We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor soundproofing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good location but poor soundproofing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2006

Room was good, staff was helpful. Short walking distance to metro station, a plus. Movie theater and restaurants within walking distance. Cons: poor soundproofing. Could hear people on either side, above, below. If you come here during a busy time, use earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    104
    46
    15
    15
See reviews for
81
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2005

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn location about a dozen times over the last 4 years, most recently in February 2005. There are several positive and negatives about this location. On the positive side, the location relative to DC is excellent with a Metro station at the end of the parking lot which gets you into DC in 20 minutes. Location is safe and I have had no problems walking to the hotel late at night while alone (I am a woman) or with kids. Also, there is a huge multi-plex across the street so if you tire of sightseeing or the weather is bad, the movies are right across the street (along with a Ruby Tuesday restaurant and deli). On the negative side, the food in the restaurant ranges from inedible to tolerable, particularly the breakfast buffet which is often inedible. Also, the hotel is popular with school trips and if you wind up on a floor with high school students (as I have on several occasions), the noise level is unacceptable until the hotel **really** cracks down which is about 11pm (unless you grab a chaperone and they quiet their group down). The front desk staff varies from very helpful to moderately rude but is more positive than negative. The indoor pool is great and well maintained. The gift shop is not worth the time so don't worry if it's closed, everything is terribly overpriced. Finally, request a room away from the ice machine if you need maximum quiet, although not unbearable, it is noisy.

The rooms are more than adequate with comfortable beds, good temperature controls for the AC in each room and bathrooms of comfortable size. The rooms with a king size bed come with a refrigerator and microwave which is helpful or those items can be requested if your room does not have one included. In every stay, I have found the room to be clean with clean linen and towels. All in all, I stay here because the location is extremely convenient (also close to Pentagon City Mall and Crystal City both on same Metro line and 10 minutes away), the value is good for the money (particularly if you reserve early) and safety.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2005

We (family of three) stayed here over spring break and were very happy with the choice. The rooms and beds were comfy and very clean and the staff was excellent; courteous, helpful and no bad attitudes. The free shuttle wasn't available from or to the airport when we needed it but the hotel promptly paid for a cab for us. The shuttle was available to Old Town when we wanted it and was convenient. We used our Entertainment card to book and for the price I don't think you can do better. Although the hotel is a bit removed from downtown DC the metro station just across the parking lot made it a non-issue. A pool for kids was also available.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2004

We stayed here last week and were not impressed!!! We were given a non smoking room that absolutely stunk of smoke and we were put on a floor with a bus load of 15 year old school kids!!! After trying to get my children to sleep I complained about the noise from kids running up and down the corridoors slamming doors. They told me there was no where to move to as there were schools on every floor of the hotel. To make matters worse the food was dreadful. The waiter moved buffet items around with his hands!!!! We were paying nearly $130 for this!!!! The more we travel the more unimpressed with Holiday Inn I become.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2004

Stayed for WW II destroyer reunion, September 9, 12, 2004.Room and staff were first rate. Food at banquet was exceptional. Metro station at front door connects you to everything. My car had a dead battery...The front desk even gave me jumper cables!!...Will be back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2004

I couldn't think of anything negative about our stay here. We stayed July 17-21 and then again on July 26th because we enjoyed our previous stay.

Great low rates and ideal location - the Eisenhower Metro Station was just a short walk across the parking lot and takes you anyplace you need to go quickly and easily. There's a large AMC Movie Theater just across the street, along with a Ruby Tuesday casual dining restaurant and a little ice cream shop called "Cold Stone" over there.

We packed light, so we were able to take advantage of the washer/dryers they have available on the 10th floor - and they even give you little boxes of Tide detergent for free! It was 1.25 each in quarters to wash and to dry.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. A/C worked just fine for a very hot and muggy July week. Staff was courteous. Free shuttle van to/from airport was convenient and available anytime we needed it, and drivers were friendly.

We would definitely stay here if we're ever in the DC/Old Town Alexandria area again.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands ranch, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2004

Am Priority Club member and could not believe the deal for this hotel. Went with my children 10 & 11. All meals for kids were free all week. My breakfasts were free all week, I got a free drink each night for free and $2.00 off for each dinner all week. This amounted to a huge savings. Thank god for indoor pool (heated) which after a day in the muggy DC weather was much better than going outside to cool off. Got a microwave and fridge for the room which for 7 nights was wonderful. The staff was very helpful and the Metro was just across the parking lot. I highly recommend this location especially with kids. Great prices, good not fancy food, indoor pool, and a truly wonderful staff. No request was too small and they treated by kids like gold.

Remember it is not 4 star food or rooms but my family was treated like stars and in the final analysis that is what makes a vacation memorable.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.