We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, soft spot for pets and little people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location, soft spot for pets and little people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed for business but was very pleased with the hotel. The location is in the heart of old town and about 20 minutes to DCA. The room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. The walls are a little thin but not particularly noisy.

One feature that really struck me as a differentiating point, there were a ton of dogs of all different sizes and they catered to kids/families. In the evening there were games and kids gathered around the fireside. They put chalk boards in the families rooms. They have chalkboards and books at check in. As a mom, it was really cool to see. It's a hip hotel that even us married with kids can enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear REDRENSINK,

Thank you so much! We work hard to welcome kids to the hotel and recognize how making them happy can make the parents happy!

Thanks for staying with us, hopefully next time you can bring the family with you!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    291
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
284
457
82
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Unfortunately, there were too many issues to review above 'average'. No clean towels at the pool, no safety equipment at the pool for young children (vest or floaties), lots of promises to deliver things that came up short (pool closed when signage stated it would be open, programs highlighted on marketing materials for children not available). A great location if you want to be right in Old Town, which is a great place to stay/visit. Very child and dog friendly. Wishing our stay would have been better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mackey66,

Thank you for your review, and for the kind words about our location and child-friendly approach. It is dissappointing to hear that we did not deliver on all of the amenities and services that would have made your stay more enjoyable however. I'm sorry about that.

We have purchased extra items for the pool and addressed the hours of operation as well, thank you so much for your feedback. Please do come give us another try when your travel plans bring you back to this area.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A poor experience overall and I would hesitate to book again on my next business or pleasure trip to the DC area.

I arrived late and the staff was too busy to greet me upon reaching the desk so I greeted them. I can overlook that - no big deal as otherwise nice.

Bar restaurant closed down by 11 PM so I just missed dining there. After checking into the room I can down and asked for recommendations off property for a quick bite or convenience store to grab some water and light food. Woman at the desk didn't know of any convenience stores or restaurants that might offer that - could only recommend bars. Ended up ordering room service which was fine.

Room was nicely appointed and comfortable.

Bedding was awful. A thin synthetic brown blanket covered by two white sheets to with side. No duvet and comforter. Not acceptable for this price of $250/nt and a supposed 4 star property. I thought Kimpton had standards for this? HVAC unit was very loud when it came on so I went back and forth being cold and hot until I gave up at 3 AM and asked for a comforter. Got maybe 3-4 hours of sleep before a long day of meetings.

I was polite but informed the FD agent of my poor sleep and general disappointment. She comp'd my food service but she should have probably comp'd the whole stay or given a credit towards coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear FamTravChP,

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your comments here. I apologize however, that we fell so short on this trip.

You are kind to overlook the lack of greeting by the Front Desk and inability to offer more appropriate dining suggestions, but honestly we are better than that and I'm sorry you did not recieve better service.

I agree with you regarding the compensation and if you would like to come back and provide us another opportunity to serve you, please contact me directly at matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com. It would be my pleasure to personally assist you and help ensure that we exceed your expectations from here on out.

Thank you again,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed the weekend as part of a SniqueAway special at the Hotel Monaco and had a fantastic time. The staff made the stay so much more enjoyable and memorable. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left each and every staff member was nothing but pleasant and happy to assist us.
Upon checking in we were offered our room pet, Ariel, a lovely goldfish, for the weekend. Our room was clean, bright, and we enjoyed the balcony - even if it was a bit on the chilly side. The afternoon wine hour was something to look forward to.
Overall, clean and comfortable rooms with a great location. The staff really makes the difference here - well done!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear sensitiveartist,

Great to hear the staff took such good care of you! Thank you for recognizing them here!

You have to come back when the weather is warmer and enjoy the balcony overlooking our courtyard, it's worth it I promise!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my second stay here. Both were for business and both were very pleasant stays. The front desk staff is very friendly, well informed of local attractions, and good food.

The rooms were spacious, well cleaned, and appealing. The beds were comfortable, had plenty of pillows, and covers.

The only issue I had on both trips was that there were 'additional' charges to my room when I checked out. The first, a bottle of water from the mini-bar which I made sure I did not have a key to. The second trip, a $100 parking charge. I flew in and never drove. Both issues were fixed quickly and without question prior to leaving.

Very nice place to stay, very accommodating staff, and a great location!

Room Tip: On my second trip, i had an easterly facing window on the sixth floor which provided an excellent vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Couchie_Flies,

Thanks for making us your hotel of choice while on business here in Old Town Alexandria! We very much appreciate your business!

I'm sorry about those two mishaps with the billing, we'll make sure to prevent any similar occurrences in the future.

Safe travels and see you soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with my husband for a business conference in DC. Loved the location -- easy to walk to a myriad of restaurants and shopping. Our room was great -- had a terrance but too cold to sit out there. We never returned in time for the wine reception but I had tried it in other Kimptons. I didn't like the fact that you have to travel to the lobby to get a cup of coffee in the morning or pay for room service. For business travelers, it might make more sense to offer a Keurig. Showerhead was broken and three calls to get it fixed all went ignored. Had to stand pressed against the wall to take a shower and broke my foot in the process. Their front desk needs training in attending to patron requests -- especially when asked three times! Oh yea, they did call me about it --four weeks later!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear drlearn,

Thank you for staying with us while your husband was in the area on business, and for the kind words about our location and the guestroom.

I'm very dissapointed that we didn't follow through on your requests to fix the shower however, certainly that was a huge inconvenience for you and I sincerely apologize.

Please reach out to me directly if your travel plans bring you back to the area, we will definitely make up for the shortcomings on this stay and can provide you with a Kuerig coffee maker in your room for your convenience as well. My email address is matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Thank you and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed five nights for a combined business fun trip. The service from the airport shuttle through check-in and room service was very good. Slightly on the expensive side but overall I would rate it as very good. Good size room. Decor is a mix of old and new. Some minor maintenance issues with the shower......maybe just didnt fit right with the last renovation. Restaurant was a little on the expensive side for the quality of food compared to some of the local restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear beitel,

Great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel from both a business and leisure perspective! Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Old Town Alexandria.

I'm sorry about the issue with the shower head, and for any inconveniences it may have caused you.

Thanks again and take care!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Booking.com, Otel, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.