We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Lakeland, TN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last weekend and found the atmosphere warm and friendly, however they seem to forget requests such as the extra blanket we asked for in advance and though the goldfish in your room is a somewhat humorous amenity, they never delivered it when requested. Dogs are great and considered a family member by some, including the Monaco, and they are treated as such with numerous food and water bowls spread about the public spaces; near your table in the sidewalk cafe. I'm sure I didn't understand the correct purpose of the plastic fire hydrant inside the front entry. I'm sure male dogs aren't availing themselves of that amenity inside the front door! The guestroom furnishings are plesant and utilitarian, like the large mirrors and big chase lounge. The bed was good medium firmness and comfortable. Bath amenities were upscale. I'd stay again, moreover if I had a doggy family member no doubt this would be number one on my list.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front view King street activities. Inside rooms on the east side have great looking la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear tnhighroad,

Thank you for including us in your weekend plans! We appreciate your business and your feedback here.

Please accept my apologies for our lack of follow through on those requested items, I have followed up with our team to ensure we have our proper systems in place to avoid this in the future.

To solve the mystery, the small red fire hydrant inside the front door is a doggie-treat dispenser - really, everyone should have one!

Thanks again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    262
    73
    26
    14
See reviews for
264
436
77
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was really looking forward to this hotel stay but found it to be overall average and a little disappointing.
Staff at check in did explain about parking, how the drink card works, and did not give us our breakfast cards. Once I went and got them they did explain how they worked. The staff at Jackson 20 gave me more information than the front desk staff did during my visit.
Housekeeping never vacuumed the room because I found chips on the floor Friday and Saturday. The maid on Friday did not refresh the bathroom body wash and lotion. On Saturday the maid did not leave us a new ice bag and did not put the pillows on the bed but left them in the chase.
I asked for the USA Today but we received the New York Times and the mattress could be refreshed. On Friday morning, I called the front desk about the air conditioning making a nose that kept us up during the night. I do not know if anyone can to look at it because it still made the noise and no from the hotel staff never followed up.
The décor is very chic but the staff needs to be refreshed about how to deal better with new customer or ask all customers if the know how your hotel works. I choose your hotel for location and it appeared to be a nicer hotel for our 23 rd anniversary but we left disappointed with our overall first experience with Kimpton Hotels.
I normally checkout Tripadvisor for everything but this was the first time I did not and I am sorry. I noticed once I got home that the hotel never really address any of the concerns but ask the custom to call them. The hotel should have our number so why do they not reach out to us. I will never make this mistake again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear sharondw65,

Thank you for celebrating your 23rd anniversary with us and for taking the time to share your comments here. I sincerely apologize that we fell short on a number of occasions during this stay however, we will certainly address these issues and work to avoid similar occurences in the future.

I have sent you a private email to follow up with you persoally as I was able to match your feedback with one of our internal surveys. Typically we do not have the guests' name or information from this site, which is why I ask them to contact me (it is not always discernible from their screen names).

Thank you again and I hope to speak with you soon.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on vacation in July with 3 other girls. We shared a room with two full size beds. I did wish the beds were queen sized, but they were comfortable. The hotel staff were all friendly. The hotel is beautifully decorated. Very unique furnishings. I love the fact that the hotel is dog friendly. I didn't bring my dog, but it is nice to know that such a nice hotel welcomes them. There is a courtyard in the middle of the hotel where I saw guests with their dogs. When we arrived, the headboard on one of the beds, which is attached to the wall, fell off the wall. A very nice maintainence person arrived promptly and fixed it. There are plenty of shops and restaurants located around the hotel. There is a restaurant located in the hotel, but we did not eat there. It is a bit pricey. Every night there is happy hour in the lobby
where they serve complimentary red or white wine. There is a parking garage under the hotel which I believe costs about $21.00 daily. I got a great deal on the hotel's website for free parking. There is also a reasonably priced public garage located across the street.
We were there to visit Washington D.C. We chose to take the metro into D.C. It is located at the other end of King St. which is a good walk, but we did it. There is a free trolley that runs continuously up and down King St., but it does not start until 10 am. We wanted to start touring D.C. before that. We took the trolley back to the hotel in the evening.
My only real complaint about the hotel was that we were never given enough towels and washcloths for the four people in the room despite leaving a daily tip and note to request enough for housekeeping.
I filled out a online questionnaire about my stay from the hotel, and the manager replied to my feedback to say that the hotel has a new system in place to fix that problem. Overall, I was satisfied with Hotel Monaco. I would stay there again, and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for this review! And for staying with us for your trip to the D.C. area!

I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay and found it a good home base for sightseeing in D.C. and exploring Old Town Alexandria, hopefully next time you will get a chance to try our restaurant as well!

I'm sorry about the lack of towels provided by Housekeeping, we did come up with a better system for that recently and will be more on top of it moving forward.

Hope to see you again soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austincoolcouple
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great hotel with an ideal location. The rooms look exactly like the photos, great toiletries. I had hoped to move up to a terrace room on arrival but alas they were all taken. Size of terrace looks great however for next time. The social hour was really fun and everyone was there! But.....the bar and bartenders at Jackson 20 were fantastic with the BEST and most fun cocktails I have ever had! We intended to bop in for a quick drink and stayed all evening. We order some appetizers (yummy) since we cancelled our reservation at another spot because we were having such a great time! Coffee in the Lobby was great-took in a to go cup and strolled to waterfront. Came back and had great breakfast on outdoor patio at Jackson 20. No drinks, haha!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear austinitecouple,

Glad you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you for takign the time to write this wonderful review, I definitely agree that our bartenders at Jackson 20 can make your night with fun drinks!

Next time you come we will be sure to have a Terrace room with balcony ready for you!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Perfectly appointed, the Hotel Monaco Alexandria is perfect for a weekend getaway, special group function or a business meeting. The location couldn't be better, just a few miles south of Reagan National Airport in the center of Old Town Alexandria. The service is top notch, the rooms are ample -- especially the fifth floor loft suites -- and the decor is rich and warm. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: The fifth floor loft rooms are terrific if you want to splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear RAW55,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review! Really apprecaite the kind words, especially regarding the staff and the excellent service they provided.

Thanks again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is by far one of my favorite hotels. Great service, very friendly staff, unique décor and utterly charming! I can highly recommend it to travelers interested in exploring the Old Town Alexandria area. It is clean and well maintained, and the attached restaurant, the Jackson 20 restaurant is wonderful. The valets are always at the door to help and the front desk staff in very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Beamerjo,

Thank you for staying with us, and for the wonderful comments about our team! It feels great to be on the top of your list of hotels!

Thanks again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place is a great place for a weekend retreat or the business traveler. The rooms and staff make it feel like you are at home. This hotel is want introduced me to the Kimpton Brand and I have become a big fan! I have sense stayed at Kimptons in Boston, Baltimore, Chicago, and Minneapolis and I love their service and rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over King Street just to get the vib of Alexandria. Also they are dog friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Tim B,

Great to know that we introduced you to Kimpton and that you have since become hooked!! We are proud of our property and to represent Kimpton Hotel & Restaurants so well!

Thanks for staying with us, hope to see you again soon.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.