We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“washington, d.c. trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“washington, d.c. trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I traveled to washington dc from July 8- July 13 for a sightseeing/concert trip. I booked this hotel from travelocity.com after looking at reviews from different websites. It was about 15 miles south of downtown DC. There was free parking and a Metro station about a block down the street. The hotel was clean and quiet. There is a bar/lounge in the lobby which was pretty good. The breakfast is not free. It costs $6.95 for cold or $12.95 for buffet. It was pretty good. There are a few restauarants across the street for variety- steakhouse, asian, mexican, mediteranian. Also, the hotel has a shuttle van that can take you about 3 miles away (ex. Reagan National Airport or Old Town).- which has a lot of shops and restaurants. I did not use the pool or gym.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We do hope you enjoyed your stay and your concert while you were here Andrew! Thank you for leaving us a great review with all of the features both in and around the hotel. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    101
    39
    13
    12
See reviews for
74
42
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My first time here back in 1994, the highways and bypasses were being built around this Holiday Inn, so it was noisy every day with workers and trucks starting at 6AM with the drilling and noise from the work trucks. My family had planned not to come back to this Holiday Inn.

Now, that almost 20 years had passed, we thought we'd try this place again, figuring all the construction is done. I have to say the only negative is that every night of my ten day stay is that We keep hearing cars and trucks driving by on the elevated highway. There was also that constant noise from not my air conditioner in our room but also everyone's air conditioners from my neighbors on both side of us. Problem is thin walls that you hear people talking as well as their TV. It kept us waking us constantly. We knocked on the walls and later in the day in the hallway, we told them we couid hear them. They apologized not realizing how thin the walls were. Rooms probably were the same walls 20 years ago, not insulated. Good thing bathrooms were updated.

I'm surprised that breakfast were not included in the high price We had to pay for the 10 day stay. Average out to be $159 a night. They wanted an additional $15 a person a day on top of that. We said we'll try the breakfast for 1 day. Good thing, what a rip-off! The so-called breakfast buffet was very small. You had to pay extra for a glass of juice or milk. There was a small heated container for rubbery eggs and bacon. The oatmeal was undercooked and runny with water. The few cut up fruit were canned peaches,canned pineapple, oranges. We ended up walking across the street to Starbucks for breakfast the other days where they have a nice inexpensive selections for breakfast (great oatmeal, breakfast sandwiches and good coffee for less than $5) I have to say the waiter (a short Indian man) who came to collect the check needs people skills. He was slow in getting us coffee and didn't appear until we had finished our breakfast and we waited a while for him to give us a receipt before we could leave.

But there were some good points which we gave an extra star...check in staff were very accommodating and helpful. Room was very clean with flat screen TV. Breakfast hostess was very friendly and helpful when the waiter wasn't present. Just a convenient 1 block walk to the Metro. Just 1 stop to Old Town Alexandria where there are great restaurants and shops to browse and eat.

Would We stay here again? We don't think so. We've been to better Holiday Inns up in DC and Arlington which were cheaper and included a sprawling buffet breakfast and only a few more stops on the Metro for Old Town Alexandria.

Room Tip: I had asked for a quiet room which this place has none since surrounded by highways. Rooms have thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience during your stay with us and we do understand that our hotel is not for everyone. It seems as though the noises of the city and the individual in-room temperature control units were not something that were agreeable to you and your family and again, we do apologize for that inconvenience.

As a full service Holiday Inn rather than an Express, there are some difference and one of those is the exclusion of breakfast. This does come as a surprise to some guests who are used to staying at our Express brand where breakfast is included. The good news is, however, we are working towards including breakfast in our rates in the future to avoid this confusion but we do not have a firm date on when this might happen.

Rest assured we do our best to accommdate guests from all walks of life and work hard to ensure everyone leaves with a smile. We obviously did not do that in your case and for that we are very sorry and wish we had the opportunity to resolve your issues prior to your departure. If given the chance, we would love to have you return and see that we can provide you with a superior stay. Your feedback is, however, very appreciated and we do take the comments to heart.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we can still continue to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

They were very kind, helpful, and considerate. They always asked us if we needed anything or could they help us . Very respectful and polite. The room and hotel was clean. The breakfast was good and the atmosphere was great. I certainly would stay again. They made us feel welcomed.
The metro is across from the hotel, very convenient. Also there are a few restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Judy,

Every stay with us should be just how you described this past stay. Please feel free to call or email us after you book your next reservation so we know you are coming. We will be sure to have everything ready for you when you get here!

Something special for breakfast perhaps? Just let us know, we love to go the extra mile for our guests each and every time. Thank you for your wonderful comments, you are the reason we do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for Friday, July 5 thru Sunday, July 7th. In town for Nationals v Padres game on Saturday at Nationals Park. The hotel is directly across the street from the Eisenhower Avenue Metro Station----amazingly convenient. The Station, like all Metro stations, has free parking on the weekends but the hotel is so close we did not even need to move our car. Hotel parking was free and seemed plentiful.

