We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel - fine, location - meh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Bartlett, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel - fine, location - meh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If your only concern is a decent hotel close to a Metro station, this is it. However, it's not close to anything else, isolated by highways, exit ramps and office/apartment bldgs. Almost nothing within comfortable walking distance except for a small cluster of restaurants across the street from the Metro. That being said, the hotel is your standard Holiday Inn. The staff were all helpful and courteous, the room spacious enough with a microwave (that had to be plugged in) and small fridge. Housekeeping was a bit erratic as we had to have a hair dryer replaced, which was done quickly, but the old one sat for three days and wine glasses for two. Breakfast is good, and one can have eggs cooked to order, but there's no juice on offer. There's a free shuttle to Reagan airport leaving every hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for comments and your honest feedback. We take everything our guests say seriously and work hard to address any issues that arose during any stay and it sounds as though you may have had a less than stellar performance by the staff while you were here. This is far from the standard we set for our employees and by no means what we expect our guests to experience while they are here.

With that said, please know that all of your comments will be addressed and seen by the appropriate departments to ensure that future guests do not experience the same inconveniences. While this may not fix your stay, we do hope that you will give us another try in the future, we would love to have you back!

Yes, we are a hotel primiarily designed for the businesses in the surrounding downtown Alexandria area however, let us know when you're coming back to town and what you are interested in and we will be more than happy to have our shuttle take you to the 'locals only' areas that will surely show you a side of Alexandria that is beautiful and unlike any other region in the United States!

Thank you again for your feedback, as with anything what we don't know about we cannot improve upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    105
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
82
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were looking for a convenient hotel near Reagan National Airport at the end of a pleasure trip to DC and Virginia. The room was spacious and quiet. Unlike some Holiday Inns this one has an in house restaurant that provided good though not exceptional food. It was easy and that was what we were looking for. The staff were helpful with our stay and with arrangements to go to Mt. Vernon and Alexandria which are both nearby. The hotel is near the DC metro and so this makes all of DC accessible. The hotel runs a shuttle to Alexandria, Va. which also nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello Seattle! Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel! It sounds as though you had a great vacation here in the DC area and that our staff was able to make the time you spent here enjoyable. If only we could bring Pike's Fish Market a little closer, we would be set! :)

We do hope that you come and visit again soon and please, give our restaurant another try as we do rotate out the menus quite often. If there is a specific dish you might want to suggest, please feel free because our General Manager loves incorporating home cooked meals and just may take your suggestion to heart! We are on facebook and love hearing from our guests.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times for business, but this trip was vacation with two of my children. This is a nice Holiday Inn, very clean, quiet rooms. Decent food at the restaurant, but there are multiple restaurants across the street, as well as a movie theater. The hotel has free shuttle service to the airport and Old Town Alexandria. The Eisenhower Metro Rail station is across the parking lot, which is important if you are coming to enjoy the sights of Washington, DC. You will not need a car to get around with the Metro located so closely.

My only complaint is with the indoor pool. The hours are only 3pm to 10pm, which is not convenient if you have kids and want to swim early in the day. The reason for these limited hours is because the hotel employs a life guard. I understand that a hotel may want to reduce their liability by hiring a life guard, but this life guard made the pool experience bad for my boys. Within seconds of arriving, the life guard spoke quite harshly with my boys about the rules. Within five minutes he was yelling at them for some minor infraction (probably running). I know that rules have to be obeyed, but his tone was very harsh. One of my boys flipped into the pool when I wasn't looking, and guard came over to me and said, "Did you see that? He just flipped! He could have hit his head!" As if I was somehow a bad parent for not controlling their every move. He then harshly chastised my son for the flip. I kept an eye on the life guard and saw his face periodically scowl while shaking his head. The end result is that my boys did their best to have fun, while I sat outside the pool nervously watching them to make sure they didn't do anything more to evoke the guard's ire. The hotel should either forget having a life guard, like most hotels, or hire one with a more pleasant demeanor who doesn't destroy the fun of being at the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
First, thank you very much for bringing the situation of the pool and the overly cautious lifeguard to our attention. While we do care for our youngest guests and their safety, it goes without saying that everything can be done with a smile, including keeping everyone safe and sound in the pool. This will be addressed with the outside lifeguard company that we use. Without your comments, we would not be aware of what is occuring and so for that we thank you!

Secondly, we have received a lot of feedback about the pool hours and we are very pleased to announce that we have changed the pool hours to allow for more time in the water! The pool is now open from 10am - 10pm thanks to guests like you who took the time to let us know what they would like to see us offer. We know that this does not change the experience you had during your stay, but we do hope that you will come back and see us again and of course bring your kids with you to give the pool another try!

Please feel free to join us on facebook and give us a shout when you're coming back so we can have the 'red carpet' rolled out for your arrival. We would be honored to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was attending a conference in Washington DC, but found the conference hotel too expensive, so I stayed here.

