We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Okay hotel; Valet damaged car” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #6 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
1 review
“Great location - Okay hotel; Valet damaged car”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Before Old Town Hotel became Hotel Monaco, I had stayed at the hotel previously and had a great stay. The hotel is in a great location right in the middle of Old Town Alexandria. My girlfriend and I were excited to stay in the new Hotel Monaco hotel. The hotel is very decorative and modern. The bed was comfy and the staff appeared to be friendly. The LCD TV and furniture were also nice. Those are the positives.

The room that we stayed in had gnat problem which was annoying. The room we stayed in was also a lot smaller than we had expected.

I hate how they force you to use Valet in their parking garage and charge you $20 dollars a night to park there! Before at the previous hotel, it was $7 a night and you could park your own car. Their valet staff damaged my car while in their care, but I did not notice it until after I had left the hotel. The reason? The valet staff had purposely parked my car at an angle in front of the hotel, extremely close to the vehicle in front of it, so that I wouldn't notice the damage even if I had looked. Of course there was nothing that they could do about it after the fact saying that they could not prove that they did the damage to my car.

If I stay in Alexandria again, I will make sure to stay in another hotel...

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Valet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    718
    240
    68
    24
    14
See reviews for
248
413
74
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Everything about The Hotel Monaco in Alexandria was wonderful. The room was large and airy, huge flat screen tv, huge and unique bathroom, and very very clean. The staff were very attentive, friendly and efficient toward all their visitors' needs. Very impressed. The location is excellent, right on the main street close to all eating establishments, shopping and a fantastic marina and boardwalk. Can't say enough about this place. Great place and a great time was had by all (organized bus tour of 50 people).

  • Liked — whole atmosphere of the hotel - was a pretty special place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for several days with our beautiful Lab/Retriever dog for our 30th anniversary. The stay was wonderful. The staff always welcomed our pooch and us as we would pass through the beautiful lobby. The room was beautiful, a bed and water bowl was provided for our dog. Our room had a patio overlooking the courtyard. All in all, a delightful stay!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria07
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We reserved a two-floor suite for our wedding night. Before doing so we met with the concierge, who told us of the many "extras" awaiting us to make our wedding-night stay special. This was repeated when we checked in. Unfortunately, we returned that night to discover that the beautiful two-floor suite was hot (a/c broken) and none of the promised "extras" awaited us. Ultimately, we were moved to the only room available--a nice standard room--for which we were charged RACK RATE the next morning--unbelievable. We spoke with the manager on duty, who gave a modest discount, and left quite dissatisfied. We wrote to the general manager, who responded immediately, apologized profusely, explained what he had done to ensure such a problem doesn't happen again, and offered us a free stay, or dinner & drinks. We took him up on the dinner, which was fine. That doesn't replace the unsatisfactory experience on our wedding night, but does show that the general manager takes guest satisfaction seriously and is working to instill that in the staff of this new hotel.

  • Liked — Nicely furnished, very comfortable beds, and spacious bathrooms
  • Disliked — Broken a/c, poor service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I just came home from a night's stay at Hotel Monaco. We loved it! The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated and the rooms were very chic - great colors and nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge and the shower had great water pressure. As a member of the Kimpton guest loyalty program, we had complimentary spring water and a tray of goodies awaiting us along with a handwritten note welcoming us to the hotel.
The hotel is perfectly located on King Street to walk to all the of the shops and restaurants and we took the free "King Street Trolley" all the way up to the metro stop and went into D.C for the day.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Cool decor
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I'm a big fan of the Kimpton chain. Like its other hotels, Hotel Monaco has a stunning, distinctively colorful interior that is a refreshing change from the beige on beige of business hotels. Yet the Holiday Inn that this hotel replaced in January still lurks in a few important ways.

GOOD: Gorgeous lobby and rooms; fantastic location; very clean; nice robes in closets; great bed; fantastic water pressure in shower; L'Occitane bath products; no street noise in rooms facing courtyard; balcony; free coffee and tea in the lobby; New York Times delivered to room!

BAD: Very noisy air conditioner; no Discovery Channel; heater for swimming pool broken; no door chain or latch (though there is a deadbolt and peephole); slamming of hallway doors by staff and guests; no bathroom blower vent!

Whoever Kimpton has hired to do its interior design deserves a raise. I was wowed by the lobby of the Monaco. I would never have thought that this deep aqua shade of blue would work--but it does. In the hallways and the guest rooms, you have lots of deep brick-red and dark brown. It all comes off as very rich, very calming, very exclusive. The room itself was fantastic; I've stayed in lots of nice hotels all over the world, and I can think of none that were decorated more pleasingly.

And the location! Right there near the water, near many great restaurants and all the charm of Old Town. If you're going to visit DC, definitely consider staying in Old Town Alexandria and driving or Metroing to the tourist spots. The only thing about this hotel is that the King Street Metro is maybe .75 mile away--but via a very pleasant walk.

Thus, given those attributes, it's a shame that the Hotel Monaco is nearly ruined by the rattling, clattering air conditioners the hotel inherited from its past as a Holiday Inn. And I'm someone who loves a gentle thrumming to fall asleep to. This thing would clamber on in the wee hours; I barely got any sleep.

If only they would move these a/c units to the bathrooms, for a much-needed privacy-sparing noisemaker, given the lack of any active blower-vent. The latter are also good for reducing the steam level, so that you can see yourself in the mirror after a shower.

