We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you have a dog, very good even if you don't” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great if you have a dog, very good even if you don't”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We don't travel with a dog (our cats prefer to stay at home) but were surprised at how many guests at the Monaco in Alexandra, VA had dogs, well - behaved dogs at that. I've since read that Alexandria is a very dog-friendly town and that many lodging places accept them.

I liked sitting in the comfortable lobby here watching the canines. When I say the lobby is comfortable, I mean it has couches that you literally sink into, wonderful side chairs, ottomans, and a cozy fireplace. There are toys for the kids in the lobby too. And did I mention there's wine at 5 p.m.? Very nice.

The only thing we were uncomfortable with was the size of the room. My husband and I are not little people. By the time we got our four bags and ourselves into the room it was snug. I like having a nice arm chair in the room. Not here. The furnishings and decor are avant European -- a large foot stool is the closest we got to a sitting chair. We thought we asked for a king-size bed, but got a queen. We let that go because it may have been our mistake.

There's no coffee pot in the room (European style, I guess) but there is coffee in the lobby. Don't look for any packaged sweet rolls for breakfast here, because there's no breakfast. I liked that because I don't find the "free breakfast" at most hotels all the good. Next to the Monaco there is a nice La Madeleine. And there's a pharmacy across the street.

The room and bathroom were very clean. We didn't get housekeeping every day because we left early each morning and returned around 4 p.m., just about the time housekeeping was getting around to us. That was not a big issue to me. I just mention it in case it is to others.

The desk was helpful and friendly, as were the doorman and staff. The first night the AC went on instead of the heater (it was cold). Maintenance was at our door within 2 minutes after we called and replaced the batteries in the thermostat. No problems with AC or heat after that. There is a free shuttle to and from Reagan National airport. When we arrived the shuttle was in the shop but the hotel paid for our cab ride.

The Monaco is in Old Town and is within walking distance to the related historic attractions and the Torpedo Factory. The station for the Metro into D.C. is about a mile away. The Old Town trolleys go to the Metro station but they don't start until 10 a.m. If you want to go into D.C. earlier than that, you either need to be prepared to walk a mile to the station or take a cab.

Next time we go to D.C. we will probably stay closer to the Metro station, not because we didn't like the Monaco but because we are morning people and like to go into the city early. Also, there's a great Whole Foods near the Metro station. We would have eaten every meal there if we'd found it sooner. The restaurants in Old Town are ok, but not as good as Whole Foods in my opinion.

Room Tip: Elevators tend to run a little slow so a room on a lower floor might be a good idea if you want to t...
See more room tips
Green Features: There was a container in the room for recyclables.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    278
    77
    27
    15
See reviews for
281
447
79
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting Washington DC. The location was great in Old Town Alexandria. Easy walk to tons of restaurants and shopping. CVS was across the street for anything we forgot to bring!
It's clean, very comfortable and nice service. Parking is $25 per day, whether you valet or not. That's the only weak point.
It's a 20 min. walk to the metro station, but there is a free trolley that runs down King St. from 11am to 11pm. We used that and the stop is right in front of the hotel.
I would definitely stay there again if visiting the city and surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had an attractively furnished double-double with a spacey desk and room to walk about. The good sized bathroom was stocked with soft towels and great make up mirror. As a Kimpton member (no charge) one gets free Internet and a $10 credit at the mini-bar. Parking ($25 per night) located under building. The reception staff was very polite and helpful. A relaxing wine tasting occurs in the lobby from 5 – 6.

This is a great hotel for people who wish to explore old town Alexandria: it’s a few blocks walk down to the waterfront. Stroll the historic cobblestone street of Captain’s Row, see houses from the 1700s and 1800s, and walk down a few blocks to a tavern for an evening’s entertainment.

