We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at a Kimpton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Give Yourself Some Credit
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at a Kimpton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I have been big fans of Kimpton hotels for more than 15 years. All of their hotels have a genuinely upscale flair, superb service and represent tremendous value for the price. And if you're a pet owner, this is one of the few chains that sincerely welcomes furry family members. Our border collie mix always feels special at a Kimpton.

Formerly a Holiday Inn, The Monaco has been transformed from a drab, generic facility into one of the nicest and most unique hotels in the DC area. Despite the building having some age on it, the rooms of The Monaco are near-luxury, large (our suite was 800+ sq. ft.!) and designed for comfort. The location on King Street is excellent, within walking distance of the neighborhood's best restaurants and shops. The Potomac is less than 8 blocks away, and DC is only a 15-minute drive away.

And, as with all Kimptons, the service is impeccable. The general manager was extremely responsive and generous with a special request we made before arriving, and everyone from the front desk to the doorman to the maintenance folks were sincerely friendly, polite and eager to help. This is the type of superior service you get at a five-star hotel. Yet the The Monaco costs much less.

We've stayed at almost all of the Kimptons in DC and Alexandria, and love them all. The Monaco in Old Town may be our new favorite, however. Everything about our stay was so close to perfect we can't wait to return.

Highly recommended for business travel, vacationing families and anyone wanting a great place to relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large, but the Mediterranean Suite is XL and X-tra wonderful. Some rooms have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear output555,

You are too kind - thank you so much for your wonderful comments here! We're glad to have been able to provide you with a great experience and hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    294
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
286
461
83
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Perfectly situated on King Street in the nerve center of Old Town Alexandria, this Kimpton Hotel is destined to be a TRUE GEM, but only if the staff really cared.
First, the shockers for us was that fact that while they are a pet-friendly hotel, it didn't mean (to us, at least) that we had to endure the cacophany and odor of 4-legged darlings. When we complained of the aroma to the front desk clerk, we were told "you realized, didn't you, when you made your booking that the hotel allowed pets!" That didn't mean I wanted to sleep with one...or the remnants thereof!
She finally moved us to a clean(er) room, and it was very enjoyable. The rooms were nicely decorated, rather large, but never could figure out how to gain access to the refrigerator or minibar, and the front desk couldn't locate a key to the locked cabinet for us.
Secondly, as mentioned in another post, while the decor is very comfortable, the functionality of the room is lackluster. No storage for bathroom items in the bathroom, and very little counter space. The closet is/was tiny, and filled with their robes (for sale at $125), ironing boards, luggage rack, etc. Don't bring a lot of clothes or expect to hang them up. But the real kicker for us...being the tech-geeks that we are...is that the room seriously lacked outlet plugs for phones, laptops, etc. Free wireless in the rooms ... with rewards program signup ....was nice, but otherwise not very business friendly.
Lots of good cafes and restaurants within walking distance, but parking was a steep $25/day! Ouch!!!

Room Tip: Rooms along King street pick up a decent (but not unbearable) amount of traffic noise. We're gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear SeaHorseCrossing,

Thank you for your business, and for taking the time to share your experiences here. I sincerely apologize for the response of the staff member at check-in regarding our pet friendly policies, it is simply unacceptable.

We are better than that, and although it seems you enjoyed the remainder of your stay, we would love another opportunity to provide you the high level of service we have become known for. Please contact me if I can be of assistance with future reservations, my email address is matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Thank you and take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Overall a nice looking hotel with some underlying flaws. First, the good stuff:
1) Looks splendid
2) Beds are super comfortable
3) 5pm wine reception are a nice touch, often taken advantage of
4) Not pricey given the high quality of rooms and furnishings
Cons:
1) Reserved for 4 guests, for one week. Given 2 towels, and grossly insufficient hangers. Inexperience perhaps?
2) Nowhere to hang hand towels in the bathroom. This might sime minor, but 7 days with little options outside of clumps of wet towels makes for compounding annoyance.
3) No closed storage in the bathroom; No drawers or cabinets. So, toiletries have no choice but to be out all the time. This is a design flaw, but irritating because it looks messy, and there's no way to remedy without packing into luggage.
4) Staff on checkout were.. curt, almost impolite. I can count on one hand the number of words that were said. Strange experience given the politeness and graciousness of others around.

Not to sound cliché or naïve, but staff seem to steal cash if left *inside* an unlocked safe. We made the mistake of leaving the safe unlocked one of they days we were out, and $100 went missing. Disappointing, but I guess it doesn't hurt to fill as many posts with this rational advice. Safes are meant to be locked, so keep them that way. Overall, would probably visit again, but will explore other options when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear fullgamut,

Thank you for your review and for your business! I think the complimentary wine will make everyone's 'pro' list it seems!

I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. We have many different room types in this hotel and some with more space in the bathrooms than others. I'm confident we can provide you with a room that would be more suitable on your next visit, and apologize for the inconveniences described during this stay.

Please reach out if I can be of assistance - my email address is matthew.hurlburt@hotelmonaco.com.

Thank you,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice - it's very clean, updated and in a great location - exactly what you would hope for in a Kimpton.

However, our stay was unnecessarily unpleasant due to the large-sounding dog in the adjoining room. We were awoken at 6:30 in the morning when the dog in the adjoining room began loudly barking in response to another dog in the hallway. It would have been bad enough to hear the dog in the hall, but the one in the adjacent room was even louder given the connecting door - which was bolted. Unfortunately the dog continued to bark intermittently during the rest of the morning as other dogs walked by.

When checking out, I mentioned that perhaps the hotel should consider having non-pet floors for guests without pets. In response the front desk person said that indeed they do have non-pet floors - but had no response to my question as to why this wasn't mentioned when we checked in - or there wasn't an assumption that people checking in without pets might want to be on those floors.

