We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is situated in a great location. Just 100 meters from the train station and across the road from a group of restaurants. We took the metro train into the city every day to save driving. very easy to navigate the train lines once you know. we got a travel card and put money on it. this is the easiest and cheapest way to go.mask the station master for help,in getting one if you cant work it out. we did and he was more than happy to help.There is also a restaurant in the hotel where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very reasonable priced. We had a double bed room and it was quite adequate for our needs, we stayed here for 4 nights and the only thing is there is no guest laundry. It is easy to find as it is just off the highway. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    105
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
82
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

It's a Holiday Inn, not a Hilton, so it was pretty much what I expected. If you want a full service hotel for more than just sleeping or relaxing, not for you. It was clean. The restaurant was fine. When we arrived, there was a problem with our 4 day reservation, but the staff already had a resolution that was acceptable, and we aren't ones to get upset by little issues. Our AC was fine, unlike others' complaints. It was 99 outside during our stay, and that isn't usual DC weather. One of the elevators didn't work as well as the other two. Fitness center was ok. Machines were average. Indoor pool was ok. We would stay there again because the metro stop is right across the street. We didn't need a hotel to hang around in much so it was fine. There is a Ted's, Ruby Tuesday, Cold Stone, movie theater, a Chipotle style place, Quizno's, and Starbucks across the street. It's easy to cross, pedestrian friendly. Takes 20-25 minutes on metro to get to mall area and sites. Easy. Reagan is about 3 stops there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear AlyssaS532,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased to hear that our location and amenities worked for your needs. It is always hugely motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the elevators may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were supposed to stay Tuesday through Friday night, but the AC was broken and it was in excess of 95 degrees each day. On the second night the front desk said the problem had been fixed, but it was not. Also, internet did not work first night. After talking with a manager on several occasions they did comp one night of the stay and let us check out a day early without being charged. Felt like the hotel should have done more to accommodate its customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ryan A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed from Mon - Thurs. By Monday evening, the A/C went out. By Tuesday, there was no internet but I had an important paper to work on/research. The restaurant was out of fries but didn't inform me until after the rest of my meal was done and ready to be served. I called the front desk on Wed and was informed that the A/C was being worked on so it would be a few hours before I could feel it. Before the night was up, it must have stopped worked AGAIN. By the time I checked out on Thursday, the A/C didn't feel as if it was working. Government employees were entitled to free breakfast vouchers, but I had to go back to the front counter to ask for the vouchers. Had my colleague not asked if I received any, I wouldn't have known I was entitled to the government vouchers. The door to the room had to physically be pulled to close or my room would've been unsecured (I'm glad I just didn't walk away and checked my door).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Joyce J,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you have encountered particularly the room amenities, Internet service and the level of service you received. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay.

Again, thank you for your recent stay and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is fine for amemities however, the air conditioning hasnt worked for two nights and the front desk employees have not been honest about the extent of the problem or status of repairs. We are on te 5th floor, however the airconditioning is also not working in rooms on the 2nd or 8th floor.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear RRTourist,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you have encountered regarding the air conditioning system. Your comments have been forwarded to the respective departments and I am confident that our hotel will take the necessary actions to ensure that similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was in town for a conference at the downtown Ritz Carlton, and this was the only hotel I found on my company's travel website that was within the authorized, government-set per diem rate. The hotel was conveniently located one long-ish block from the Eisenhower Ave. Metro stop, and the total trip from Holiday Inn to the Ritz was about 40 minutes. Not the best in the world, but not bad.

I arrived early - about 8:30AM and parked in their rear parking lot - went to the desk and was greeted by a manager who I'm guessing is the one so vilified by other reviews. She seemed a little preoccupied, but verified that I had reservations and quickly completed a parking pass for me. I certainly don't know this, but I would guess the attitude reported elsewhere is a reflection of that of the guests.

The hotel carpets and some of the paint looks a little old, but that is my only criticism of the accommodations. The bed was comfortable, and the bath and shower were nicely appointed and well stocked. The room had a microwave and refrigerator, which I didn't use, but which are definite plusses in my assessment of hotel rooms. The TV had an excellent picture and a large number of channels. My room was quiet, despite the fact that there were numerous groups with teenagers staying in the hotel. My room was an even numbered room on the top (10th) floor with a view of the beltway (what did I expect?).

As I was tired, it was very convenient that the hotel had a full bar and adjacent restaurant. The bar didn't advertise the fact that you could order from the restaurant menu, but I was able to do so, making it very convenient to watch a baseball game on their excellent ~55" HD TV while having my dinner. I particularly appreciated the bartender, who (1) advised against ordering the fried calamari and endorsed ordering the cobb salad, saying that it was large and probably sufficient, then (2) intercepted the chef's salad that was delivered, sending it back and insisting on what I had ordered. As a 'by the way', he was also personable throughout.

As I initially said, the room rate was within the $249 per diem level (at $132 and $160 respectively for the two nights), and about 1/3 of the "special conference rate at the Ritz. There are a number of appealing restaurants a block away, which I will likely try in the future, and the hotel was adequate in condition, cost, services and location near a Metro stop. I suspect I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I am a business man, got invited to USPTO for attending the the 2014 National Inventors Hall of Fame ceremony. My company has booked the hotel for me and the room was guaranteed using my credit card. When my wife and I showed up at the front desk the front desk clerk told us that our room was not available because of the hotel was over-booked! The clerk offered us a room at a different hotel, which was far away from the event which we might not be able to attend! We asked for seeing the manager who never showed up. After standing at the front loby demanding to see the manager for bout half an hour, the clerk handed us the room keys! What an experience! and what on earth was the clerk was trying to do! Chasing the clients who had room guaranteed away to have a room for somebody else? I believe that this is not the policy of Holiday Inn, however, I would like the share my thoughts for some kind of correction, employee training. The incident was at the evening on May 20, 2014.

Room Tip: Need to have honest employees
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear HopNTrip,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your reservation. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.