Only negatives: Air conditioning was a bit noisy and no coffee in room - though one can get complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning and there are several places for breakfast within 2 blocks walk. Rooms were not cheap but, considering the location and convenience, worth the expense. I’d definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor to be further from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

You envision your wedding night as something you will remember for the rest of your life. Well unfortunately we will remember this one for all the wrong reasons. I will not bore you with all the details other than to say we had no air conditioning in our room. The way it was handled by the staff that night was very poor as they stated there was no engineer on site so there was nothing they could do about it. The engineer that came up the next morning said that was wrong and they should have contacted him and he could have walked them through it.
I have since spoke with the General Manager, Matt Huriburt, and in he was apologetic and said they have taken steps to ensure this type of situation does not happen in the future. After some discussion he decided to comp us for the room and offered a free night stay at the Kimpton Hotel in Vero Beach, FL. I really appreciate the General Manager stepping up I just wish it would not have been liking pulling teeth for him to extend this offer, as they were originally just going to comp the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Paul H,

Thank you for spending your special night with us, I'm so sorry that the A/C not working disrupted this occasion.

Thank you for speaking with me on the phone and I'm glad that we came to a resolution that you were satisfied with.

Take care and my best to you and your wife.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I live in Northern Virginia and we LOVE old town Alexandria! We decided to book the romance package at the Hotel Monaco for a night (on the weekend).

Check in: Wonderful! The staff was very welcoming and even offered us some free items from our mini bar as a special treat for our anniversary. Valet parking also ran smoothly.

Room: We have the King Loft Suite. It was AMAZING! Beautiful decor, very spacious. The bathroom was to die for. We LOVED the HUGE jacuzzi tub. Wow! Lots of lovely amenities in the room such as bath salts for the tub, comfy robes and more. If you are celebrating...then a loft suite or any suite is the way to go.

Package: It included valet parking, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and room service credit. The champagne was okay, the chocolate covered strawberries weren't as good as edible arrangements and the room service (breakfast) was just OK. I wouldn't recommend this package unless they upgrade some of the items.

Breakfast: We ordered a ton of food! All of it was just okay. The bacon tasted low sodium (which is fine, but I like my bacon salty). The eggs were just plain eggs, my husbands pancakes were nothing to write home about....

Overall: Loved the 5-6pm wine tasting. It was fun to people watch through the large windows. The wine was just okay. The staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable.

Complaints: The TV in the loft area had a hard time getting all the channels. The downstairs TV didn't seem to have a problem, but I wanted to enjoy my breakfast in bed with some news! It kept cutting in and out. For the price of the room, I should have complained, but hey... it was our anniversary and we were only there for one night. :)

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to tourist and locals. The location is superb and parking is easy to find (either valet or not).

Room Tip: We loved the king loft suite. The HUGE bathtub was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balitmorw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We really liked this hotel at first glance. It has a lot of style, the rooms are quite nice, and we enjoyed the outdoor courtyard. The location could not be more perfect for old town. However, we ran into some major problems and the staff and management could really seem to care less. And there were small annoyances - like the TV remote control and phone didn't work. I would say as long as your stay goes smoothly, this is a great hotel. But if you have any problems, do not expect any service from the front desk or management. We were incredibly disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear BTB233,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for the kind words about the look of the hotel and our location. I sincerely apologize however, that your stay did not go well and that you felt we did not react appropriately. This is very concerning.

Please contact me at your convenience at matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com and I will personally follow up as well as ensure everything is resolved to your satisfaction.

Thank you again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Hotel Monaco has a primo location in Old Town Alexandria, and meets all the standards of a Kimpton property - beautiful rooms, wine happy hour, etc.. What really sets this property apart from others are the staff. They go above and beyond to help guests with any special needs or requests. We experienced this with both the front desk staff on several occasions, as well as with the the bell staff and shuttle service. And rates are very reasonable given this level of service. And even though we didn't have a pet with us on this trip, I love the fact that this entire chain is pet friendly. And if you forget just about anything, they will get it for you. Great hotel in a terrific location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.