Unfortunately, what was meant to be a relaxing overnight visit to Old Towne resulted in us being awakened even earlier than usual.

Room Tip: Be proactive if you do not want to be awakened by pets by asking to be placed on a non-pet floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear FromWashDC1,

I am very sorry that your stay with us was disrupted by pets in nearby rooms. You are right, we should, and will reiterate to our staff, to anticipate our guest's needs and help find a room that is most suitable for them. After all, that is what we are here for.

Thank you for the kind words about the hotel, and for choosing to stay with us!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro Area
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is an OUTSTANDING hotel - especially for those with well-behaved pets! Kimpton evidently understands there is a gold mine in pet-friendly lodgings and capitalizes on it well. The pets we saw were all well-behaved, leashed and we didn't hear any barking at all during our stay. We did hear kids crying at night and screaming and yelling in common areas, however! :-)

Check-in was a bit bumpy - first room had a completely out-of-order A/C and the room temp was 85 degrees. Front desk clerk wasn't too sympathetic and wanted us to sit it out in the room and wait for maintenance to show up and try to fix it - no way! Initially she tells me there is no other option because they are "sold out" - I patiently stood my ground until she finally found us another room. That wasn't the best welcome. But once we checked in, it was great.

The room itself was spacious, clean and well-equipped. Bathroom was large, plenty of hot water and good pressure. There may have been a mini-fridge in the room but the cabinet was locked - so don't know what that was all about. Can't remember the last time I was in a hotel room that didn't offer a mini-fridge, even budget chains have them in the rooms - so that was a downer. No coffee maker either but the room did have a safe which was nice if you need it. The indoor pool was relaxing in the morning and had very comfortable loungers. It got kind of noisy later with lots of kids - the volume got to be a bit much for us but they all seemed to be having fun.

One other annoyance - the first set of front doors to the hotel are manual but the inside doors are automatic sliders. It's a bit of a hassle with people with pets, luggage, parents with kids in strollers, etc. to have to open up the outside manual doors every time. There are doormen but they are often busy with others, so it gets a bit clumsy with everyone trying to go in and out manual doors. Might be worth an investment for Kimpton to put in dual sets of automatic doors and may prevent an accessibility complaint from those in wheelchairs.

We had a small meal at Jackson 20 the restaurant associated with the hotel. Food was fine and the service was good. Location in Old Town was perfect. There is a le Madelline bakery right across the street for breakfast, or a Starbucks further down the block. Monaco (like other Kimpton properties) offers free wine from 5-6 p.m. and coffee and tea in the morning for a couple of hours, served in the lobby area.

All in all, we would stay again and would recommend to others, especially those with well-behaved pets who are looking for friendly and welcoming accommodation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear 2Travelers2go,

Thank you for choosing us! Appreciate the detailed feedback here as well, especially that which gives us something to work on. I apologize for the lack of A/C in the first room you were given, and for the perception of the staff that we weren't right on top of it to get you a new room. We will work on better responsiviness for sure!

We do have mini-bars in all rooms and coffee makers available upon request in addition to the complimentary organic coffee we offer in our lobby every morning.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we look forward to hosting you again! Please reach out if I can be of personal assistance!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Me and my partner checked into the hotel around 7pm that evening when I checked in I asked the young lady at the desk where would be a nice place to go eat with children there she just kept suggesting the restaurant. We checked in got comfortable but then had to move because we had some type of beast of a dog across the hall from us barking and all I could think of is this beast is gonna wake up my baby in the middle of the night. so we moved rooms. the bellhop that helped us do the move was great I dont remember his name but he was about 5'8 or 9 dark brown skin and a little older than the other ones i saw working at the hotel. The new room was great! we called the restaurant in advance to make sure they had space for us then headed down. Dinner was great I cant complain. now breakfast from room service wasnt it was terrible i had a country fried steak and i ate none of it. when you go try breakfast somewhere else maybe. but besides the doom service and the beast everything went good. I didnt feel special but I wasnt ignored either. Oh one more thing we headed to the pool while we were there and either the life guard was in the fitness center working out (tall male) he looked as if we were disturbing his workout with our questions. or they are busy still cleaning the pool an hour after it should be open and ready to go for your guest because we were ready to go but was disappointed we couldnt get in the pool that being one of the reasons i decided to bring my family there was because of the indoor pool that we never got into

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear ASmith342,

Thank you for choosing us, and for sharing your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that the stay did not get off to the right start, but glad to hear we were able to find you a room that was more suitable and that you enjoyed.

I will definitely follow up with the lifeguard company and our room service team to address the concerns you raised, thank you for bringing them to my attention. I may need some back up to deal with the 'beast' however!

Please do give us another try sometime as I know we can provide you with a great experience all around.

Safe Travels,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is my wife's favorite hotel! She loves the decor, the staff, the restaurant, and the rooms. The hotel is unique, clean, friendly, fresh, and offers some great package deals. It is in the center of Alexandria and walking distance to the nightlife and shoping. We've had excellent patio/balcony rooms and accessible rooms. This is a great getaway and wonderfully different hotel - and they cater to dogs. Everyone's dog has been well behaved and a delight to have staying in the hotel. The restaurant next door is delicious and a good value too! Go to the wine tasting!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms have small balconies and are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Gadsden390,

Thank you to you and your wife for making us a home away from home, and for sharing your wondeful comments here!

We at the Hotel Monaco Alexandria actually appreciate being called "different" (although our PR folks might use the term "Unique" instead!), we want to set ourselves apart from the traditional hotel experience! Glad you enjoyed it!

Take care,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.