We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cranky staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, cranky staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Our family met my college daughter here for a weekend together. She arrived early but was prevented from checking in to the room even though I had paid in full ahead of time. She waited in lobby for two hours until we arrived late due to DC traffic. The room was clean but a bit noisy. We could here most words spoken in adjacent rooms. The hotel is very close to a Metro stop. Easy Metro access is why we stayed here. Do not eat breakfast on site. It is bad. Cold buffet and tough snarly waitresses.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We understand and can sympathize with how frustrating it must have been after a long day of travel for your daughter to have not been able to check into your room that you knew to have been previously paid for. However, there are certain safety regulations that are in place for exactly that, our guests safety. If we can make a suggestion for future travels, it will allow you and your family to arrive and check-in a little more smoothly at this or the next hotel. Simply add your daughters name onto the guest room reservation and she will not have any issues.
Odds are, her name either wasn't on the reservation which means our front desk was simply following protocol and they are not allowed to check her into the room for your protection (you may know who she is, but our staff does not). Or we were full the night before and did not have a room ready to check her in to at the time of her arrival.

We do understand this process may be a bit inconvinient, however it truly is for your protection. It would be a fiasco if someone happened to get your itnerary and falsely checked in to your room before your arrival and our agents allowed this. It is simply a safeguard on our end to make sure that your reservation is checked in only by those listed on the reservation by name.

We do hope this extra information helps you for furture trips! After all, your satisfaction and enjoyment is what we truly want to ensure! Please do come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    105
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
82
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We chose this hotel primarily for its location near a DC Metrorail station (Eisenhower stop). It is, literally, only 1 block away so it was very convenient. We got in and out of DC everyday without any glitches. For those of you who had never ridden the DC Metro before (like us), after 1 ride, the route system was simple to understand. Recommendation: Buy the plastic fare card if you are going to use the Metro for more than a day. Paper fare cards are more expensive per trip. For a family of 4, we spent $40 in fare for a trip to the National Zoo. Still, it was still less expensive than if we would have had to park in DC and certainly not as convenient, considering the traffic getting around DC. There is barely any wait in between trains (5 mins or so).

Location of hotel: Felt safe to walk around the area, even at night. There is a movie theater and some restaurants just across the street. Recommendation: Ted's Montana Grill. Not cheap, but food and ambience were excellent. This is a resto we would go back to if we are in the area again. We parked our car right in front of the hotel, where it stayed the whole time we stayed (FREE parking).

Front desk: Polite and efficient. We were very pleased that they let us check in early (around 1:30 PM). Also, on one rainy day, they let us borrow 2 umbrellas so we could still go to the Smithsonian museums.

Rooms: Pretty small for a family of 4. The bathrooms were cramped but the actual shower/tub area is sufficiently-sized. We were pleased that the rooms & bath were VERY clean. Housekeeping staff were good and had left us extra coffee and tea when we requested.

Noise: This hotel is right beside a highway. However, the noise was minimal. Unless we paid special attention to it, we never even noticed the traffic noise. We specifically asked for a quiet room away from the common areas and they had honored our request. We are light sleepers and noise was not an issue for this stay. We got an odd-numbered room on the 9th floor (out of 10 floors).

Fitness room: Sufficient and clean. They had a few cardio machines and lots of free weights.

Indoor pool: This is another of our must-haves b/c our kids love to swim. They used the pool every night. It was open from 3 PM to 10 PM with a lifeguard. The lifeguard on duty on 4/15 & 4/16 did not tolerate rough-housing from a bunch on teenagers and made sure that the younger kids were not bothered, which we appreciated for our 6-yr-old's sake.

Hotel restaurant: We ate dinner at the hotel resto the one night it rained. It was nothing special but the convenience made up for it. Our favorite was the fries, hot and crunchy. Recommendation: Get a voucher for a free meal for the kids. Dinner kids meal is advertised as a little less than $5. But they also advertise that Kids Eat Free. I don't know why the voucher is needed.

Hotel breakfast: I have heard not-so-good reviews about the breakfast here, but I have to say, our experience with breakfast was EXCELLENT For an extra $6 tagged on to our stay per night, our family of 4 were able to eat breakfast. What a great deal! Adults get a hot buffet while the kids get to order from a kids menu. Everyday we had bacon, eggs, sausage, waffles, fruits, cereal, etc. Breakfast staff was so warm and friendly. Our favorite was Mobarek, who gave us extra attention and hospitality.

So, we will definitely stay here again. Worth the price and convenience.

