We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade Your Stay
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersGold level
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great staff and great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here even though we're somewhat local because we had an engagement in Alexandria. We were glad we did. Our room was spacious and the decor was lovely. For me the outstanding feature was the bed - so comfortable!
All members of the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. There were a few children running around on our floor so we requested a room change in anticipation of a possibly noisy evening. (My husand's hot button - noise!) Michael was the manager on duty and he was very accomodating. I so appreciated that he did not try to change our mind and tell us it would probably be okay later,etc. We would most definitely stay at this hotel again. One tip would be to go ahead & become a member of the Kimpton InTouch. No cost to be a member, free wifi and you earn credits when you book directly with Kimpton. A Great Stay at the Kimpton!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear sharriewatson,

Thanks for your comments and congratulations on your engagement!! I'm very grateful for your kind words about our team, particularly Michael. I'll make sure they're passed along to everyone to celebrate.

Thanks again and we look forward in seeing you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    291
    79
    28
    15
See reviews for
284
457
82
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

AN upscale hotel with extremely friendly atmosphere in Old Town Alexandria. Service was excellent rooms spacious clean and all concerns covered. They even have doggy happy hour and a fish to keep you company in your room if you choose. The free wine happy hour in the lobby was also a great way to interact with guest if desired.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Renko1406,

Thanks very much for the kind feedback! We really appreciate the comments about our team, as well as the goldfish. We've got plenty of fish here, so come back and meet a new one!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

On the final day of our stay, the power went out in most of Old Town. This of course caused much annoyance and confusion for many of the hotel guests. At most hotels an "oh well - not our fault" attitude would prevail among the management, but at the Hotel Monaco, they stepped up impressively.

From having staff on every floor - in every stairwell - assisting with bags and other needs, to bringing in food and juices for patrons in the lobby, it seemed like every employee was called in to assist. They were friendly. helpful, and made every effort to help wherever they could. And while a lack of light and hot water didn't make for the best final morning of our stay, the staff did make the best of a bad situation.

Other then that incident, there isn't much I can add to all the other reviews. It is welcoming. comfortable, unique, and pretty much ever other positive adjective that comes to mind.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear rrakoczy,

Thanks so much for your kind words, we really appreciate the feedback about our great team. While Old Town Alexandria is a beautiful and charming area, one of the things we do get to contend with in a historic district is the occasional utility issue. But thanks to our staff, the show must always go on! Thanks for acknowledging their hard work, they truly enjoy what they do.

Come back soon, we'll keep the light on...

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed here when I was unable to get a room in Crystal City, for a business trip. It was a very nice option, with an evening reception that was well attended. The hotel was pet friendly, which was a nice option for some travelers (I didn't have my dog with me but it was nice to be around dogs). The room was very well appointed and there was a fruit basket to greet me. The only complaint was the heater was old and very clanky, but by the time I realized this, I was already snuggled up in bed so didn't want to change. However, I mentioned it to the front desk and they seemed like they would have done something to change rooms had I told them. I also enjoyed their very good coffee bar in the morning (complimentary). My room had a balcony that opened into the courtyard an had chairs so had it not been too cold, I would have enjoyed sitting out there to read.

Room Tip: Nice boutique hotel, well appointed; since it's an older renovated building, some rooms may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear MPW Annapolis W,

Thank you for your feedback. I do appreciate the comments about your stay, particularly the issue you had with the heating unit. We do have some units in our hotel that while they perform at a good level, tend to run on the noisy side. With our engineering team's support, we've been investigating alternative solutions. I'm happy to report that we've sourced a new unit and we've been identifying which units in rooms are noisy and switching them out. We hope to have it completely solved soon.

I do appreciate and agree with the tip to fellow travelers to check the room out completely before unpacking. It's our preference to have you completely comfortable rather than have an issue that negatively impacts your stay. Remember, if it seems a little off 5 minutes into the room it's going to drive you crazy at 3am.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My family has stayed at the Hotel Monaco several times through the last couple of years and each time has left us wanting to come back again. The hotel is charming, has loads of personality, and great rooms but its really the staff that makes us love it so much. To say they are service oriented is a complete understatement. Michael Conner at the front desk has gone above and beyond making us feel welcome and at home.

We love Old Town for its proximity to great shopping, restaurants, and of course DC and all it has to offer, and can't imagine staying at a hotel other than Hotel Monaco. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear kb13487,

Thank you for reaching out about your stay with us, particularly your kind words about Michael and our team. They're true professionals and we really appreciate everything they do for our guests.

Thank you for your loyalty, it means everything to us.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

A genuinely kind and welcoming staff that puts you at ease upon arrival, meeting any request or need you have. The rooms are unique and comfortable, creating an atmosphere that you want to stay and enjoy your surroundings. This is the only property my family will frequent when staying in Alexandria, Virginia.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear smwilmington,

Thank you, we love the idea of being your favorite hotel in Alexandria! Come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Rooms are very nice and generally clean (a little pet hair on the chair). The staff are warm and welcoming and responsive. The decor is fun. The generosity of morning coffee and afternoon wine is appreciated. The parking is less expensive across the street ($4 vs. $25). I would definitely stay here again. Alexandria is delightful.

Room Tip: The 5th floor was very quiet, especially away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Alexandria, General Manager at Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear ab1122,

Thanks for your feedback. I'm very grateful to hear your comments about our staff, apologies for the hair on the chair. We'll make sure our Housekeeping team discusses that during their daily lineup. Great tip about the 5th floor, if you want true privacy I recommend the 6th floor. It's got traditional Old Town dormer windows, which are unique to that floor, but it's extremely quiet. Thanks again and come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Monaco Alexandria - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monaco Alexandria, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that this Kimpton Hotel provides. The hotel aptly reflects its historically rich surroundings, adding contemporary comforts for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC’s many attractions. Conveniently adjacent is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.