We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel not quite worth the cost” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average hotel not quite worth the cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this Holiday Inn and had I not been lazy I would have moved after the first night. The facility is good and kept clean as were the rooms. The carpets were dated but otherwise the place was fairly well kept. Small (4 machines) but efficient exercise room and clean pool with lifeguard open from 3pm to 10pm. My problems began at bedtime. Had a room with 2 queen beds. Could not get comfortable on what was to me a too stiff mattress that felt like it was filled with straw. Four postage stamp sized pillows, 2 were firmer and 2 were softer.. just not big enough for this head. Shower would not drain so at the end I was standing in 5 inches of water. Called for help with the shower and with the front door not closing properly.. and went out sightseeing. Came back to find the door to my room left ajar. Very upsetting with all my traveling stuff and laptop left in the room. Luckily nothing was missing. The door STILL did not shut correctly and the next morning the shower still flooded. Called again and finally got someone who, with my directions, was able to fix the shower drain.

The Metro subway to all DC sites is VERY close.. about a 3 block walk. Go one stop to King St. and pick up the FREE trolley which will take you the 15-20 blocks down King St to the waterfront.

The town is great... just made for visitors. with a free trolley on King St. going end to end past a multitude of good restaurants and shops. It dead ends at the Potomac River where there are several boat rides available.

Took a 2 hour narrated boat ride to Mt. Vernon from there, had 3 hours to sight see there at the home and then a 1 hour trip back to King St. and take the trolley back to the other end of King Street where I was able to get on the Metro train for one stop back to the park near the hotel. Also took a 2 hour narrated boat ride to Georgetown past a ton of sites. You can get off and spend as much time as you like shopping/eating and then take the 1 hour return trip back to King St.

Room Tip: Try to get a King bed.. it's difficult.. they won't reserve them. Get there early in the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
You are right. There is no excuse for you not being moved to another room after finding your door slightly ajar on your first night here. Your situation was brought to the management's attention immediately after it happened and, while it does not help you after the fact, the employee that assisted you has been re-trained on how to handle situations such as these. Our sincerest apologies for all that you experienced during your first night here. This is not how we would have liked to present our hotel to you and it is not how we as a hotel operate. Obviously mechanical errors and malfunctions occur, however you should have been moved immediately to another room for the duration of your stay.

It is our hope that you would let us 'roll out the red carpet' for you and give us another chance to make the best impression possible. Please contact the hotel directly at 703-960-3400 and ask to speak to the Social Media manager so that I can discuss your stay in detail.

Thank you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    105
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
82
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Everything about this hotel was top notch. I stayed with my two children and felt completely safe wherever I went, including the short walk to the Metro. Also very friendly and professional staff. We enjoyed having a full breakfast to enjoy it offered every thing from fresh fruit to bacon and eggs. The hostess and service staff were great. I'd recommend staying here to anyone and I already have. Clean, Clean,Clean there was no second guessing did they clean properly. You knew they did looked great and smelled fresh also. All reports on this hotel are excellent. Honestly not one bad thing Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Every hotel staff I met during my five-night stay was very friendly and helpful. I was totally impressed by their hospitality! The hotel is about 3-5 mins from the metro; nice, easy walk, and there's no way you can get lost because you can see the hotel from the platform. It takes 25-40 minutes to DC, depending on your destination and the frequency of the metro.

The room had a fridge and even a microwave, and was kept very clean throughout my stay. The free wifi was sometimes a bit slow, but still okay. The pool was also nice and clean, life guard on duty, but sadly (and this is the only complaint I have about this hotel) it was open only from 3pm-10pm. Overall, however, I had a very comfortable, stress-free stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you, m_s_001, for your feedback on your stay with us! The staff at the Holiday Inn welcomes everything our guests have to say and try to extend our hospitality beyond just the moment you walk in or check-out of the hotel.

We would be remiss not to address your only complaint as it seems you did enjoy everything else. We did try and have longer pool hours but it seemed that the pool wasn't as popular during the day as we would have thought. Because the state of Virgina requires a lifeguard during the hours the pool is open, we returned to the original times of 3pm - 10pm which is what have been the most active hours for the pool, historically speaking. We are constantly monitoring our guest comments and feedback and, should we see an increased request for additional hours, we will of course adjust them again in the future. So thank you for letting us know you would appreciate longer hours. Your feedback has been heard!

Please come and see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We reached late at night, but, Staff members John Douglas and Michelle made us feel so good with their ready smiles and warm words of welcome. Check-in was handled with graceful efficiency. No detail was forgotten. All our questions were answered fully. The room was one of best we've been into. Wide, spacious, clean, and cool. The beds, the writing table, the lounge chair, and the chest-of-drawers with the TV on it, were so appropriately arranged that my wife and I never lacked for space to move around comfortably! The next morning Steve Worthy and Michelle helped with maps and routes and directions out of Eisenhower Avenue to Washington DC. Their advice was better than the GPS! We stayed a couple of nights. The housekeeping was close to immaculate. Just a small disappointment, though: the Earl Grey breakfast tea had not been replenished. Believe me, drinking Chamomile tea for breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. But, other than that, our stay was very satisfying. In one word -- an Excellent experience! Which all started with the enthusiasm of the Staff at the Reception Desk!

Room Tip: Choose a room nearer the top floors. The view is good. And, the street noise non-existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you thank you thank you for so many wonderful comments! We work very hard to make sure we hire and train only the very best in the industry and your comments show that we have done just that. Of course running out of Earl Grey tea in the morning is a problem and we will be sure to have plenty stocked in your room just for you the next time you come. Just give us a call when you book your reservation, let the Front desk manager know of your affinity for the tea and we will be happy to have some waiting for you when you arrive. This is a small detail and one we are happy to accommodate.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great place to getaway. Spacious rooms with big windows for a great view; efficient computer workspace; very comfortable bed. Great food in Dutch's Lounge. Also within a couple of blocks walk to other good eating places like Delia's, Montana Ted's and Ruby Tuesday. Pleasant staff at the front desk and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Dawn,

It sounds as though you were able to really experience everything our hotel and the surrounding area had to offer, from our guest rooms to the nearby restuarants. It is great to hear everything lived up to your expectations!

In this busy, hustle and bustle time we live in it isn't always easy to find a spare minute to leave feedback on a positive experience so please know we appreicate it very much when our guests do take that opportunity to do so. Please come and stay with us again when you are staying in the Alexandria area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Holiday Inn! The staff was very helpful, rooms were clean, & well appointed! This is a lovely suburb of DC! The location was perfect for us. We were right by a lot of excellent restaurants and the train was across the street. We bought a week long metro pass and used the train everyday to commute to DC!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It's true, how can you beat the ease of travel with everything so close to our hotel? With the metro, our free shuttle and the highway literally right outside of our lobby doors, each of our guests can be entertained for days while staying with us.

We are so glad to hear that you found this to be exactly true during your stay! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn is nextdoor to the Eisenhower Avenue Metro Station on the Yellow Line. There is direct service to Regan National Airport and into the city with the first in-city stop at L'Enfant station.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. One staff member saw that my father was ill and overheard us discussing going to look for a pharmacy. The staff member offered to let us use the hotel shuttle bus to get to a pharmacy. This was a really appreciated gesture and a sign of a great staff.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Parking was free.

I recommend this hotel for folks looking for a less expensive hotel, near the metro, outside of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We do hope your father is feeling better after falling ill while he was here. These are the kind of comments we love hearing about our staff, thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that you were well taken care of during your visit.

Please do come and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Alexandria area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.