Room Tip: Don't know how it is on the even side, but we had an odd-numbered room on the 9th floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We couldn't have asked for a nicer, more well rounded review from any of our guests. Thank you very much for all of your feedback and we look forward to your return in the near future! Please, let us know in advance when you are coming back so we can make your next stay even more memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is just what you'd hope for from a moderately priced hotel. It's located just across the street from the Eisnehower Metro station (about a 5-10 minute walk given the position of the station and the length of the stop lights) and the parking is free so it was great choice for our vacation to DC. The hotel was clean, the staff efficient and friendly with bonus points for the staff in the restaurant who went out of their way to get us some "kids dine free" coupons for breakfast that the desk staff forgot to give us when we checked in. The pool and gym seemed nice, though we didn't use them. Each bed in our room came with 4 pillows and there were four set of towels in the bathroom which meant we didn't have to make an immediate call to housekeeping. I wish the beds had been queen not full size though. My only complaint is that the parking was difficult to find one evening when there was a banquet event and we had to park under the freeway and walk quite a distance with our sleepy kids. Still, I can't complain too much about free parking. We'd definitely stay here again the next time we make a quick trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We do get busy during some evenings as a result of banquets, it part as a result of our complimentary on-site parking but we are glad to hear you did find a spot. The next time you come and stay with us, just hop on the hotel shuttle and we will be happy to run you over to the metro and you can leave your car right where it is! We can also pick you right back up from the metro when you return!

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here over our spring break and absolutely loved the stay. The customer service was exceptional. The restaurant staff was warm and helpful especially Wanda and mo. The closeness to the metro and old town Alexandria was great. Their shuttle service even would drive us places due to the rain (Manny the driver) was very helpful and gave us good family friendly advice for restaurants and sights. Facilities were very good for what we expected. We would definitely stay again with our kids.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Yes we love Wanda and Mo too! Their managers will absolutely be hearing about your comments! Come back again and let Manny drive you around wherever you wish to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longs, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My two teenage daughters enjoyed our stay here. The location of the hotel is great. The metro station is just across the road from the hotel, and we rode it into the city with no problems. Purchase a Smartrip card at the station, it's very easy to use. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance, although no drugstore or convenience store. If you want something quicker and cheaper for lunch or dinner, walk a little farther down Eisenhower Ave and there is a Subway restaurant. Also, the restaurant in the hotel had excellent food and the prices were very reasonable. The pool was nice and there was a lifeguard on duty. Now I want to say something about the bed bug review that was posted a few days ago. I don't know what "tested positive for bed bugs" means exactly. But I can say that the room was very clean. The mattresses and box springs encased in pristine white covers. I looked very closely at the beds and along the baseboards and saw no evidence of bugs when I checked in. This morning when we were packing to leave, I did see a small dead bug on the floor by the wall. I noticed when we were leaving that there was an exterminator spraying the hallway and a large hose running down the hall like they were cleaning carpets. So, in my opinion if there is a bug problem, they are taking care of it right away. I would stay here again. Location, free parking and free Wi-Fi made this hotel the right choice for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments- we do listen to everything posted here! The next time you're in town and looking for a great place to eat, let our shuttle drivers take you down to King Street. There are tons of great, cheap and quick places to grab a bit there and you will love all the window shopping you can do. It's a quick little ride on our hotel shuttle too.

We appreciate your comments about everything and do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a great hotel for families wanting to visit the D.C. area but not deal with the traffic. The metro is just across the parking lot. The property offers free parking and kids eat free for all meals. You are close to everything including a great movie theatre in case of rain. Our room was clean and the housekeeping staff was awesome. We paid for a discounted breakfast rate when we booked. The breakfast buffet was just fine for us. It had all the usual suspects including a waffle station. It was a great way to kick our morning off. If i had to give one negative feedback it would be the pool area, or rather the lifeguards there. These girls were not friendly at all. We do have two small kids but we didn't let them jump, run or yell in the pool area but the lifeguards just sat with a glare on their faces. It really made us not want to swim. It was very oppressive feeling. There were a few other families swimming as well and we all exchanged looks about the lifeguard. It was the one thing that kept me from giving the hotel a perfect score because for the value it was a great match for our family. The dining staff was wonderful and the front desk staff was as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback, specifically with regards to the lifeguards at the pool. While we do hire these employees out from another company they still represent our hotel while they are on duty and you can rest assured that your comments will be directed to the appropriate manager immediately to resolve this. We want all of our guests to be able to enjoy every feature we have to offer at our hotel and to feel you could not enjoy the pool due to an unfriendly and oppressive atmosphere is unacceptable to us. It will be handled accordingly.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in at least three occasions and and is very good to excellent. Rooms are vary clean and the staff is friendly. The location can not be beat as it is next to the Metro. Nice restaurant with a good breakfast buffet and friendly staff. On one occasion I used the hotel shuttle which was very convenient. The pool is nice and well maintained, Hotel does have some issue with outside cleanliness because trash can were overflowing. Hotel is starting to show its age. Over all not to bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
You're right, the hotel is an aging beauty but we like to think a beauty nonetheless and we are so happy to have loyal guests such as you continue to stay with us. We just celebrated the 45th year of this building as a Holiday Inn and couldn't be more proud!

Thank you for continuing to stay with us and we will aboslutely take your feedback to heart and strive to improve our performance each and everyday for guests like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.