We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hotel Monaco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Camden, DE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel Monaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was intimately nestled in the heart of Old Town. There was access to shops and restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel had a warm "old town" feel along with an eclectic atmosphere. The staff was ready and willing to help with whatever we needed. Our room had robes and a chaise by the window that I thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in. ONLY downside was this was a pet friendly hotel, which we knew ahead of time, and we could hear a dog or 2 barking in the hallway periodically. This did not dampen the stay one bit. Have never stayed in a Kimpton Hotel. I will look for them in the future. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be advised this is a pet friendly hotel. The lobby is fairly small, so head down to the wine hour a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear akiger,

Thank you for staying with us and it is great to hear that you will now look for Kimpton Hotels more often after this experience!

We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    324
    83
    29
    17
See reviews for
305
494
90
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Why would a hotel lock the mini bar on New Years Eve? Why would they do this after explaining to one of their Kimpton InTouch members at check in about the free $10 in mini bar charges they have available to them? We spent the better part of 9 hours on New Years Eve trying to gain access, it wasn't until after midnight that someone was able to locate a key and unlock it. This began when we checked into the hotel at 3:00 pm. We were told that the keys weren't available right now, but we'd be contacted when one was. We asked again at 10:00 and was told they're working on it. Finally, we asked a final time about ten minutes after midnight. We were finally handed a key, but it didn't work. Finally, around 12:45 one of the front desk employees called and came upstairs to open the minibar....a little late don't you think? Why was it locked to begin with? This room has two adults, no children, a pre-authorized credit card with plenty of availability. This cost Kimpton a lot of money tonight and two unhappy guests.

Once we've finally gained access, we've discovered that the minibar contains many toiletries, an ethernet cable, first aid supplies, etc. Maybe Kimpton should consider not locking their minibars for adults. If we're responsible enough to afford a room in an upscale boutique hotel, don't you think we can choose to make responsible decisions regarding our minibar? Come on Kimpton, you can do better than this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Lynn_and_Rob,

I am so sorry that you had this experience at our hotel the other night, please accept my sincere apologies. We have since recieved an abundant supply of extra mini-bar keys so that we have them readily available for guests upon check-in, I regret that we were not properly prepared for your arrival however.

We appreciate your business and hope to have another chance to provide you with the great service that we are capable of. I know you have been in contact with my team here and they have addressed your concerns, but if I can ever be of personal assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me at matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Thank you and Happy New Year!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at this property during an anniversary trip with my hubby. This hotel is well appointed and comfortable like a small boutique hotel. The complimentary wine hour was a great start to the evening..leading to a great dinner at the hotel restaurant of braised goat and plank salmon. Unfortunately we used our complimentary drink cards an didn't make it out on the town..but there were bars and lounges in abundance nerby. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear rodneytbond007,

Sometimes those nights when you are having such a good time you don't leave to explore other places are the best, right?!

Thanks for trying us out and glad to hear that you will be back!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I used to travel to Alexandria nearly monthly for work and have stayed in my fair share of hotels in the area. The Hotel Monaco is definitely my favorite for the following reasons:

1) Room - Nice clean room that you would expect from a Kimpton Property. Bonus: the towels are actually soft, there are outlets everywhere, good personal care products (including makeup remover), and did I mention clean?

2) Location - It's close enough to the King Street Metro Station, smack in the middle of Old Town, and across the street from a 24 hour CVS. What more can you ask for?

3) Hotel Perks - Free coffee and tea in the morning! Free generous wine reception in the afternoon! Worth hitting up before going out to dinner.

4) Restaurant - Jackson 20 is good restaurant, worth going to even when not staying at the hotel. This also means their room service is better than most.

