We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Be Popular With School Groups = Lots of Noise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Must Be Popular With School Groups = Lots of Noise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have a feeling that my experience at this hotel on May 18th would have been good if I had been on a different floor or location. Here's what happened - I booked a King room with the prepay rate. Arrived around 5pm - so not long after check-in started. Desk clerk tells me "we don't have any King rooms, so we put you in a room with 2 double beds, is that okay?" How could it not be okay? I had prepaid and had no recourse.

Upon arriving on my floor, there were high school age kids in the hallway with an ironing board being used as a serving table as it had sandwiches on it. This is when I should have turned around and went back to the front desk.

My room was at the very end of the hall - room 501 - which meant only 1 neighbor. This is why I didn't turn around, because how much of a nuisance could one neighbor be? Plus, the room was incredibly clean. I will say though that it was quite stuffy, especially since windows don't open.

Went into town for dinner, came right back and it seemed as if all the school group kids were in the room next to us. Loud does not even begin to describe it. It was still somewhat early though, so we hoped it would eventually quiet down. Three hours later and it was still going on strong. A call to the front desk and I was told that we could not be moved as there were no available rooms, but someone would come and tell the kids to be quiet. I'm sure you already know how that went over. They got quiet for about 5 minutes and then were outside the door "ssshushing" each other as loud as possible and commenting to "not be loud! people are trying to sleep" in the loudest possible whisper.

After they grew tired of that, they decided it was a good time to shower. Who cares, right? Except this hotel seems to have alarmingly loud noises in the bathroom when someone in a neighboring bathroom turns the shower on and off.

Sometime after 1am I was finally able to get to sleep, but that only lasted until just before 6am when the noise started again next door! Granted, the little sleep that I did mange to get was better than my stay at the Courtyard Alexandria Old Town Southwest the week before, but still not great.

You should know that I always leave the "Do Not Disturb" sign on my room door at hotels. YOu need this fact for the next part of my review...

Check out for this hotel is at noon. The kids on the hall were long gone by then, thank goodness, and I was enjoying some coffee and quiet time in the room around 11 am when I heard the electronics engage in the door and the sound of someone inserting a key. There was NO KNOCK - NO ANNOUNCEMENT OF ARRIVAL - NOTHING. The next thing I knew someone was trying to enter the room. I had the little security thing on the door and they could not get in. Nevermind the fact that the "Do Not Disturb" sign is still on the door. I go open the door to see who it was and to confirm that the sign was still on the door. It was still there. And there was a member of the housekeeping staff literally running down the hall away from the room.

No one apologized or excused their entry. Instead they ran. Why? Was their attempted entry for nefarious reasons? Did they just assume that we were part of the group of kids that were gone? And therefore any valuables left in the room were ripe for the taking? Or, was the housekeeping person just a moron? It's really anyone's guess, but enough to make me never return to this location.

This was the second bad experience that I have had (in a row) with Alexandria area hotels. All I want is a place that offers a quiet place to actually get a decent amount of sleep.

In summary, here are the pros and cons of this place--

PROS: ---
-lots of free parking
-good location near metro stop, Starbucks and restaurants
-easy access off freeway
-free wi-fi that works well
-clean room
-room had a mini fridge and a microwave (at least the one they put me in did)

CONS:---
-cheap rates and good metro location = obvious favorite for school groups
-rooms gets a bit stuffy if the AC unit is not running constantly
-loud noises when neighbors turn on/off the shower
-housekeeping staff with possible nefarious intentions (why the running instead of apologizing?)
-event space on-site = possible loud late night noise from wedding receptions, etc. (yup, experience this too but it stopped before the kids noise next door)

The lot for the metro station next door has free parking on weekends and is $7 during the week. On my next visit to Alexandria, I will stay elsewhere and drive to the metro station and pay the cheap parking fee. You may want to consider that as well.

Room Tip: ice machine is LOUD - request to be away from it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experiences during your stay here. Your review has been received and is being taken very seriously. Please know that this is not an automated response, we do not generate those at this hotel. We take all feedback very seriously and the experience you had is not a typical stay for any of our guests. Everything you have mentioned is being reviewed from the top down to ensure that it does not happen again. While we obviously cannot fix your stay, we want to ensure no other guest has anything close to what you experienced happen again.

Please feel free to contact us directly because we truly do want every one of our guests to feel they were taken care of 100% during their stay. We would love a chance to speak with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    105
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
82
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel was very nice and convenient to local ammenities. The shuttle drivers were extremely helpful and willing to take us anywhere we needed to go and was happy to come get us when we were ready to go back to the hotel. The breakfast was great and overall, I would stay here again! It is convenient to the Metro also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Come back anytime Kendra! We love reviews like this and it goes without saying that a little praise goes a long way. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave such a great review on our hotel. You can be assured that it has been shared with all of our team members who played a part in making your stay an enjoyable one!

