We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Price Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here one night. Hotel is within walking distance from the Yellow Line Metro Station (Eisenhower Avenue Metro).
Hotel has on site restaurant and plenty of parking.
Lobby is being renovated-something about the AC...
Room itself was comfortable with 2 double beds.
Modern and clean.
Would stay here again!
Hotel offers free shuttle van service TO/FROM Reagan National Airport and its a quick trip-under 25minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! Please do come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    105
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
82
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It is right next to the metro station so once we parked for free at the hotel, we didn't have to drive anywhere. There is also a movie theatre complex/starbucks/coldstone/variious restaurants right across the street. The room wasn't bad, liked the microwave and fridge. Fairly tight room especially the bathroom. On the negative side, the roof was leaking in the halls and the lobby and hallways smelled very moldy/mildewy. The food service left a lot to be desired. We had dinner in the restaurant - food was mediocre and waitress had no idea what wines they had or knew anything brands etc. We ordered breakfast in the room and they hadn't even started making it at the time we needed it delivered. We cancelled that and went to the buffet which looked good but most if it was luke warm. There was a pretty good variety though. One night we got back late and tried to get something to eat in the bar. After sitting for 10 min with nobody helping us, we ended up driving to McDonalds. Front desk staff was wonderful - friendly and very helpful. Although it could use some improvements it was priced right and conveniently located.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
While we are happy to hear you were happy about our location, we are very sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We do our very best to ensure that everyone leaves with a smile and it appears we failed you in that regard.

While it is no excuse, our building is over 40 years old and sometimes during heavy rain storms, there are small leaks that occur. However, we are having the roof replaced in the very near future to avoid anything like what you experienced from happening to future guests.

Your feedback on our restaruant and wait staff has been passed on to our food and beverage director to be reviewed with the entire staff. Rest assured that we take comments such as these very seriously and use them as training opportunities to improve our team members.

We would love an opportunity to have you back again in the future and show you what a stellar property we truly are. If you are in the DC area again, please call us directly to book your reservation and we will be sure to do everything in our power to make sure you leave with a feeling of 100% satisfaction regarding your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
266 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are a priority club member so we got a free upgrade to a suite. Loved it. Had microwave and frig along with a large flat screen tv. Room was twice the size of a regular room. Quite and nicely laid out.

Tried the bar downstairs for dinner because it was pouring rain. Burger was good. Moist and juicy with great sweet potato fries. Server was nice and the beer was cold. That was enough to make us happy:)

It is just a one block walk to to the metro so it's easy to get into D.C. The metro also stops at Old Town Alexandria (just 2 stops away).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
In honor of the baseball season, which is still going strong, we rolled our a Beers, Burgers and Baseball menu. It sounds as though you had the pleasure of enjoying one of our great burgers while you were here! The sweet potato fries are a favorite among the locals and we are sure glad they didn't disappoint.

Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

As always I start off by saying that everyones experiance will be different (as you can tell from reviews) This is based on our stay.

Our son recently moved to Alexandra from another part of Metro D.C. - we travel from ATL often as possible to see him. We go to D.C. every 4th July. This was the frist time since his move to Alexandra that we have visited. I looked for a reasonably priced hotel as close to the Metro as possible, so I would not have to drive. The hotel is located across the street from the Eisenhower stop, which is three stops from REAGAN AIRPORT on the Yellow Line. Its also across the street from Hoffman Town Center, which is a Live, Work Play community with a 22-screen AMC Theater, a Starbucks, Ted’s Montana Grill, Ruby Tuesday, San Antonio Bar and Grill, Cold Stone Creamery,Galae Thai and California Tortilla, all within in a block.

The hotel lobby and rooms were nicely furnished and clean. The front desk staff was wonderful and very friendly. At check in the welcomed me as a Rewards member and presented me with a gift bag.

The hotel has a great restruant with a full buffet breakfast of Eggs, Bacon, Toast, fruit, Sausage, Muffins, and other Items for $12.99.

There is also a small bar that was opened late. - There is a small business center with computer, although we were able to connect to the free wifi on out tablets and smart phones. Although we didnt use it there is a big nice in door pool and a full workout room that was packed all the time.

Agian great hotel for us, will be staying again.

Room Tip: There is no good view, we asked for a room high up and over looked the freeway, was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We simply cannot wait to see you again! What a joy to hear such wonderful things about our hotel and of course, if on your next visit there is anything we can do to make your stay even better please let us know before you arrive. We would be more than happy to accommodate your request.

Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I traveled to washington dc from July 8- July 13 for a sightseeing/concert trip. I booked this hotel from travelocity.com after looking at reviews from different websites. It was about 15 miles south of downtown DC. There was free parking and a Metro station about a block down the street. The hotel was clean and quiet. There is a bar/lounge in the lobby which was pretty good. The breakfast is not free. It costs $6.95 for cold or $12.95 for buffet. It was pretty good. There are a few restauarants across the street for variety- steakhouse, asian, mexican, mediteranian. Also, the hotel has a shuttle van that can take you about 3 miles away (ex. Reagan National Airport or Old Town).- which has a lot of shops and restaurants. I did not use the pool or gym.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We do hope you enjoyed your stay and your concert while you were here Andrew! Thank you for leaving us a great review with all of the features both in and around the hotel. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My first time here back in 1994, the highways and bypasses were being built around this Holiday Inn, so it was noisy every day with workers and trucks starting at 6AM with the drilling and noise from the work trucks. My family had planned not to come back to this Holiday Inn.

Now, that almost 20 years had passed, we thought we'd try this place again, figuring all the construction is done. I have to say the only negative is that every night of my ten day stay is that We keep hearing cars and trucks driving by on the elevated highway. There was also that constant noise from not my air conditioner in our room but also everyone's air conditioners from my neighbors on both side of us. Problem is thin walls that you hear people talking as well as their TV. It kept us waking us constantly. We knocked on the walls and later in the day in the hallway, we told them we couid hear them. They apologized not realizing how thin the walls were. Rooms probably were the same walls 20 years ago, not insulated. Good thing bathrooms were updated.

I'm surprised that breakfast were not included in the high price We had to pay for the 10 day stay. Average out to be $159 a night. They wanted an additional $15 a person a day on top of that. We said we'll try the breakfast for 1 day. Good thing, what a rip-off! The so-called breakfast buffet was very small. You had to pay extra for a glass of juice or milk. There was a small heated container for rubbery eggs and bacon. The oatmeal was undercooked and runny with water. The few cut up fruit were canned peaches,canned pineapple, oranges. We ended up walking across the street to Starbucks for breakfast the other days where they have a nice inexpensive selections for breakfast (great oatmeal, breakfast sandwiches and good coffee for less than $5) I have to say the waiter (a short Indian man) who came to collect the check needs people skills. He was slow in getting us coffee and didn't appear until we had finished our breakfast and we waited a while for him to give us a receipt before we could leave.

But there were some good points which we gave an extra star...check in staff were very accommodating and helpful. Room was very clean with flat screen TV. Breakfast hostess was very friendly and helpful when the waiter wasn't present. Just a convenient 1 block walk to the Metro. Just 1 stop to Old Town Alexandria where there are great restaurants and shops to browse and eat.

Would We stay here again? We don't think so. We've been to better Holiday Inns up in DC and Arlington which were cheaper and included a sprawling buffet breakfast and only a few more stops on the Metro for Old Town Alexandria.

Room Tip: I had asked for a quiet room which this place has none since surrounded by highways. Rooms have thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience during your stay with us and we do understand that our hotel is not for everyone. It seems as though the noises of the city and the individual in-room temperature control units were not something that were agreeable to you and your family and again, we do apologize for that inconvenience.

As a full service Holiday Inn rather than an Express, there are some difference and one of those is the exclusion of breakfast. This does come as a surprise to some guests who are used to staying at our Express brand where breakfast is included. The good news is, however, we are working towards including breakfast in our rates in the future to avoid this confusion but we do not have a firm date on when this might happen.

Rest assured we do our best to accommdate guests from all walks of life and work hard to ensure everyone leaves with a smile. We obviously did not do that in your case and for that we are very sorry and wish we had the opportunity to resolve your issues prior to your departure. If given the chance, we would love to have you return and see that we can provide you with a superior stay. Your feedback is, however, very appreciated and we do take the comments to heart.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can still continue to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

They were very kind, helpful, and considerate. They always asked us if we needed anything or could they help us . Very respectful and polite. The room and hotel was clean. The breakfast was good and the atmosphere was great. I certainly would stay again. They made us feel welcomed.
The metro is across from the hotel, very convenient. Also there are a few restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Judy,

Every stay with us should be just how you described this past stay. Please feel free to call or email us after you book your next reservation so we know you are coming. We will be sure to have everything ready for you when you get here!

Something special for breakfast perhaps? Just let us know, we love to go the extra mile for our guests each and every time. Thank you for your wonderful comments, you are the reason we do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.