It's a little new than the Morrison House (which is also a good hotel in Old Town) so if you're deciding between the two, I'd definitely go here for its great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Jaime P,

Great review I must say! Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments here, it is much appreciated!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This Kimpton is an excellent hotel & an excellent value. They are extraordinarily dog friendly -- a sleeping cushion and a doggie bag with treat and ball are hand-delivered to your room, among other things. (And, if you're allergic to pets, the third floor is off-limits to *all* pets, even goldfish.) The staff is well-trained, good at helping, and fun to talk with. Free wine from 5 to 6, free coffee tea and cocoa from 6 to 9 [and, for my wife, a French patisserie across the street for more substantial breakfasting]. One room up from basic, you get a balcony. Good rooms. Free internet, if you join their frequent flyer service (no problem). A dimmer in the bathroom means that you have an excellent night light -- this touch alone is, sometimes, worth it when you are batting around in the middle of night, especially if you have a midnight black dog sleeping randomly in your room ..... Safe and secure valet parking (& really cheap non-valet parking). You are in the middle of downtown Old Town -- great shops, architecture, restaurants -- pick your interest. Really, what is not to like? (Well, I have not been in any other Old Town hotels to make a comparison.)
(I really agree with the review of SheMakes3, although I have never felt the small lobby to be as small as she says. So, if I had her standards, maybe it would be a 4 star ....)

Room Tip: I'd upgrade one notch ($30, or if you buy the cheapest room you can enter a lottery to upgrade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Weyden,

Thanks so much for this fantastic review! "What is not to like" I tell you!?! This little hotel has it all!

Our complimentary wine hour can sometimes be crowded, but truth be told it makes me happy. People love enjoying a free glass or two and often find themselves talking amongst each other, it is a truly unique experience in the hotel industry, and one that really helps set us apart!

Thanks for your business and have a safe and happy new year's,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Monaco for the annual Scottish parade in Old Town Alexandria. The location of this hotel is superb. It is right in the middle of all the action and just a few blocks away from the Potomac. The hotel itself is very nice: well kept, large-ish rooms, nice bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and it had the feel of a small (which it is, at 6 floors) boutique hotel. I particularly liked the morning coffee.

Best of all, for us, is that the hotel welcomes dogs. I don't just mean that they allow dogs - they welcome them. There were water bowls outside, door hangers to note that your dog is inside, and the staff comments on your dogs. I would guess that 25% of the guests the weekend we were there had their dogs with them - everyone asking about your breed, etc.

The only downside to the hotel is the very small lobby - they hold a nightly cocktail hour but the lobby is so small it just feels like a crowd of people trying to get as much free wine as they can. Not all that nice. I give the hotel four stars for being very good at what it is - a reasonable, small, friendly hotel. If that is what you are looking for, I think the Monaco is a great place to stay in the DC area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear SheMakes3,

Thank you for staying with us for the Scottish Walk Parade! We love being a part of that event every year, and our location down here in the heart of Old Town Alexandria helps make us the place to stay for sure!

Please come back again next year!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASH, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall we were pleased with our stay. I did expect top notch customer service when in reality it was mediocre. Check in lacked some basics like a smile and an offer of information as to where to park, which key was for what and what direction was the elevator. I called room service for some towels only to have the towels never arrive after being told they would send up at 3 pm. By 6 pm we had showered and shared and we left for dinner. The room was nicely appointed with a queen bed, desk and flat screen. The mattress however was very worn out and needed replacing.We looked forward to our breakfast in the hotels' restaurant , Jackson but the menu was vague and dismissed explanation of what accompanied entrees. My $15 crab cake Benedict came sans the english muffin and none of the breakfast had so much as as an orange wedge for a plate garnish and left the visual flat and uninviting. Coffee was great. Service was excellent. If staying here again I would opt for breakfast in one of the many restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Chiefmom,

Thank you for your business, and for taking the time to share your comments here, we really do appreciate it!

It hurts to hear that we left out the smile at check-in! I'm very sorry about that, it is something that we stress all of the time because it really, truly makes a difference.

I apologize for the lack of helpful instructions at check-in and the delay in delivery of your requested items as well, we will certainly work on all of these items.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.