We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town- Downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old Town- Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I usually avoid hotels in favor of timeshares so I was pleasantly surprised here. A preliminary call indicated this is a "Dog Friendly" hotel we decided to let our jack Russell test it out. From the moment we approached the lobby where Lucy discovered a huge bowl of fresh water until we exited the ever ready and speedy elevators and found our room we were pleased. Lucy received a complimentary "doggie bag" with useful items like a huge milk-bone and poo bags and sitting service information. While we heard a few pooches bark hello to Lucy as we walked the halls, most were quite and no one complained when Lucy was startled early in the morning by a slamming door and warned everyone to stop walking around a go back to sleep.

The evening wines were great and staff were cheerful and quite helpful at every turn.

The location is excellent with many fine restaurants within a short walk if one tired of the on site restaurant.

Given the various languages i heard spoken by patrons, I would venture a guess that we are not the first to discover this boutique hotel in a great location with trolley cars stopping both sides of the street for a quick connection to the Metro for an easy commute to the nation's capitol or Arlington cemetery.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Tom T,

So glad you, and Lucy, enjoyed your stay! Thank you for choosing us, and for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

Hope you got to experience all that Old Town Alexandria has to offer in addition to our close proximity to downtown, it is well worth the time!

Take care and come back soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    774
    266
    76
    26
    14
See reviews for
272
442
78
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my second stay at a Kimpton hotel. The first was the Hotel Monaco in DC, which was fantastic and I am happy to say this stay was fantastic as well. First of all, the location cannot be beat. You are literally a couple blocks from the waterfront where the Torpedo Arts Factory and the Chart House are located (both are a must to visit).

In addition, this area of King Street has so many choices for restaurants, shopping, and most of the museums (Gadbsy's, Anthenaeum, Apothercary, just to name a few).

The rooms were spacious, clean, and quiet. The staff were very helpful and always friendly.

I would definitely recommend visiting Old Town Alexandria and staying at the Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear kmc4601,

Thank you for staying with us! And for the recommendation that others do too!!

We really appreciate your business and hope to see you back again soon.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 and fell in love with the beauty and uniqueness of this property. It is pet friendly and during the wine social each evening people congregate with their dogs. So much fun. The staff goes out of their way to make everything perfect. If you don't bring a pet with you , you can take a goldfish to your room! The rooms are modern and large - ours was decorated in a very chic black and white. Big fluffy robes to wear after bathing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear holly S,

Glad you liked the place! We appreciate you staying with us, and taking the time to share these wonderful comments here.

Please come back soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's too bad we were able to spend only one night at the Monaco Hotel. Checking in late in the evening, we were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff. Our room was lovely and romantic with period furnishings and a sloping ceiling. The bed was covered with good linens and very comfortable. The bathroom was also tastefully decorated and functional. The only thing missing was a hair dryer. A minor inconvenience to an otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a 6th floor room with a sloped ceiling. Very quiet with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear evamaria13,

Thank you for staying with us - hope next time you can make it for longer!

Appreciate the great feedback and kind words, we will make sure to check that we aren't missing any hairdryers in the rooms such as yours though, I'm sorry that happened.

Have a great day and come back soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days on a recent business trip. Very happy with this hotel. Although it is in a small historic building, room was very large and very modern and comfortable. Had all the usual nice Kimpton touches -- the awesome minibar, free internet, nice soap & shampoo.

Location is great, on King Street in the middle of Old Town Alexandria, walking to everything. Metro was 15-min walk via King Street, or there is a free shuttle bus. Had a nice run along the Potomac.

Only drawbacks -- parking was expensive ($25 / night) and very cramped, it would be hard to get a large vehicle into the garage. Also, the lobby was always super crowded and noisy -- it didn't in any way affect sleep quality, but would not be a relaxing place to hang out.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor, seemed like slightly quieter, and nice view over Old Town rooftops
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate the recycling in the rooms, otherwise honestly I don't really notice
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear PlannerGeek,

Thanks for your business! And for taking the time to share your feedback here, we appreciate it!

We hope to see more of you if your business continues to bring you our way.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

People serve with a smile and the location is great for shopping. The decor is not my taste but don't let that stop you from staying here. Valet parking is fast and easy. Restaurants are close and there is a lot to do Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear omesatexas,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing such kind feedback about the staff. They are a great team and will definitely appreciate hearing this!

Safe Travels and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel.. The customer service here is totally 5 stars, from the front door guys to checking in. There is not enough the staff can do here. We left our car here while we traveled, and they took such great care-enough to notify us, making sure we were away. The staff is outstanding along with the management team here. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. Lots of attention to details. Once we arrived back and called for a pick-up the gentlemen was so upset, that we were later than the shuttle runs, he made several suggestions on getting back to the hotel. We had another Fabulous night before heading home. Can not wait to come back! This is a place to call home and nothing is too much for the wonderful team!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and both were EXCELLENT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Doslocosguyspvrmx,

This is wonderful, thank you so much for this fantastic feedback regarding the team. We are truly fortunate to have such great people here who are committed to creating personal connections with our guests and providing them excellent customer service.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.