We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a terrific Kimpton Hotel in downtown Alexandria. The only reason that I did not give it a 5 star is because I brought my husband's Toyota Tundra truck that has luggage rails on top and it did not fit into the parking garage of the Kimpton Hotel. Parking was included in the rate of my room. I spent three hours juggling the truck around to different venues. Eventually, the truck stayed in the front "valet area" overnight since there was no place to accommodate the vehicle. The people at Kimpton were wonderful about the problem, but, had I known about the height restriction ahead of time, I would have opted to bring a different vehicle.

Room Tip: We had a street view room. No noise. Great view!
See more room tips
Green Features: I would return to this hotel despite the parking issue. I will bring a smaller vehicle to fit in the garage.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    284
    78
    28
    15
See reviews for
283
452
81
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is my favorite hotel in the area. It is one of my favorites that I have ever visited. Love the decor, the scent, the amenities.

They have an indoor pool. I did not know that until my family accompanies me on a business trip. And it is staffed with a lifeguard. Bonus! FYI it's closed between 10-2, not sure why.

The people who work here are super. Even the lady who dropped off a Keurig to my room as just a treat.

We had a room on the 3rd floor, a few doors from the pool and exercise room. Double beds, terrace. Really enjoyed being able to sit outside in the evening and relax instead of hanging out in the room, especially since we couldn't leave when we had a sleeping child.

Looking forward to returning, next week. The wine hour is a lovely amenity, too!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a terrace room with a balcony if you prefer fresh air.
See more room tips
Green Features: In-room recycling bins. Nice! If you want your sheets changed often you need to ask, otherwise they will not waste the water to wash.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Though our four-night stay at the Hotel Monaco Alexandria got off to a bumpy start, I can say without hesitation that the facility’s management addressed all our concerns professionally and quickly. Since we wanted some outside space, we reserved and pre-paid for an upgraded Monte Carlo room months in advance with a balcony and courtyard view. Unfortunately we were told at check-in that the hotel was “overbooked” and no balcony rooms were available. We needed to stay in a standard room for night #1, and then we could switch to the Monte Carlo for the rest of our stay. We we NOT happy (the weekend was a birthday celebration) and made our displeasure abundantly clear to management without making a huge scene. Matt, the director of hotel operations, was exceptionally courteous and apologetic, and ultimately he did precisely what a good leader should do to make things right.

As for the hotel, the location in Old Town Alexandria is superb, and it could not be more convenient to shopping, restaurants and transportation (especially the free King Street trolley and the ferry to National Harbor). I used the hotel’s loaner bicycle to zip around town at no charge. The hotel lobby is a welcoming place to meet friends and have a drink during the complementary wine hour. Our Monte Carlo room was appealing, and it was nice to have a 5 x 10 outdoor balcony to relax on. Alexandria’s Saturday Farmers Market is pretty fabulous and convenient. Though the Kimpton chain has some tough competition these days in the “boutique hotel” market, we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: The Monte Carlo rooms on the central courtyard are quiet (if there is no event scheduled) and have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be booked into the Hotel Monaco for 3 nights . The staff were very pleasant and the location is perfect. one of the most pleasant stays we have had in a long time. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had a multi-day reservation for a large one-bedroom suite and when I called with a few questions about the size of the room and the configuration for a crib, the staff was dismissive and unable to give me a straight answer. To my question about the size of the room, the young women said, "what do you mean, like square footage - I don't know that." When I asked if a crib would easily fit in the bedroom portion of the room, the response was "sure." When I asked if she could check because "sure" didn't convince me, she said "no, it's fine - it should fit." Really?

Being in the area, I stopped in the hotel the next day to see if I could get better answers to my questions. I was pushing a stroller and was not helped with the door by the doorman. I was initially ignored at the reception area by the three ladies at the counter. And when finally helped, I was given the same vague, dismissive answers to my questions. These are not hard questions - will the crib fit easily in the bedroom portion of the suite? Does the minibar have room for baby bottles?

Needless to say, I wasn't about to pay almost $500 a night for this hotel. I canceled my reservation and went elsewhere. Sad though - because I have always loved Kimpton hotels. Customer service training is greatly needed at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is really nice hotel in Old Town Alexandria. I arrived early, and they graciously let me check in at 10:00 am. I lost my room key not once, but twice, and they cheerfully replaced it both times. It's the little things that make you want to come back to a hotel.
The room itself was nice, with a spacious bathroom. They had a charging station in the room for cellphones and the like. My only (minor) complaint was that it took a long time to get hot water in the sink. Nitpicky, I know, but you asked.
Overall, a really solid choice in Alexandria. I highly recommend Hotel Monaco.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear David A,

Thanks so much for the recommendation! Hopefully all will follow your advice!

We really do apprecaite your business and the fact that you took the time to share your coments here, thank you again.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I came to Alexandria for a business conference and booked the Hotel Monaco for my stay. The staff was very courteous and helped me get checked into my room early so I could set out to see the city. Room service was very helpful when I requested items that I needed. Cleanliness, friendliness and comfort were all above and beyond, and the bright decorations were so cheerful to wake up to. I am excited to try out other Hotel Monaco locations!

Green Features: Loved the C.O. Bigelow Apothecary bath products in room many other organic and environmentally friendly amenities!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Amelia P.,

Thank you for staying with us! It is great to hear that our hotel and location worked so well for your business trip.

Please consider coming back on your own time, there is lots to do around here while on vacation as well!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.