to go out to dinner and then have to drive back to DC. I knew that KImpton had opened the Monaco in Alexandira but had not had a chance to see it, based on my other Kimpton experiences i was pretty sure that I would like it. When I got to the hotel, Eddie Checked us in, he was gracious and friendly. when we got there the evening wine reception was going on so we stayed in the lobby for a little while and enjoyed a few glasses of wine. When we got up to the room it was pretty spacious, and well appointed. The bed was extremly comfortable! The location of the hotel was perfect, right on King Street about 3 blocks from the water. We walked to to dinner and then around the waterfront, we lucked out with great weather that night. When we got back, we ased for a late check out, the gave us one with no problem. The next morning when we checked out everyone thanked us for staying with them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a weekend in Alexandria. The hotel sits right on King St. which is the center of old town. We had easy access to numerous shops and restaurants. The D.C. metro was about a fifteen minute walk with no hills. Everything we wanted was within walking distance. The rooms were clean and spacious. We were especially pleased with the bathroom. The staff were very friendly. They were quick to say hello and goodbye as we passed through the lobby. The complimentary wine was a nice touch in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Monaco in Alexandria this past weekend. Other than the exceptionally cold weather, the stay was outstanding. From the minute Mustafa picked me up at DCA in the shuttle, and for the next three days, I was given a fantastic demonstration of customer service. Check in was a breeze...the room was immaculate, and anything I needed was attended to swiftly and competently. Even the turndown service was an unexpected delight.
Kimpton In-Touch members get added perks, so make sure you sign up.
Mike at the front desk on Sunday was exceptionally helpful with an airport/travel issue that came up, and handled it like I was the only guest in the building. This entire stay did nothing but confirm my loyalties to the Kimpton chain.
the room itself was small, but I was told that at checkin..I could have waited for a larger room, or one with a kingsize bed, but it was just me, so no bother. He room was immaculate, quiet, and had a comfortable bed, clean, good sized bathroom, nice flat screen tv, big windows, and wireless internet that worked flawlessly.
I did not use room service, but based on my other dealings, I am sure that oo would have been great.
Book this hotel..no regrets. Location was great, staff was great, facilities were great....see the pattern here?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

What a surprise to find this reasonably priced but upscale hotel in Old Town. Close to shopping and great restaurants. Good indoor pool and exercise facilities too. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco for three nights over the Christmas holiday. The staff was fantastic- specifically, the folks at the front desk who, at check-in, invited us to play a trivia game in order to earn a free upgrade (which we won!). The room was comfortable and clean. We had an issue with a noisy AC/heating unit- which was addressed immediately.

The location of the hotel is ideal- as it is in the heart of King street and close to many restaurants and shops. Although we did not visit the hotel bar/restaurant- it was quite busy each time we walked by.

Both my husband and I agreed that we would certainly stay at the Hotel Monaco again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

From the accomodating Manager on Duty to the cheerful room service attendant and the always attentive doorman, the staff at this hotel understands hospitality. The rooms are beautiful, the bathroom cosmopolitan and the lobby is inviting. We make a point of staying here whenever we are in town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.