We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in Alexandria/DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
washington, dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in Alexandria/DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite kimpton hotel in the DC area, I've stayed at most of them. Hotel Monaco Alexandria is the best and I've stayed here several times!

Why? First, you're getting the same funky luxury that kimpton does so well. The rooms are a great size, I've stayed in both a regular room and suites. This hotel has a garage, major perk for me and you can take the elevator right up to your floor from the garage. The hotel restaurant, Jackson 20, is truly great, you must try it if you stay there! The rooms are always clean, beds are heavenly, never disappointed with a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear sleigh87,

Funky is cool, right?! Thanks for pointing that out about us, we do like to push the edge with our decor and style, and mix that in with personal, caring service. A great combination!

So kind of you to take the time to share these wonderful comments, thank you!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    317
    82
    29
    17
See reviews for
298
486
89
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

From the driver who picked us up at the airport to the cleaning staff, this is the friendliest hotel. Loved the amenities, the restaurant/bar. Great location and they make everything so easy for you. Pet friendly and will dog sit if needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Tech5an,

Thank you for staying with us, and for these very kind words. As you noted, we are ready and willing to help with whatever you may need!

Thanks again and safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

What a wonderful hotel. The décor is absolutely beautiful. Every single one of the staff was friendly and helpful from the doormen to the desk clerk, Logan. How nice was the beautiful lady serving wine at the happy hour. The room was delightful and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel. One more thing, the prices are very reasonable...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sandra S,

Thanks for making us your first review! And what a great one it was if you ask me!!

I will congratulate Logan and the rest of the team on a job well done, please come back and see us again soon.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

After a sister-mother reunion we ended our weekend with a night at your hotel. What a delight! From our welcoming greeting at the front desk and the beautifully appointed retro decor of the lobby we knew we would be in for a treat.
Right smack in the middle of historic Alexandria our evening began with a stroll and shopping. Amazed at the dining choices Alexandria offers. We returned to the Monaco for their 5-6 pm wine reception. Tucked in a cozy, velvet, corner setee, it was a perfect spot to relax, sip wine and have privacy at a well attended reception. Dinner at Jackson 20 the hotel's restaurant was superb. Our room was spotless, the beds so comfortable and LOVED the french doors to the bathroom. This hotel was full and yet it was very quiet!!!!!
Bottom line, the customer service is absolutely amazing! Specifically Logan at the front desk and Ted at Jackson 20, they completely exceeded our expectations and I will highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear 189VLS,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments here! We are thrilled to be your first TripAdvisor review, and really appreciate all of the kind words!

Logan and Ted are fantastic, and I will make sure to tell them so today!

Thank you again and please come back soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great location on King street in Alexandria. Easy walking up and down Old Town. Greeted pleasantly from the moment we arrived until we departed. Pet friendly, and staff did not shy away from making our dog comfortable. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Cost was reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear M Cecilia H,

I'm so glad you found our location in the heart of Old Town Alexandria the perfect spot for you to explore the area from. Thank you so much for staying with us!

Safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just returned from a weekend visit to Alexandria with my boys 11 & 18. We loved everything about this hotel. From the most friendliest of doorman, to pleasant and helpful front desk staff to the bell man from check in to check out our experience was great. They have a kids happy hour at 4:00, then an adult happy hour with wine at 5:00. They will even deliver a goldfish to your room to have an adorable pet for your stay, my boys loved that. The rooms are very spacious, very clean and the décor is so chic, we loved it. Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: This was our first time there so I have no other rooms to compare. We were on the 3rd floor facing K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear travelgang4,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm really glad that our hotel worked out so well for your family! Great to know that the boys enjoyed the place so much, including all of the little extras we try to do to make them feel special, such as our Kid's Hour and Goldfish program.

We hope to see you again on your next family getaway!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We first stayed in this hotel in 2013 as part of a wedding block and vowed to return. We did so this past weekend after visiting Mt. Vernon. Once again we were not disappointed. The staff is of Ritz-Carlton caliber (if you will pardon the comparison), from the car valet, to front desk, to the housekeeping staff we encountered. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We had an issue with the hot water in the shower, but the front desk gladly comped our parking. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear hammermc,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, they make all the difference for us and I feel lucky to work with them all.

Please keep coming back! We would love to have you!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.