We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, beautiful hotel, amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Bucks County, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, beautiful hotel, amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just returned from a 4-day stay at the Monaco. I can't say enough about this hotel. It was clean and the room lovely and large. It's right on a lively street with lots to do, wonderful restaurants, just a few blocks from the waterfront. There's a free trolley that goes up and down King Street, from the Metro station to the waterfront, that stops at the corner by the hotel. The Metro takes you on a comfortable, easy trip to downtown D.C. They only charged us half-price for parking ($12.50) because we have a hybrid. The free wine reception was a wonderful feature, and the Saturday night movie by the pool was great. Our whole family enjoyed our stay thoroughly and will happily return to the Monaco next time we want to visit D.C.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear stella_luna33,

Thank you for staying with us! Your kind words regarding the location, amenities and staff are much apprecaited, thank you.

Please come back again soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    286
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
284
454
82
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The main reason to consider the Hotel Monaco is its ideal location in Old Town Alexandria. It is located in the heart of Old Town near the main square, within easy walking distance of the waterfront in one direction and the metro stop in the other. Once you get past that, the hotel has clean, comfortable rooms and generally friendly and efficient service. However there was one issue that kept me from giving this property five stars. On our last day in Virginia, we returned to our room to find a large, very loud fan in the room. After two calls to the front desk, it was discovered that the AC unit was leaking and not cooling the room down. We had to either switch rooms (which we did) or see if they could fix the AC while we went out to dinner. Having the air break down is one thing, but not making any effort to contact me, even by leaving a voice mail in the room, was the bigger failure. It shouldn't have been up to me to call around and find out what was going on when I got back to the room. There should have been some notification. At least at check out they tried to make up for it by taking $100 off the bill. Even with this issue, I would still look at the Hotel Monaco as my first choice in Alexandria, but I'm not sure it would be the only place I would look.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear crsdmale,

Thank you for sharing your kind words regarding the hotel, certainly our location is fantastic, but we feel that our staff is what really sets us apart, thank you for recognizing them as well.

I'm sorry, however, that we didn't communicate better about the issue with the A/C unit in your room, you are absolutely right that it should not have been put upon you to figure out what was going on. Our team members recognize this and we will certainly do better next time.

Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great experience once again keeps us Kimpton hotel members. Stayed weekend of Sept. 6 - '13.
Nice, clean, courteous the usual standard at Kimpton. At the Jackson 20 the bartender could have been more attentive to all the few customers, however there was a lovely tall brunette that was obviously his "friend" and captured all the attention. I had to set myself on fire to get enough attention to have a beer. Lovely Art street fair closed King street for Saturday. Nice location to stay this Monaco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear cmacNYC,

Great title to your post! May have to borrow that for our advertising campaign!

Thanks for staying with us and glad to hear you enjoyed it so much. We will definitely talk to the bartender about giving equal attention to all the customers in the bar, sorry that you were left to ponder self-inflicted wounds while waiting for a drink!

Thanks again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
495 reviews 495 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've been coming here for years and love the hotel and usually leave a good review, but this time around was different... this review is for this experience only and we hope it is back to normal again next year!

Unfortunately, this year we had a very bad experience with extremely noisy neighbors (seriously loud/noisy at 11:45pm - totally unacceptable) that did not get dealt with by the hotel staff...

We therefore asked to move rooms and were offered unacceptable options (other noisy rooms by maintenance etc.). Finally we were moved to room 653 which we accepted (as one of us needed to work during the day).... Over the next several hours it became obvious we had made a bad choice as started to smell musty (not noticed initially as AC was set very cold)... it was too late to move that night so we asked to be moved yet again the following day... no room has got like this overnight - there is obviously an ongoing damp/must problem with this room...

So - 3 nights in 3 different rooms - one of them which was uninhabitable.

Staff dealt with things in a very understanding and friendly way, but as regular visitors here we don't feel the options presented (until the last night) were good... We would rather they would have addressed the noisy party and left us where we were...

Room Tip: Do not go with 653!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear floridabrits,

Please accept my apologies that this stay did not live up to the good experiences you have had here in the past. I really regret we were not able to find a good solution for you immediately, and that you ended up staying in three different rooms.

We will certainly investigate and address the concerns regarding room 653, thank you for your feedback.

Please reach out to me directly so that I may be of personal assistance in preperation for your next stay, we will make sure to provide you with an exceptional experience once again! My email address is matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here awhile ago but neglected to leave a review.
It was an excellent stay. The hotel is beautiful, as is usually the case with all Kimpton brand lodging. The service was excellent. Another brand standard, seemingly. One of the most comfortable bathtubs I've ever used as well! the on-site restaurant provided a great breakfast that I enjoyed very much. Also very centrally located at the end of King Street in Alexandria. I'd reccomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear dgustavson,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We honestly don't mind that it took a while for you to post it!

Thanks for the kind words about the service you recieved from the staff, it is certainly a priority for us at Kimpton.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

In the middle of sleepy, historic Old Town is a hip hotel with a very lively vibe. The lobby lets you know that you're in for a treat from the moment you walk in. It's very dog friendly; on a hot day, we always saw ice in the bowls of water set out for dogs on the street. The staff is lovely and as helpful as you'd expect at a Kimpton. The rooms are beautiful.

Room Tip: There's a lot of activity on the street at night, so if you're an early-to-bed type, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear janebeard,

Thank you for staying with us, and for providing this great description of the property. In addition to the ice water for our furry friends, we also keep a small refrigerator stocked with bottled water and iced wash cloths at the Front Entrance for our guests as well!

Thanks again and have a great day,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 3 lovely days here, again. The indoor pool is wonderful, the wine hour delightful and the puppy happy hour great fun. The dogs love the outdoor courtyard. The King Rooms (and above) have Fuji tubs which are their most outstanding feature. We stay here especially for the Fuji tub and the hotel's location in Old Town Alexandria. The Grape and Bean (across the street) is one of the finest pate and wine bars we have experienced.

Room Tip: The Fuji tub rooms are spectacular as is the Fuji tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Pattchase,

Thanks for coming back! We will make sure to keep a room with a Fuji Soaking tub waiting for you for your next trip!

Really appreciate the kind words, thanks again.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.