We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience at a Kimpton Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for $1
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another great experience at a Kimpton Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at this property during an anniversary trip with my hubby. This hotel is well appointed and comfortable like a small boutique hotel. The complimentary wine hour was a great start to the evening..leading to a great dinner at the hotel restaurant of braised goat and plank salmon. Unfortunately we used our complimentary drink cards an didn't make it out on the town..but there were bars and lounges in abundance nerby. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear rodneytbond007,

Sometimes those nights when you are having such a good time you don't leave to explore other places are the best, right?!

Thanks for trying us out and glad to hear that you will be back!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    775
    267
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
273
444
78
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I used to travel to Alexandria nearly monthly for work and have stayed in my fair share of hotels in the area. The Hotel Monaco is definitely my favorite for the following reasons:

1) Room - Nice clean room that you would expect from a Kimpton Property. Bonus: the towels are actually soft, there are outlets everywhere, good personal care products (including makeup remover), and did I mention clean?

2) Location - It's close enough to the King Street Metro Station, smack in the middle of Old Town, and across the street from a 24 hour CVS. What more can you ask for?

3) Hotel Perks - Free coffee and tea in the morning! Free generous wine reception in the afternoon! Worth hitting up before going out to dinner.

4) Restaurant - Jackson 20 is good restaurant, worth going to even when not staying at the hotel. This also means their room service is better than most.

It's a little new than the Morrison House (which is also a good hotel in Old Town) so if you're deciding between the two, I'd definitely go here for its great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Jaime P,

Great review I must say! Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments here, it is much appreciated!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This Kimpton is an excellent hotel & an excellent value. They are extraordinarily dog friendly -- a sleeping cushion and a doggie bag with treat and ball are hand-delivered to your room, among other things. (And, if you're allergic to pets, the third floor is off-limits to *all* pets, even goldfish.) The staff is well-trained, good at helping, and fun to talk with. Free wine from 5 to 6, free coffee tea and cocoa from 6 to 9 [and, for my wife, a French patisserie across the street for more substantial breakfasting]. One room up from basic, you get a balcony. Good rooms. Free internet, if you join their frequent flyer service (no problem). A dimmer in the bathroom means that you have an excellent night light -- this touch alone is, sometimes, worth it when you are batting around in the middle of night, especially if you have a midnight black dog sleeping randomly in your room ..... Safe and secure valet parking (& really cheap non-valet parking). You are in the middle of downtown Old Town -- great shops, architecture, restaurants -- pick your interest. Really, what is not to like? (Well, I have not been in any other Old Town hotels to make a comparison.)
(I really agree with the review of SheMakes3, although I have never felt the small lobby to be as small as she says. So, if I had her standards, maybe it would be a 4 star ....)

Room Tip: I'd upgrade one notch ($30, or if you buy the cheapest room you can enter a lottery to upgrade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Weyden,

Thanks so much for this fantastic review! "What is not to like" I tell you!?! This little hotel has it all!

Our complimentary wine hour can sometimes be crowded, but truth be told it makes me happy. People love enjoying a free glass or two and often find themselves talking amongst each other, it is a truly unique experience in the hotel industry, and one that really helps set us apart!

Thanks for your business and have a safe and happy new year's,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Monaco for the annual Scottish parade in Old Town Alexandria. The location of this hotel is superb. It is right in the middle of all the action and just a few blocks away from the Potomac. The hotel itself is very nice: well kept, large-ish rooms, nice bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and it had the feel of a small (which it is, at 6 floors) boutique hotel. I particularly liked the morning coffee.

Best of all, for us, is that the hotel welcomes dogs. I don't just mean that they allow dogs - they welcome them. There were water bowls outside, door hangers to note that your dog is inside, and the staff comments on your dogs. I would guess that 25% of the guests the weekend we were there had their dogs with them - everyone asking about your breed, etc.

The only downside to the hotel is the very small lobby - they hold a nightly cocktail hour but the lobby is so small it just feels like a crowd of people trying to get as much free wine as they can. Not all that nice. I give the hotel four stars for being very good at what it is - a reasonable, small, friendly hotel. If that is what you are looking for, I think the Monaco is a great place to stay in the DC area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear SheMakes3,

Thank you for staying with us for the Scottish Walk Parade! We love being a part of that event every year, and our location down here in the heart of Old Town Alexandria helps make us the place to stay for sure!

Please come back again next year!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASH, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Overall we were pleased with our stay. I did expect top notch customer service when in reality it was mediocre. Check in lacked some basics like a smile and an offer of information as to where to park, which key was for what and what direction was the elevator. I called room service for some towels only to have the towels never arrive after being told they would send up at 3 pm. By 6 pm we had showered and shared and we left for dinner. The room was nicely appointed with a queen bed, desk and flat screen. The mattress however was very worn out and needed replacing.We looked forward to our breakfast in the hotels' restaurant , Jackson but the menu was vague and dismissed explanation of what accompanied entrees. My $15 crab cake Benedict came sans the english muffin and none of the breakfast had so much as as an orange wedge for a plate garnish and left the visual flat and uninviting. Coffee was great. Service was excellent. If staying here again I would opt for breakfast in one of the many restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Chiefmom,

Thank you for your business, and for taking the time to share your comments here, we really do appreciate it!

It hurts to hear that we left out the smile at check-in! I'm very sorry about that, it is something that we stress all of the time because it really, truly makes a difference.

I apologize for the lack of helpful instructions at check-in and the delay in delivery of your requested items as well, we will certainly work on all of these items.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Md
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We attended a catered luncheon at the hotel hosted by our son, his wife, and her brother and his wife to celebrate the christening of our new grandson. The Bombay room was an excellent setting for about 40 and the room was well prepared. The staff was courteous and the food very well presented and quite tasty. In addition to this event, we have eaten in the restaurant - Jackson 20 - and have also been pleased with the dining room. The Monaco is a consistent performer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear JaimeDia,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Congratulations on the new addition to the family, thanks for sharing that wonderful experience with us!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjsmithnj
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We were really pleased with the Monaco- the hotel we stay at often in Arlington had raised its room rates to a point where we decided to look elsewhere. I found the Kimpton hotels on tripadvisor and decided to give it a shot. The hotel, the food, and the service exceeded my expectations and we will be back without a doubt, and are planning to try other Kimpton hotels as well. Decor was well done in the public areas as well as the room. I saw some reviews that mentioned the quality of the room furnishings, I can't determine why they were talking about. Our room was very clean, well appointed and exactly what they said it would be. Linens were very good quality, and the furnishings were as well. Customer service in the hotel was excellent and every question or request we had was answered without hesitation and professionally. I would compare it with any 4 star anywhere, and some that I have stayed in that were rated 5.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear cjsmithnj,

Thank you so much for trying us out! It is great to hear that we have helped introduce you to Kimpton as well!

Thank you for sharing these wonderful comments here about our hotel and most importantly our service, it makes us proud to hear that we rate high amongst the many hotels you have experienced and it is all do to our staff no doubt.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Otel, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.