To top it off, there was a lot of door slamming. I know; the hotel can't be blamed for the actions of its guests. But when I left at around 7:30 AM, I saw an employee leave a door at the end of the hallway--and let it slam shut behind him. Management, are you reading this? Train your staff to shut doors gently!

The TV was overall great, but there was no TV Guide channel, and the Discovery Channel was not working. We did get HBO, though.

The pool's heating mechanism was broken, and no one at the front desk mentioned this. I only found out when I went to the pool and stuck my foot in; the water was probably about 65 degrees--which feels really cold. I couldn't go in.

The fitness center is pathetic. Two treadmills, two elliptical trainers, a weird cable/pulley machine, and a rack of very small dumbbells. If you're a middle-aged, flabby business person, it's enough. If you're a youthful, athletic person who wants a real workout, it's not.

Despite these problems, I'm really rooting for the Hotel Monaco. And I think it could be a truly outstanding hotel if it were to fix these problems. But a noisy a/c is not merely an annoyance; it prevents the guest from actually sleeping--and no amount of beautiful decor can make up for that.

TIP: Park for $4 per overnight (if you get out by 8 AM) in the nearby municipal garage.

Great Thai food at My Thai, just down King Street.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, Assistant General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2008
Dear WashDCman,

As Assistant General Manager of the Hotel Monaco Alexandria I wanted to write and thank you for the comments you provided regarding your recent experience at our property. As a new hotel in the community we are very grateful for the feedback of our guests. I was very happy to read about the positive aspects of your stay. I agree that the renovation is beautiful and we are very proud of the look of our Living Room and common areas. I’ll be glad to pass along your feedback to our design team; I think they deserve a raise as well.

While concerned about the negative aspects of your stay, I’m happy you shared them with us, as they allow us to continually improve our product. I am sorry about the frustration you had with the air conditioning in your room and assure you that our work continues in replacing and repairing the AC units in the room so we bring that matter to a fast conclusion.

I also want to thank you for your feedback regarding the noise in the corridors. Your direct feedback was the subject of a training session for our Guest Services and Housekeeping teams about the impact their behavior can have on a guest’s experience. We are certainly listening and we are acting on your feedback. I also want to let you know that just this morning we delivered a new heater for our pool to our roof via crane. We expect that issue to be resolved quickly as well.

WashDCman, thank you again for your feedback. I’m very happy that you’ve provided us with feedback to improve our hotel and even happier that you’re rooting for us. If there’s any further assistance I can provide regarding your stay, please don’t hesitate in contacting me at the hotel.

The Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Our experience was very similiar to the other reviewers. Hotel decor and amenities in the rooms are wonderful. Location is great for staying around Old Alexandria or sightseeing in DC. Unfortunately this hotel has not been completely transformed from a Holiday Inn. As others have stated...the air conditioning is primitive and it sounds like they keep putting people (us included) in rooms when they full well know the air conditioning does not work or is so noisy that you cannot think. We had the same problems with the shuttle service as others have had. Despite how the manager responded to a previous review....the hotel staff repeatedly tells you that the shuttle service is available from the metro...however when you call to get a ride they tell you that that service is not available. Despite what the manager says...there was no scheduled metro pickup service when we were there. The hotel also has a very nice indoor pool. Great for swimming laps. Unfortunately I was only able to use it once. There are no pool hours posted. When I tried to use it the pool was closed and when I called the front desk to find out what the hours were...the answer was...we are trying to figure that out. I am not one to write reviews, However after reading the Hotel Managers comments on this website I felt compelled to validate what others have said. If the local management team accepts these critiques and reacts positively, they can raise prices and stay sold out. (and stop giving away bottles of wine and further discounting rooms due to their poor service) If not it should go back to a Holiday Inn.

  • Liked — hotel decor and room amenities
  • Disliked — air conditioning...hotel service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, Assistant General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2008
Dear BuckBuck 7,

As Assistant General Manager of the Hotel Monaco Alexandria I wanted to write and thank you for the comments you provided regarding your recent experience at our property. As a new hotel in the community we are very grateful for the feedback of our guests.

While concerned about the negative aspects of your stay, I’m happy you shared them with us, as they allow us to continually improve our product. I am sorry about the frustration you had with the air conditioning in your room and assure you that our work continues in replacing and repairing the AC units in the room so we bring that matter to a fast conclusion.

Thank you as well for raising the issue of the lack of clarity regarding our shuttle service. We’ve been reviewing this issue; there has been frustration for our guests not only in clear communication of the policies of our shuttle, but also in our ability to provide comprehensive shuttle service for all of our guests with only 2 vans. As a result of the feedback by guests such as you, we’ve completely revamped our shuttle service. We are now running daily scheduled service to and from Reagan National Airport between the hours of 7:00am and 10:30pm. We are discontinuing shuttle service to the Metro Station, as the City of Alexandria is now providing a free shuttle along King Street between the Potomac and the Metro Station. We feel that’s a better option for our guests, as that shuttle service is more frequent. In addition we’ve updated our hotel’s website to reflect the full details of these changes, alerted our central reservations department and our travel partner websites. This should resolve the frustration you encountered during your stay.

BuckBuck 7, thank you again for your comments. I’m very happy that you’ve provided us with feedback to improve our hotel. We agree that discounts and bottles of wine are not the answer to guest challenges, good responsive service from our team is a better solution. If there’s any further assistance I can provide regarding your stay, please don’t hesitate in contacting me at the hotel.

Best Wishes,

The Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton
Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.