We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent catered luncheon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Waldorf, Md
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent catered luncheon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We attended a catered luncheon at the hotel hosted by our son, his wife, and her brother and his wife to celebrate the christening of our new grandson. The Bombay room was an excellent setting for about 40 and the room was well prepared. The staff was courteous and the food very well presented and quite tasty. In addition to this event, we have eaten in the restaurant - Jackson 20 - and have also been pleased with the dining room. The Monaco is a consistent performer.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear JaimeDia,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Congratulations on the new addition to the family, thanks for sharing that wonderful experience with us!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    294
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
286
461
83
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cjsmithnj
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We were really pleased with the Monaco- the hotel we stay at often in Arlington had raised its room rates to a point where we decided to look elsewhere. I found the Kimpton hotels on tripadvisor and decided to give it a shot. The hotel, the food, and the service exceeded my expectations and we will be back without a doubt, and are planning to try other Kimpton hotels as well. Decor was well done in the public areas as well as the room. I saw some reviews that mentioned the quality of the room furnishings, I can't determine why they were talking about. Our room was very clean, well appointed and exactly what they said it would be. Linens were very good quality, and the furnishings were as well. Customer service in the hotel was excellent and every question or request we had was answered without hesitation and professionally. I would compare it with any 4 star anywhere, and some that I have stayed in that were rated 5.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear cjsmithnj,

Thank you so much for trying us out! It is great to hear that we have helped introduce you to Kimpton as well!

Thank you for sharing these wonderful comments here about our hotel and most importantly our service, it makes us proud to hear that we rate high amongst the many hotels you have experienced and it is all do to our staff no doubt.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is in a wonderful location with many shops, restaurants, bars, and nearby waterfront. The lobby is decorated beautifully. The only hiccup we had was slight and almost not worth mentioning. When I booked online, I had requested an early check in because we had an event to attend that evening. We tried to check in at 2pm and the receptionist said rooms were not available but took our number and said she would call when one was ready. 3pm (check in time) rolled around and no phone call as stated but my husband did get our room after that.
We thought the room was gorgeously decorated and it was definitely spacious. The balcony is really nice too but too cold to enjoy this month. Everything was clean, bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was enjoyable as well with a nice amount of space, good water pressure in the shower, and quality toiletries. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was timely and tasty. Sadly we did not get the chance to partake in the complimentary wine tasting. Love that the hotel is dog friendly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear rlwags13,

Thank you for staying with us! And thank you for noting our wonderful location here in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, we really are fortunate!

My apologies for the lack of follow up after your first encounter with the Front Desk, we should have followed through on that phone call as promised.

Thank you again and come back soon!

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I will bring this up shortly with the manager, but the advertisement boasts a "heated pool" with Saturday movie night at 8 PM. My husband and I checked in with our two children on a Friday. Overall, the experience has been great....except for the pool. First night, we entered a dark pool area with a life guard sitting in a darkened corner. The pool water was freezing. Next night, Saturday, we arrived at 8 PM, same situation, no people, no movie. Called the front desk at 8:10 PM, and was told "um yes the movie will start in 10 minutes". Clearly, no intention that the advertised movie was going to start. If this issue with the pool can be corrected, we will return.

Shawn McKay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Shawn M,

Thank you for bringing these issues with our Saturday night Dive-in movie to our attention, and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences it caused. We were obviously not on top of our game that evening and I regret that.

The pool heater is fixed and the staff are prepared to be more diligent on the start time of the movie as advertised.

Thanks for your business, we hope that you will come back again soon.

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Colorful lobby with vintage furnishings Quirky, yet classy decor. Very friendly staff. Complimentary wine tasting in the lobby at 5:00, a nice bonus. Centrally located in "Old Town", near all the action. Free parking in garage. Comfy bed and the rooms are delightful Modern furnishings and nice bath products. Lovely courtyard, great place to sit and enjoy your wine. Very clean and the service was top notch on a very busy weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Mama57-10,

Thank you so much for your business, and for sharing your comments here, we appreciate both!

Glad you liked the look and feel of the hotel, even more so the service you received from our staff as that is the most important element.

Thanks again and safe travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Pet and people friendly - love it ! Great hotel experience from the moment we walked in to the moment we checked out. If you plan to be in Alexandria stay at the Hotel Monaco, every employee is pleasant and professional and the location could not be better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear RMASanders,

Short and sweet - love it! Thanks for this great review and for staying with us! We appreciate your business!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Centrally located, this hotel rates very highly in customer satisfaction and location. Parking is expensive, but one is able to get free parking for at least 24 hours with a visitor pass. The hotel is ideally located to numerous restaurants and shops. Hotel is extremely dog-friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear PepperNewJersey,

Thank you for your business! Very kind of you to take the time to write such a great review of the hotel here as well!

Hope to see you again soon,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.