We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho-hum staff, nice rooms, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #7 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ho-hum staff, nice rooms, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at this property for the second time in early April, 2013. I like the Kimpton brand and this property is very well located in Alexandria. Rooms are nicely appointed, and the property is in overall excellent condition. On this trip I found the staff to be abrupt and lacking in professional attitude . Here's a few examples: Upon check-in the clerk asked if I had stayed at this property before (since I'm a member of their loyalty program you'd think she would know that but...) I said yes. Expecting a "welcome back" greeting I was surprised to just be told "well then you know we serve coffee in the lobby, but on weekends it doesn't start until 7." Whatever, but it did remind me I needed to request a coffee maker for my room. She said housekeeping was closed, but she'd leave them a note. No coffee maker even after a reminder the second day.

I was traveling on business and also asked the best way to get to the Metro so I could make a meeting on time the next day. She said the best way was just to take the hotel shuttle to the airport and grab the Metro there. She said it left every hour on the hour. I confirmed this twice with two additional staff members the next morning. When I was ready to leave for the 'airport' I was directed to the front door to get the shuttle(I was there on time or a bit early). When no vehicle showed up I asked the person at the door where the shuttle was. He asked where I was going. I said the airport. He responded "the airport, or are you just going to the metro?" I acknowledged I was going to the metro. He said he was the shuttle driver, but he would not take me to the airport because there were no other guests going to the airport. I complained at the front desk, and the clerk said I missed the shuttle. I tried to explain I did not miss it, the driver refused to take me. She chose not to understand my complaint and said I must have missed the shuttle. I took a taxi to my meeting and complained about the uncooperative shuttle driver later that evening and I was reminded it was available every hour on the hour and it was the best way to get to the Metro. Grrrrr.

Finally, while I will give this property another chance, I do believe the staff needs training both in customer service and in the Kimpton brand standard. On several occasions non-uniformed staff were working behind the front desk, very sloppy. The door attendants often stood idly by as guests struggled loading and unloading their luggage as well.

I know they can do better and hope they stop taking advantage of their great location and remember a poor staff reflects on more than a single property but the whole brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Route 162,

Thank you for staying with us, and for being a Kimpton InTouch member. I was really dissappointed to read your survey, as we are definitely better than this and I apologize for the lack of service you recieved. We're here to help, not point you in different directions and I regret that we didn't prove that in this instance.

Thank you for saying that you are going to give us another try, and please reach out to me directly at matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com and I will help ensure we provide you with the great experience you are used to at Kimpton Hotels.

Thanks again and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    747
    260
    72
    25
    14
See reviews for
260
434
77
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The moment you walk into the lobby the color scheme jumps out at you. It is definitely different and nice. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel is located on King Street in Old Town which has a free trolley and is only a mile from the Metro with full access to Washington DC. The area is loaded with shops and restaurants. Great place to stay while visiting the nations capital.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear sgt_33,

Really glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your visit to Washington, D.C.. You're right, the free trolley and the metro both help make it very easy to explore downtown while staying in Old Town!

Thanks so much,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is in a good location. Dog friendly. And nice for kids. Could be a bit better on service, but all in all a clean, vibrant kitchy place to stay. Emailed them a few days before and never heard back.

Room Tip: The corner room close to street level was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear ilovetravel218,

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments here. I'm dissappointed that we didn't respond to your email prior to arrival, if you do come back down this way, please email me directly and I will assist with anything you need - matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penndel, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time we stayed in Alexandria, loved it! What a dog friendly town (although we are cat people). Hotel was wonderful, quiet, extremely clean, best location in town. Even had a goldfish delivered to out room (Nemo). Emailed a few days before asking about a refrigerator and coffee maker, both were in the room when we arrived, a kuerig (my favorite). Would never know that dogs were present based on cleanliness and quiet. Go for the courtyard room, great outdoor balcony.

Room Tip: Courtyard room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Deb5564,

Thank you for choosing us on your first trip to Old Town Alexandria - we apprecaite your business! I'm glad to hear you really enjoyed your visit!

Hope you come back soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

booked at the last minute for a special occasion.,, we had an awesome stay, not a cookie cutter chain hotel, on a very active street with lots to do and see right down town ole Alexandria. It was a good choice, welcomed from the start to the end,,, with wine reception in a well appointed lobby, the staff were all on their "A" game it was perfect,,,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear bigcreek,

Thank you! I will pass along the "A" game comment to the staff and congratulate them on a job well done.

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay while visiting Old Town Alexandria.

Safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 5 nights over Easter weekend while visiting family. Very pleasant staff especially the doormen. Vibrant lobby for socializing with guests. Fun daily free wine hour in afternoon. Hotel decor unique. Large room and bathroom beautiful, neat and very clean. Beds comfy with plenty of pillows. Lighting good and nice magnifying mirror. Quiet and no bad odors anywhere. Best location for walking Old Town. Great people and dog watching. Nice pool but did not have time to use it . Small but suitable workout room. Used treadmill daily but a small fan would have be helpful. Hope to visit often and will not bother to check out any other hotels.

Room Tip: 4th floor. Good view for people watching on King St. No noise and we were right across from elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Nina W,

Thank you for your business over the holiday weekend and we too hope to have you stay here and not bother with any other hotels! Sounds like a deal to me! Please feel free to email me directly if I can be of personal assistance - matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com

Thanks,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel had it all. Great staff, loved the rooms, a step away to the free trolley and much more.

First, check-in was fast and efficient. The room was adorable, the bathroom large and love when it includes the mounted magnifying mirror, and the beds clean and comfy. The closet had 2 robes to use while there, along with a safe, and an umbrella. The A/C worked wonderful and I loved the stemless wine glasses that they put out with the ice bucket on a silver tray. The decor is boutique and funky. Loved it!!!

This is an animal friendly hotel and they have happy hour for pets with their owners. They also have a nice happy hour for guests in the lobby and you can also take your wine to the courtyard or your room.

Right across the street is a 24 hr. CVS and yes they sell wine and beer. The streets are lovely with all the brick buildings and sidewalks. They are tree lined with all the white lights at night all up King Street. Just lovely.

The free trolley starts at 11:30 am and runs to 10:15 pm. It has stops from the beginning to the end of King Street. There are trolley signs every couple of blocks. There is one across from the hotel just after CVS. It is about a fifteen minute walk to the beginning of King where the metro is located. The walk is lovely with many nice shops and bakeries.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was just great.

Room Tip: Stayed facing King St. and after ten it was quiet. I enjoyed a sax player until then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear momodjc,

This is wonderful - thank you so much! Especially for the kind words about our staff and the service they provided you. Glad you liked the decor as well!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.