We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days on a recent business trip. Very happy with this hotel. Although it is in a small historic building, room was very large and very modern and comfortable. Had all the usual nice Kimpton touches -- the awesome minibar, free internet, nice soap & shampoo.

Location is great, on King Street in the middle of Old Town Alexandria, walking to everything. Metro was 15-min walk via King Street, or there is a free shuttle bus. Had a nice run along the Potomac.

Only drawbacks -- parking was expensive ($25 / night) and very cramped, it would be hard to get a large vehicle into the garage. Also, the lobby was always super crowded and noisy -- it didn't in any way affect sleep quality, but would not be a relaxing place to hang out.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor, seemed like slightly quieter, and nice view over Old Town rooftops
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate the recycling in the rooms, otherwise honestly I don't really notice
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear PlannerGeek,

Thanks for your business! And for taking the time to share your feedback here, we appreciate it!

We hope to see more of you if your business continues to bring you our way.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    745
    259
    71
    25
    14
See reviews for
259
432
77
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

People serve with a smile and the location is great for shopping. The decor is not my taste but don't let that stop you from staying here. Valet parking is fast and easy. Restaurants are close and there is a lot to do Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear omesatexas,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing such kind feedback about the staff. They are a great team and will definitely appreciate hearing this!

Safe Travels and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel.. The customer service here is totally 5 stars, from the front door guys to checking in. There is not enough the staff can do here. We left our car here while we traveled, and they took such great care-enough to notify us, making sure we were away. The staff is outstanding along with the management team here. The rooms were comfortable and roomy. Lots of attention to details. Once we arrived back and called for a pick-up the gentlemen was so upset, that we were later than the shuttle runs, he made several suggestions on getting back to the hotel. We had another Fabulous night before heading home. Can not wait to come back! This is a place to call home and nothing is too much for the wonderful team!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and both were EXCELLENT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Doslocosguyspvrmx,

This is wonderful, thank you so much for this fantastic feedback regarding the team. We are truly fortunate to have such great people here who are committed to creating personal connections with our guests and providing them excellent customer service.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel does not have the normal décor ,a bit dark but very attractive pieces in the lobby. It created an atmosphere conducive to sitting and chatting. The evening free wine tasting was a draw for many. Stayed two nights this past weekend.Great location,clean and spacious room/bath,Staff very helpful and pleasant and accommodating. Elevators were very quick .On site parking a bit pricey but I guess you have to consider the location.

Room Tip: 3rd flr corner was very quiet,had a alcove entrance which was shared with another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear helens991,

Glad to hear that you appreciated the decor and the feel of the lobby, that is inviting for folks to sit and enjoy. Thank you for the kind words, and for your business! We appreciate it!

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am a huge Kimpton fan...and everything about the Monaco Alexandria was great except the staff...they just weren't as pleasant as they normally are. Not just the front desk staff but even the bellmen, nobody seemed happy. Maybe it was the weather.

Room Tip: The sixth floor rooms (at least the one I had) have one very small window, high up on the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Dave707,

Thank you for staying with us, and for being a loyal Kimpton guest!

I'm really sorry however that we came across this way, providing personalized service and going above and beyond for our guests is something that we take a lot of pride in. I regret that we did not leave you with that perception, it is not ok for us to be off our game at any time.

Please do try us again, I know that we can provide you with that high level of service you have come accustomed to at Kimpton.

Thanks again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, TN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last weekend and found the atmosphere warm and friendly, however they seem to forget requests such as the extra blanket we asked for in advance and though the goldfish in your room is a somewhat humorous amenity, they never delivered it when requested. Dogs are great and considered a family member by some, including the Monaco, and they are treated as such with numerous food and water bowls spread about the public spaces; near your table in the sidewalk cafe. I'm sure I didn't understand the correct purpose of the plastic fire hydrant inside the front entry. I'm sure male dogs aren't availing themselves of that amenity inside the front door! The guestroom furnishings are plesant and utilitarian, like the large mirrors and big chase lounge. The bed was good medium firmness and comfortable. Bath amenities were upscale. I'd stay again, moreover if I had a doggy family member no doubt this would be number one on my list.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front view King street activities. Inside rooms on the east side have great looking la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear tnhighroad,

Thank you for including us in your weekend plans! We appreciate your business and your feedback here.

Please accept my apologies for our lack of follow through on those requested items, I have followed up with our team to ensure we have our proper systems in place to avoid this in the future.

To solve the mystery, the small red fire hydrant inside the front door is a doggie-treat dispenser - really, everyone should have one!

Thanks again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was really looking forward to this hotel stay but found it to be overall average and a little disappointing.
Staff at check in did explain about parking, how the drink card works, and did not give us our breakfast cards. Once I went and got them they did explain how they worked. The staff at Jackson 20 gave me more information than the front desk staff did during my visit.
Housekeeping never vacuumed the room because I found chips on the floor Friday and Saturday. The maid on Friday did not refresh the bathroom body wash and lotion. On Saturday the maid did not leave us a new ice bag and did not put the pillows on the bed but left them in the chase.
I asked for the USA Today but we received the New York Times and the mattress could be refreshed. On Friday morning, I called the front desk about the air conditioning making a nose that kept us up during the night. I do not know if anyone can to look at it because it still made the noise and no from the hotel staff never followed up.
The décor is very chic but the staff needs to be refreshed about how to deal better with new customer or ask all customers if the know how your hotel works. I choose your hotel for location and it appeared to be a nicer hotel for our 23 rd anniversary but we left disappointed with our overall first experience with Kimpton Hotels.
I normally checkout Tripadvisor for everything but this was the first time I did not and I am sorry. I noticed once I got home that the hotel never really address any of the concerns but ask the custom to call them. The hotel should have our number so why do they not reach out to us. I will never make this mistake again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear sharondw65,

Thank you for celebrating your 23rd anniversary with us and for taking the time to share your comments here. I sincerely apologize that we fell short on a number of occasions during this stay however, we will certainly address these issues and work to avoid similar occurences in the future.

I have sent you a private email to follow up with you persoally as I was able to match your feedback with one of our internal surveys. Typically we do not have the guests' name or information from this site, which is why I ask them to contact me (it is not always discernible from their screen names).

Thank you again and I hope to speak with you soon.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.