The room itself was basic, but clean. Not much of a view, unless you like freeway ramps. There is a refrigerator and a microwave, free wi-fi and plenty of channels on the TV. No free breakfast (a buffet will set you back about $10-15). The freeway outside was a little noisy late at night (trucks), but nothing that the TV or air conditioner couldn't drown out.

The hotel is a five-minute walk away from the Metro (tip: if you are staying more than a day, buy the SmartTrip pass for $5). There is a small shopping center with several restaurants and a movie theater. No problems walking in the neighborhood any time of day or night. The hotel will shuttle you to Reagan Airport or Old Town Alexandria.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your honest and fair feedback of our hotel, it sounds as though you were comfortable during your stay and we provided a nice alternative to a downtown stay during your conference. Yes, the hotels downtown do get quite pricey especially during conference season and we're glad to hear that you were able to stay with us and still attend the meetings that you were in town to attend.

If you're in town again and prefer to drive around rather than use the metro, we now offer a Room and Ride package that allows you to book your room and Enterprise rental car will arrange a car for you directly through the hotel at a discounted rate for the duration of your stay. Just a thought for your next stay if this is something that might interest you next time you're in town.

Thank you again, we truly appreciate the time it takes to leave feedback and love hearing from our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is located right at a busy intersection and has weird entry/exit for vehicles, so be aware of that if you're driving. While the location was perfect for my needs (5 minute walk to the Eisenhower Ave Metro [yellow line] and walking distance from the USPTO), there was nothing else that was really excellent about the hotel. It's right next to 495 and even up on the 9th floor, the rush of traffic on the Beltway was audible all night. The staff was welcoming and the small bag of water/granola bars was a nice touch, but the tub/shower was in need of an update, or at least a good recaulking. The beds are also REALLY HIGH. I'm not sure if that's just in the King rooms, but I'm 5'8" and had to climb in! A "good value" in the DC Area (especially during what was originally forecast to be peak bloom of the Cherry Blossoms) but since everything in DC is WAY overpriced, take that with a grain of salt!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, we can only improve when we know how our guests feel. Your comments pointed out something that is very true about the entrance to our hotel, we do have our own unique, private entrace that is accessible from many different directions! Some would say we are so accessible we are almost inaccessible if you're not paying attention. We hope it didn't cause too much confusion upon your arrival.

While we get a lot of positive comments about our new pillow top beds, we know that they may not be the best for everyone. Please let us know the next time you are coming becuase we would be more than happy to accommodate you with a small step stool that would help if you would like this assistance. We take pride in making sure each and every guest is taken care of personally and if we have missed the opportunity to have you leave with less than anything but 100% satisfaction, we want to fix that in the future.

Your time is important to you and taking time out of your schedule to leave honest feedback is important to us. Everything you have said will be shared with the entire staff to ensure we don't miss a chance to improve our hotel in the future. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again the next time you're in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided to save some money by staying in Alexandria. We saved a lot on gas by using the metro that was just steps away, and free parking makes up for the metro fare! We didn't move our car once after we parked at arrival. The Eisenhower Metro Station is just steps away and it takes, give or take 30 minutes to get into DC (Smithsonian Station), and you only have to switch over lines once. It wasn't bad at all!
This hotel couldn't be in a better location. Across the street was a Starbucks, AMC Theater, Cold Stone Creamery, and a few more restaurants. We would walk over each night and have dinner and ice cream and bring our leftovers back to the room and put them in our fridge. The area is quiet and we always felt safe because we saw many policemen patrolling the area. The hotel was very clean and up to date, and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure you were having a great stay. The cleaning crew did an excellent job in the room each day. We were always restocked with coffee, soap, towels, etc... I can't comment on the heated pool or food because we never used the pool or ate in the hotel, but everything looked wonderful!
The only cons would have to be that the bathrooms are a little small for 3 or 4 adults, and my bed was a little lumpy, but it didn't even matter after a long day touring DC! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to save money and wanting to be in a calmer area than DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
There really is nothing better than Cold Stone is there? It's a favorite among many of our guests and the location just can't be beat! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful comments!

Please do come back and visit us again soon! We'll save a parking spot for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was for a DC trip and I tried to save some money by staying in Alexandria. Don't do it.I paid just under $200 for one night and it was a hard bill to sign. For a family of 4; you're looking at $24 a day for the Metro so factor that into your hotel budget. Parking was free so that helped. You are right next to a major freeway interchange although road noise isn't too bad. It was clean but pretty tight on the amenities such as cups in the room.

A huge disappointment was that the pool didn't open until 3:00. There's a Starbucks within walking distance but I needed to get some warmer clothes for the kids and had to spend an hour in traffic going to the mall in Tysons Corner. According to the front desk; there wasn't anything closer. I would not stay there again as the ROI was average to poor. Next time I would spend more to be in D.C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Desti5117.

Thank you so much for your comments. I am delighted you liked our parking service and convenient location. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced caused by the room amenities and hotel facility you experienced during your stay. Rest assured we will address this and I hope when you return you will see improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.