We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have stayed here twice and really enjoyed both trips. The location is great - just on the Alexandria 'High Street' with lovely bars and shops within the immediate vicinity, and you can take an enjoyable run down to the riverside area. The staff, the service and the food is of a consistently high standard - the crab cake breakfast was a memorable favourite for me. I would suggest it is suitable for all types of travellers and would use it for business or families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Mark S,

What a great review and recommendation, thank you very much! Appreciate your business and we do hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    294
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
286
461
83
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We loved this place-- a perfect location in Old Town Alexandria. The hotel suited our personalities with the fun bold colors and our room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed doing our yoga poses in the room every morning using the yoga mats provided. The wine tasting and coffee were nice perks. .The value of this hotel was very reasonable and I would definitely stay here again when I visit DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear kala28,

Thanks for choossing us for the Girl's getaway weekend! I'm glad to hear that all went well, and that our fun/eccletic vibe was a perfect fit!

Great to hear you will be back, we look forward to it!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! Very clean, modern, nicely decorated rooms. The staff were wonderful and highly accommodating. Located right in the heart of Alexandria with so much to do only a short walk away (only a few blocks to the water too!). Special kudos for the free wine happy hour and delicious morning coffee. Our only complaint would be the lack of counter space in the bathroom (but this is a small complaint).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Kristin P,

Thank you for this wondeful review! I will pass along the comments to the team, whom I'm sure will be very appreciative!

Thank you for staying with us, please do come back soon.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the historic area of Alexandria. The whole area has an exciting vibe. There are many places within walking distance to eat, shop and on the week-end a great market in the plaza close by. I recommend the parking lot around the corner as it is much cheaper than the hotel parking. We were there for a family wedding and the food served for the reception was excellent. I don't know about the main dining rooms. I love dogs, but am not sure I love staying in a hotel that allows them in the rooms although our room on the 5th floor didn't show any sign of pet visitors. Perhaps they keep them on a separate floor. Our room didn't have a great view, but it was quiet and newspapers were delivered in the morning.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 5th floor. It was a long way from the elevator, but that kept down any h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear NoFo,

Thank you for staying with us! You're right, Old Town Alexandria has a great vibe to it and a ton to offer, we are fortunate to be so centrally located in this great little destination.

Thank you again and safe travels!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowestoft
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having stayed in Washington before, we decided to stay outside this time and on checking review websites, this came out doing very well. To me this was the perfect hotel. Clean, unique in style, extremely friendly staff and a perfect location in Alexandria. We had a room on the top floor, which was large and quiet. If you join the Kimpton loyalty program you get free wifi and $10 off your bar bill as well. All in all, a great place to stay and I will be staying with Kimpton again. We ate in the Restaurent once in the evenig and it was also very good but we didn't have breakfast as there was a French cafe opposite that did very reasonably priced breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room, away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear bigbrifmLT,

Thank you for trying us out, we are so glad you did! And now it seems we have another Kimpton fan! Old Town is really a great alternative to staying downtown, isn't it? With easy access and a ton of amenities right outside your door, it makes a lot of sense.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Loved our recent stay at Hotel Monaco in Old Town in Alexandria. Perfect location and amenities, great for families. My only advice is to ask for a quiet room. Our room faced the side street and we were awakened by garbage trucks in the early morning and by revelers from nearby bars in the wee hours. Also the reason I rated service slightly lower is because our room was never serviced. But all other service encounters were extremely positive. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
JMEK450,

Thank you for this review, and for choosing us for your stay in Old Town Alexandria! Glad you enjoyed your stay and the service overall was a hit!

I am sorry that the room was not serviced however, I will look into this with our Housekeeping team to avoid similar occurences in the future.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was are second stay at this particular Kimpton. Have stayed at many others and belong to the In touch group. Undoubtedly the best hotel in Old Town. Everyone was so nice from the Valet to the front desk and the bar tender. We will rate the restaurant in a separate piece.
Left very early in the morning for a flight out of DCA. Our car was front and center and the check out was quick. No one else awake in the hotel expect for tow employees and my wife an I. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear pierre20639,

This is fantastic - thank you for coming back and for being a loyal inTouch member of Kimpton as well! Great feedback that I will make sure to share with the overnight staff, it will mean a lot to them as they take pride in their jobs and taking care of those guests who get up early or get in late.

Thanks again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.