We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Loved this hotel! The service was outstanding and the room was unique and everything we wanted. The location was walkable to Old Town and the free trolley got us to the metro in minutes.
Of course the complimentary wine tasting was a plus. We met interesting people both nights of our visit. Stay here when going to Alexandria!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Kathy53Usa,

Thanks for the review and the recommendation! Love it!

Glad you enjoyed your time here, thank you for staying with us.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    276
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
280
448
78
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week last year and I'm sure glad that this is the place I picked! It couldn't be anymore central in Old Town and the Metro is a pleasant 15 minute walk up the street (or the free trolly stops outside). The room was really big with a spacious bathroom to match and a quirky decor without being OT and despite my room being on the King Street side it wasnt noisy. Staff and service were top notch as they tend to be in the States and the food is excellent though the pool is a little on the small side.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear aleightonbrown,

We're happy you picked us too!! Thanks very much for takign the time to write this review and share your great experience at the hotel!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

They thought of everything at this hotel. Bright umbrellas (yes, I was excited about the umbrellas), cool towels and cucumber water as you walk in, a fun wine hour, a well-stocked mini-bar, and fun robes--this hotel was awesome! The rooms are well-appointed and decorated in a manner that is so much more exciting than your normal hotel. The staff was very friendly, and the only thing I wish I could have changed was my room location. Perhaps it was just the people staying near me, but my stay here was quite noisy. That being said, I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room down the hall from the elevators, as these rooms are not exactly sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear AmeliaEnglish,

Glad you liked it! Thanks for choosing us, and for sharing your comments here. We try to be unique and stand out from the typical hotel experience through personal service, interesting decor, and fun ambiance - thank you for appreciating that approach!

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'm a loyal Kimpton Hotel customer and was pleased that the quality of the Monaco was as expected. The hotel is super cute and the rooms and bathrooms spacious and well appointed. Given the prime location of this hotel, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone interested in staying in the Alexandria or greater DC area. Oh, and breakfast next door at Jackson 20 is great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear bonsuac,

Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton, and for staying with us this time! Glad you enjoyed the hotel!

Hope to see you again soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spacious room, decorated with whimsy and great taste -- one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in. A Mozart Rondo was piped in through the table top stereo when I entered my room - one of many a classy touch this hotel offers. Extremely comfortable bed but only gave sleep quality a three because noise from guests accessing the ice machine down the hall through the night interrupted my sleep more frequently than I would have liked. (Be sure to book a room as far from the ice machine as possible!) Attentive staff offered spot-on service. Wine tasting hour was a nice touch, really fun. What a great place in the heart of Old Town! Dog friendly, but because my dog didn't accompany me this trip, I booked a room on a dog-free floor. I will return again, and again!

Room Tip: Book a room as far from the ice machine as possible - it's very loud. You can book a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Erieite,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We apprecaite the comments about the decor of the hotel and most importantly the excellent service provided by the staff, that is our key to success for sure!

Great to hear you will be coming back as well.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our second visit. Great room and the staff is very friendly, do not think we have missed a wine social since day one. If you were to come to Alexandria, you would be losing out by not staying here. It is all about the location, they are central to the pulse of the town. Would do over and over again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mark K,

Thank you for making the point that guests would be missing out if they didn't stay here - couldn't have said it better myself!

Honestly thank you very much for the kind words and for coming back to see us again.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location is perfect, right in the center of King Street. The decor is colorful and lively. The service impeccable. Our check in staff were super nice and provided complimentary drink vouchers for the restaurant next door.

The room was spacious and elegant. The bathroom had marble floors and sink with black and white pin stripe wallpaper. There was a desk and a lounger sofa in the room along with a king size bed. The pool was nice, although a little more natural lighting would have been nice.

With there wine hour and unique feel, the Kimptons are a hard brand to beat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear aviatoradair,

Thank you for this wonderful review! And for recognizing the staff for providing exceptional service!

I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, please come back soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.