We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here awhile ago but neglected to leave a review.
It was an excellent stay. The hotel is beautiful, as is usually the case with all Kimpton brand lodging. The service was excellent. Another brand standard, seemingly. One of the most comfortable bathtubs I've ever used as well! the on-site restaurant provided a great breakfast that I enjoyed very much. Also very centrally located at the end of King Street in Alexandria. I'd reccomend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear dgustavson,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We honestly don't mind that it took a while for you to post it!

Thanks for the kind words about the service you recieved from the staff, it is certainly a priority for us at Kimpton.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    277
    77
    27
    15
See reviews for
281
447
79
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring MD
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

In the middle of sleepy, historic Old Town is a hip hotel with a very lively vibe. The lobby lets you know that you're in for a treat from the moment you walk in. It's very dog friendly; on a hot day, we always saw ice in the bowls of water set out for dogs on the street. The staff is lovely and as helpful as you'd expect at a Kimpton. The rooms are beautiful.

Room Tip: There's a lot of activity on the street at night, so if you're an early-to-bed type, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear janebeard,

Thank you for staying with us, and for providing this great description of the property. In addition to the ice water for our furry friends, we also keep a small refrigerator stocked with bottled water and iced wash cloths at the Front Entrance for our guests as well!

Thanks again and have a great day,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 3 lovely days here, again. The indoor pool is wonderful, the wine hour delightful and the puppy happy hour great fun. The dogs love the outdoor courtyard. The King Rooms (and above) have Fuji tubs which are their most outstanding feature. We stay here especially for the Fuji tub and the hotel's location in Old Town Alexandria. The Grape and Bean (across the street) is one of the finest pate and wine bars we have experienced.

Room Tip: The Fuji tub rooms are spectacular as is the Fuji tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Pattchase,

Thanks for coming back! We will make sure to keep a room with a Fuji Soaking tub waiting for you for your next trip!

Really appreciate the kind words, thanks again.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great Kimpton location. Very close to restaurants and DC. The area gets a little sketch at night but there is a decent amount of police presence, I presume for the tourists. The hotel itself is adorable. Front desk staff left more to be desired and the food was overpriced, even by room service standards. They advertised this amazing fried chicken and homemade macaroni and cheese but both we mediocre. Overall, clean and trendy:) I would go back simply because I love Kimpton!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear, Sunflouer,

Thank you! You know we love you too!

Honestly we apprecaite the feedback and will make sure to utilize it to motivate us in our efforts to continuously improve.

Safe travels!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Va.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A boutique hotel with lots of little extra touches that lift if above ordinary. Room and bath were clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful. Fun decor. Location is perfect and the price is right. However, this is a dog-friendly hotel - very dog friendly. If you're not dog-friendly, then don't stay here. Also, they serve free coffee in the lobby in the morning (and wine in the evening) but there is no coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear TFE,

Thank you for your business, and for sharing your comments here! We strive to be unique and better than your typical hotel experience, thanks very much for pointing that out!

We do have coffee makers available upon request to put into your room, next time you are here we will make sure to take care of that for you.

Thanks again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on the way back to Dulles for flight home. Same great Kimpton M.O.; Great location in Old Town, great shopping nearby, whimsical, modern and funky decor (loved the use of colours, turquoise in lobby and vintage red and greens in softly lit hallways. Our room decor was great too. This place is kid and dog friendly, without looking as though they are not keeping on top of it, as is often the case in hotels that offer good value and welcome all. Housekeeping was top notch. A lively happy hour for red or white wine is offered between 5-6 pm, along with fruit punch and goldfish crackers for the kids. The indoor pool was very nice, although oddly, they close it between 10 am and 2 pm each day. The valet staff are super friendly and efficient, as is the front desk staff. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will come back in spring or fall for a couple's weekend, sans our boy, to take in more local flavour and take advantage of the 15 min drive to D.C. Note: although this hotel is very popular for weddings (two every weekend, I was told by a staff member), while it got a little crowded in the lobby during happy hour, it wasn't off-putting or loud in the hallways in the evening.

Room Tip: The king suites are very spacious with a nice chaise lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Acornart,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We appreciate your business, and are thrilled that not only did it work well for your family, but that you will be coming back for a little getaway weekend this fall!

Please reach out to me if I can personaly assist in any way.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at other Kimpton hotels and this is absolutely my favorite (so far). Great location, great service and GREAT value. I highly recommend becoming a kimpton intouch member so that you get emails about deals that they have on rooms.

Beautiful room and very accommodating to us and our dog. Good restaurant, great room service (Luback was awesome), and friendly staff. Booking our next stay soon! Highly recommend for a weekend getaway in old town

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Namescharlie,

Great question! Seriously though, thanks for this wonderful post and for being a loyal Kimpton customer. We appreciate your business, and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.