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed one night in Alexandria and picked the Holiday Inn for it's location within 15 minutes of the airport. Treated very nicely at reception. The room was clean and quiet. Got a burger from room service and it was excellent. Kept the AC running all night as I like a cool room and it also keeps out any unwanted noise. It was quiet in the room even without the AC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi Dave-
Please do come back again the next time you are in Alexandria! Thank you very much for your feedback and wonderful review, it's always so nice to hear the great comments left by our happy guests. Our Baseball, Beers and Burgers promo has been a big hit and we have several different types of burgers to choose from. If you're a burger fan, you won't be disappointed-

We look forward to your return Dave and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location. Quiet. Beds have some kind of rubber-like pad under the sheet which makes it hot when you sleep. My husband left some clothes in a drawer and called to see if they had been found. We never got a call back, but when we stopped by at 10pm that night, someone went up to the cleaned room and found them still in the drawer! Yuck.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Oh dear! It appears that we had a major oversight with your stay and for that, we absolutely owe you an apology. Your comments have been seen and will be heard and reviewed with the departments that are responsible please rest assured of that. Oversights absolutely happen from time to time and of course we strive to ensure they do not occur often. Every once in while things do slip through the cracks and we do our very best to recover when that happens.
Thank you very much for letting us know that this situation occurred so we can make sure it does not happen again.

It sounds as though some of our features simply weren't the right fit for you and while we cannot fix it for this stay we can absolutely resolve them for your next stay if you give us that chance. The bed, for example, can have the topper removed if you let us know that is not a feature you would like in your room. Please do let us know the next time you are in town, we would love to try and have you leave here 100% satisfied with our hotel.

Thank you again for all of your comments, we appreciate knowing exactly where we can improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here one night and found it to be a 100% positive experience.
The desk staff was great. The hotel and room were very nicely appointed. The room was exceptionally clean and well kept.
Truly a great experience!
Highly recommended!

Location has very close access to many freeways! Very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you!! You are why we are here and we love hearing comments like yours! Please do come back and visit us again very soon, we will be looking forward to serving you and your family again and giving you another 100% positive reasons to keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel has a shuttle and they were always willing to take us to
Old town and were also helpful coordinating our return trip to the airport. They also took us to other places close by such as a grocery store. That along with a nearby Metro stop make the hotel at a convenient location. The only negative comments we could make are no free breakfast like most hotels have these days and the decor was a little outdated. All in all it was a pleasant stay and we would come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for such great comments! Because our hotel is located in what could be described as a 'business district', we understand our guests will have other needs besides access to the metro, which simply can't stop at a store if you need something to snack on. Our shuttle drivers are an important part of our family here and are absolutely willing to go out of their way to get you where you need to go to ensure you enjoy your stay and have everything you need to make your vacation a great one!

Please let us know when you're coming back and we will have our best drivers waiting at the airport to pick you up! It's what we are here for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If your only concern is a decent hotel close to a Metro station, this is it. However, it's not close to anything else, isolated by highways, exit ramps and office/apartment bldgs. Almost nothing within comfortable walking distance except for a small cluster of restaurants across the street from the Metro. That being said, the hotel is your standard Holiday Inn. The staff were all helpful and courteous, the room spacious enough with a microwave (that had to be plugged in) and small fridge. Housekeeping was a bit erratic as we had to have a hair dryer replaced, which was done quickly, but the old one sat for three days and wine glasses for two. Breakfast is good, and one can have eggs cooked to order, but there's no juice on offer. There's a free shuttle to Reagan airport leaving every hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for comments and your honest feedback. We take everything our guests say seriously and work hard to address any issues that arose during any stay and it sounds as though you may have had a less than stellar performance by the staff while you were here. This is far from the standard we set for our employees and by no means what we expect our guests to experience while they are here.

With that said, please know that all of your comments will be addressed and seen by the appropriate departments to ensure that future guests do not experience the same inconveniences. While this may not fix your stay, we do hope that you will give us another try in the future, we would love to have you back!

Yes, we are a hotel primiarily designed for the businesses in the surrounding downtown Alexandria area however, let us know when you're coming back to town and what you are interested in and we will be more than happy to have our shuttle take you to the 'locals only' areas that will surely show you a side of Alexandria that is beautiful and unlike any other region in the United States!

Thank you again for your feedback, as with anything what we don't know about we cannot improve upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.