We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good, just be sure to check your bill.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overall very good, just be sure to check your bill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just returned from a 11/1/13-11/3/13 stay at this hotel.
The pluses: Nice hotel with well appointed rooms. Wine hour in the lobby is a nice touch. Good central location for exploring Alexandria. Staff was all incredibly nice and helpful. Made my young daughter feel special with a fish in the room and her own large chalkboard (with a welcome message) to play with.
The minuses: Repeated issues with the television, though the staff was responsive in addressing the problems. Constant and loud hallway noise, though this is likely because our room was directly on the path to get to the pool. Don't anticipate this being a problem if you ask not to be on that stretch of the 3rd floor. While central for Alexandria, those not familiar with DC should be aware that it is a cab or Metro ride to the main downtown DC attractions. Not a huge deal, just be aware. While going over my credit card statement I noticed an extra charge a few days after our stay. Called to see what it was for and was charged for a razor and shaving cream from the minibar we did not use (it is worth noting that they will provide these items to you for FREE if you just call and ask, so we certainly had no reason to take these items). Annoying to have to address, but to their credit they did remove the charge when I called.

Overall, a very nice property and we would definitely consider staying here again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators and off the route to the pool for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear TeamG2010,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your feedback here. We really apprecaite the kind words about the staff, and I am glad to hear they fixed our error in billing although I am sorry it happened in the first place.

Enjoy your travels and please make us part of your plans in the future!

Thank you,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    263
    74
    26
    14
See reviews for
265
437
77
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have stayed here twice and really enjoyed both trips. The location is great - just on the Alexandria 'High Street' with lovely bars and shops within the immediate vicinity, and you can take an enjoyable run down to the riverside area. The staff, the service and the food is of a consistently high standard - the crab cake breakfast was a memorable favourite for me. I would suggest it is suitable for all types of travellers and would use it for business or families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Mark S,

What a great review and recommendation, thank you very much! Appreciate your business and we do hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We loved this place-- a perfect location in Old Town Alexandria. The hotel suited our personalities with the fun bold colors and our room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed doing our yoga poses in the room every morning using the yoga mats provided. The wine tasting and coffee were nice perks. .The value of this hotel was very reasonable and I would definitely stay here again when I visit DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear kala28,

Thanks for choossing us for the Girl's getaway weekend! I'm glad to hear that all went well, and that our fun/eccletic vibe was a perfect fit!

Great to hear you will be back, we look forward to it!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! Very clean, modern, nicely decorated rooms. The staff were wonderful and highly accommodating. Located right in the heart of Alexandria with so much to do only a short walk away (only a few blocks to the water too!). Special kudos for the free wine happy hour and delicious morning coffee. Our only complaint would be the lack of counter space in the bathroom (but this is a small complaint).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Kristin P,

Thank you for this wondeful review! I will pass along the comments to the team, whom I'm sure will be very appreciative!

Thank you for staying with us, please do come back soon.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the historic area of Alexandria. The whole area has an exciting vibe. There are many places within walking distance to eat, shop and on the week-end a great market in the plaza close by. I recommend the parking lot around the corner as it is much cheaper than the hotel parking. We were there for a family wedding and the food served for the reception was excellent. I don't know about the main dining rooms. I love dogs, but am not sure I love staying in a hotel that allows them in the rooms although our room on the 5th floor didn't show any sign of pet visitors. Perhaps they keep them on a separate floor. Our room didn't have a great view, but it was quiet and newspapers were delivered in the morning.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 5th floor. It was a long way from the elevator, but that kept down any h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear NoFo,

Thank you for staying with us! You're right, Old Town Alexandria has a great vibe to it and a ton to offer, we are fortunate to be so centrally located in this great little destination.

Thank you again and safe travels!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having stayed in Washington before, we decided to stay outside this time and on checking review websites, this came out doing very well. To me this was the perfect hotel. Clean, unique in style, extremely friendly staff and a perfect location in Alexandria. We had a room on the top floor, which was large and quiet. If you join the Kimpton loyalty program you get free wifi and $10 off your bar bill as well. All in all, a great place to stay and I will be staying with Kimpton again. We ate in the Restaurent once in the evenig and it was also very good but we didn't have breakfast as there was a French cafe opposite that did very reasonably priced breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room, away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear bigbrifmLT,

Thank you for trying us out, we are so glad you did! And now it seems we have another Kimpton fan! Old Town is really a great alternative to staying downtown, isn't it? With easy access and a ton of amenities right outside your door, it makes a lot of sense.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Loved our recent stay at Hotel Monaco in Old Town in Alexandria. Perfect location and amenities, great for families. My only advice is to ask for a quiet room. Our room faced the side street and we were awakened by garbage trucks in the early morning and by revelers from nearby bars in the wee hours. Also the reason I rated service slightly lower is because our room was never serviced. But all other service encounters were extremely positive. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
JMEK450,

Thank you for this review, and for choosing us for your stay in Old Town Alexandria! Glad you enjoyed your stay and the service overall was a hit!

I am sorry that the room was not serviced however, I will look into this with our Housekeeping team to avoid similar occurences in the future.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.