We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet-friendly nice interior design in room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pet-friendly nice interior design in room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel offered wine and small snacks in the afternoon. ( Get there early or they do run out of snacks.) The rooms were new, clean, and well decorated. The surrounding area was great for walks. Close to the water. Staff was pleasant. Overall it is a go-to spot if you want something not too expensive that is well managed and pretty.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room so it would not be along the main road with traffic and people noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear sunny2528,

Thank you! Appreciate the kind words about the service, and we will make sure to load up on the snacks at our complimentary wine hour to ensure they last longer!

Thanks again and safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    294
    79
    28
    16
See reviews for
287
461
83
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

the hotel was fine. good service & a nice room. the only problem was the really noisy AC. the fan was really loud all the time and when the pump cut in it was worse. not a good nights sleep. only stayed one night or I would have asked for a different room

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Jackspratt27,

Thank you for staying with us, and for takign the time to share your comments here! We are in the process of changing out our A/C units in the rooms, I sincerely apologize that you were not able to sleep well due to the noise.

Please come back and give us another try, we can, and will, exceed your expectations!

Thanks,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We showed up on spring break for our pre-paid hotel reservation for two adults and two children. The hotel was over-sold and did not have our room. Not only did they leave us with two small children and no place to stay at 10:00 at night in a strange town, but they have yet to refund our prepaid hotel fee. The on-site staff that night didn't even seem to care, and although the manager has apologized he has not refunded our money. We have spent countless hours trying to straighten out something that was no fault of ours, and Expedia has been no help either. Won't use either again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Maija M,

I would like to express to you once again, my sincere apologies for our inability to honor your reservation, please know that we all do regret the inconveniences this caused you and your family. Certainly after a long day of travel the last thing you needed was to get everyone back in the car and go to another hotel, I'm very sorry this happened.

Hopefully, through our paying for your room at the hotel up the street, providing a complimentary night at the Kimpton hotel of your choice, and working with Expedia to get them to refund your money, you see our commitment to making this right for you.

We will see this through to the end and make sure that your refund is recieved.

Thank you for booking with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Thank you,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just stayed 1 night here and found the hotel to be very comfortable and in a great location to explore Alexandria. King Street has an abundance of shops and restaurants so you have everything on your doorstep. There is a free shuttle bus that will take you to the waterfront if you don't feel like walking. Our room was a good size with a lovely bathroom and It felt like it had recently been refurbished. The only criticism we had was the AC was noisy which was not great at night. However a good place to stay away from the bustle of Washington DC and we would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Pinklady041,

Thank you for staying with us on this brief visit through Old Town Alexandria, we appreciate your business! I apologize about the A/C unit, we are in the process of changing those out now.

Thanks again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Warm and welcoming!! They attend to your every need! Pet friendly so you get to see all these wonderful animals!!! AND after a long day of sight seeing, you can come back to a very nice wine reception and meet folks from all over the country!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Rtonrd,

Let's face it, we are "the place to be", right?! Thanks for staying with us and finding that out for yourself!

Safe travels and come back soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Monaco Alexandria from April 6-9, 2013, while visiting the D.C. area to attend the Cherry Blossom Festival. The rooms and the service were exemplary. Our room (653) was clean and well appointed. You can ask for a coffee maker in your room, but the hotel has complimentaty coffee and tea in the lobby every morning. Each evening from 5 to 6 pm, complimentary wine and sake are served in the lobby. That's a great time to meet other guests. There are also luxrious, animal print robes in your closet, just waiting to wrap you in soft warmth. The staff is WONDERFUL, friendly, and did not pressure us for tips!! In fact, we had to call out to our bellman so we could give him a tip for bringing our bags to our room, Doormen are stationed at the door to bid you a good day as you leave the hotel and to welcome you back when you return. The desk staff printed out directions for us, guided us on how the trolley and Metro operate, and answered all of our questions about local events and good places to eat. Once as I stood at the front desk, waiting the desk clerk to finish helping another guest, the manager walked over to me and asked if he could help me with anything. He was very friendly, introduced himself to us, and shook our hands. The hotel is convenient to everything! You can walk from the lobby to restaurants and shops nearby. Or you can catch the free trolley that runs the length of King St. all day to sites beyond the hotel. We rode the trolley to the King Street Metro station, about 13 blocks away from the hotel, to catch the subway into D.C. to visit some of the national treasures and to see the cherry trees in bloom. My only complaint is that our room had a very small window. I thought it was just our room, which was at the very end of two long hallways. But as we walked down the hall and looked into other rooms that were open while the maid cleaned, I saw that many of the rooms had small windows.This is a wonderful hotel, close enough to lots of sites, but a place to get away from the big city of D.C. when you want a quiet evening during which you can relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator. Otherwise, you could end up with a room at the end of 2 long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Theresa044,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review! It was a pleasure meeting you that day, I'm so glad you all enjoyed your time in Alexandria and Washington, D.C.!

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again next year for the cherry blossoms!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent two nights at Monaco hotel during Easter weekend and everything was perfect. As we are three, after the first night they moved us from a king room to a double queen one without any additional charge. The wine tasting during the afternoon is a nice complimentary service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Pernilla1970,

Glad you had a great time! Thank you for staying with us over the holiday weekend, and for sharing your comments here.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.