Check-in on Friday was nice yet humid. There seems to be a real lack of ventilation in the common areas of the hotel including the lobby and the hallways. Elevator is a mite better; exercise room had no real ventilation and was a bit steamy when I visited on Saturday morning. Further the exercise room had no water in the water cooler and no towels available. Perhaps I got there before housekeeping had a chance to freshen up the exercise room for the day; I sure hope that was the case.

Room was nice. Two double beds with plenty of pillows and well-heeled air conditioning unit. Microwave and fridge on hand. Shower drain seemed to stop up when I was taking a shower; not sure why this occurred. Nice sitting chair and ottoman along with office desk and comfortable accompanying chair.

Breakfast was pretty good but probably not quite worth the $12.95 "special" rate. If you were inclined and able to go elsewhere for breakfast going elsewhere may be a better deal. Food was good; fresh fruit and nice selection--pineapple, grapes, cantaloupe, honeydew melon, bananas (one day only), oranges (one day only). Milk and yogurt were availalbe as were bagels, toast, and English muffins. Scrambled eggs on bar and the ability to have eggs cooked your way----I enjoyed my three egg whites on the second morning of my stay. Meat is the usual pork products--bacon and sausage. Apple juice, orange juice, and grapefruit juice were good too.

Interesting occurence on second day of breakfast: after being seated the male waiter took my breakfast voucher and proceeded to point to the "gratuity not included" language thereupon. I thought this was a bit forward and unusual. Ironically the waiter never checked on me and my brother to ask if we wanted coffee, specialty eggs, or anything. The only time he even visited our table was to remove my plate after we had spent about 25 minutes eating and were about to leave. You can imagine how this was acknowledged in his meager tip. Ironically the hostess actually asked me if I had everything I needed and when I told her that I wanted three egg whites she went directly to the kitchen and placed the order. Within 5 minutes I had my egg whites and thanked her for checking on us. This service snafu---the waiter not really waiting on our table----can be easily fixed.

All in all a pretty good stay. The air flow and quality in the common areas does need to be improved since the summer is upon us and it will only get hotter. Great, fresh, and clean property with excellent location. I will probably return as this was actually my second visit to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Greetings True,

Your invaluable feedback is so appreciated on our end! Yes, the summers do get very warm here, especially in the lobby and the air flow with the two doors that open on each side of the hotel make it difficult for the cool air to stay in one place. It has been an ongoing battle simply due to the design of the building itself but one that our engineers are working to resolve this summer in order to reduce the humidity in the lobby area specifically.

To address your question in regards to the fitness center, yes it is refreshed continuously throughout the day and since it is open 24 hours, it is possible that guests use the facility at all hours and therefore potentially deplete the supply of towels and other items prior to the morning housekeeping shift being able to refresh them. But we do know this is important and make it a priority to check all of the supplies on a regular basis.

Your concerns with the wait staff in the restaurant have been addressed with the appropriate manager and this is not typical of the level of service we provide to our guests. You can be sure that during your next visit you will experience no such awkward exchange. With that said, please let us know if there are any special touches we can provide for your next stay- we are always happy to go that extra mile if it means you will have a great stay with us!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Attention to detail by management and the helpful, caring and friendly staff made this an incredible stay for our family. Beautiful rooms, excellent food and staff in the restaurant. Close proximity to the Metro for easy daily visits into DC. Very nice pool area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Brian!

There is no detail too big or too small when it comes to our guests and we are grateful that you took notice of this during your stay.

Please let us know when you are planning to return so we can make sure to have everything just the way you would like upon your return! If there is anything extra we can do for you and your family during your next stay, we are just a phone call away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over the 4th of July. Great location for travel into DC without all the hassles of driving. Short walk to the Metro station. Hotel was clean and staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We came to DC with our two children for a full week for family vacation. We did not rent a car so having access to the Metro was of key importance. The hotel was priced much lower than most in the area and the Metro was only a few blocks away. It is a little shocking when you pull up to the hotel and see how it is literally surrounded by freeways but with that said we were thrilled with our stay! There was no outside noise in our room. The Staff were helpful and friendly, especially one cheerful gal in the restaurant that my kids and I just loved! The rooms were clean, comfortable and had free wi-fi and a mini fridge. There is a movie theater and restaurants across the street from the Metro station and you can get to and from the Regan International Airport right off the Metro. We bought a weeks pass on the Metro and were able to pack each day full of amazing sights!!! Would absolutely stay here again if we travel to the area. We did not use the pool or the gym.
Down side: Pillows were terrible and the pricing of the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
You're not the first guest who has been a little surprised at our location to the freeways of DC, but we have so much to offer in the way of accessibility to the regions many sites as a result and we are glad to hear that you found a handful upon your arrival. The free parking combined with the metro directly across the street really makes our hotel worth while.

We are working on the pricing of our dining room, but we are always open to suggestions for our guest rooms. Thank you so much for letting us know you are not a fan of the new pillows, your comments are appreciated and will be shared with not only the housekeeping department, but the general manager as well so we can use this information when making decisions about our soft goods in the future.

Please think of us when making your hotel arrangments the next time you and your family are in DC, we will happily provide you with a brand new set of pillows for your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn
Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.