We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in every way.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Dexter, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average in every way.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is located right at a busy intersection and has weird entry/exit for vehicles, so be aware of that if you're driving. While the location was perfect for my needs (5 minute walk to the Eisenhower Ave Metro [yellow line] and walking distance from the USPTO), there was nothing else that was really excellent about the hotel. It's right next to 495 and even up on the 9th floor, the rush of traffic on the Beltway was audible all night. The staff was welcoming and the small bag of water/granola bars was a nice touch, but the tub/shower was in need of an update, or at least a good recaulking. The beds are also REALLY HIGH. I'm not sure if that's just in the King rooms, but I'm 5'8" and had to climb in! A "good value" in the DC Area (especially during what was originally forecast to be peak bloom of the Cherry Blossoms) but since everything in DC is WAY overpriced, take that with a grain of salt!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, we can only improve when we know how our guests feel. Your comments pointed out something that is very true about the entrance to our hotel, we do have our own unique, private entrace that is accessible from many different directions! Some would say we are so accessible we are almost inaccessible if you're not paying attention. We hope it didn't cause too much confusion upon your arrival.

While we get a lot of positive comments about our new pillow top beds, we know that they may not be the best for everyone. Please let us know the next time you are coming becuase we would be more than happy to accommodate you with a small step stool that would help if you would like this assistance. We take pride in making sure each and every guest is taken care of personally and if we have missed the opportunity to have you leave with less than anything but 100% satisfaction, we want to fix that in the future.

Your time is important to you and taking time out of your schedule to leave honest feedback is important to us. Everything you have said will be shared with the entire staff to ensure we don't miss a chance to improve our hotel in the future. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again the next time you're in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    105
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
82
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided to save some money by staying in Alexandria. We saved a lot on gas by using the metro that was just steps away, and free parking makes up for the metro fare! We didn't move our car once after we parked at arrival. The Eisenhower Metro Station is just steps away and it takes, give or take 30 minutes to get into DC (Smithsonian Station), and you only have to switch over lines once. It wasn't bad at all!
This hotel couldn't be in a better location. Across the street was a Starbucks, AMC Theater, Cold Stone Creamery, and a few more restaurants. We would walk over each night and have dinner and ice cream and bring our leftovers back to the room and put them in our fridge. The area is quiet and we always felt safe because we saw many policemen patrolling the area. The hotel was very clean and up to date, and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure you were having a great stay. The cleaning crew did an excellent job in the room each day. We were always restocked with coffee, soap, towels, etc... I can't comment on the heated pool or food because we never used the pool or ate in the hotel, but everything looked wonderful!
The only cons would have to be that the bathrooms are a little small for 3 or 4 adults, and my bed was a little lumpy, but it didn't even matter after a long day touring DC! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to save money and wanting to be in a calmer area than DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
There really is nothing better than Cold Stone is there? It's a favorite among many of our guests and the location just can't be beat! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful comments!

Please do come back and visit us again soon! We'll save a parking spot for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was for a DC trip and I tried to save some money by staying in Alexandria. Don't do it.I paid just under $200 for one night and it was a hard bill to sign. For a family of 4; you're looking at $24 a day for the Metro so factor that into your hotel budget. Parking was free so that helped. You are right next to a major freeway interchange although road noise isn't too bad. It was clean but pretty tight on the amenities such as cups in the room.

A huge disappointment was that the pool didn't open until 3:00. There's a Starbucks within walking distance but I needed to get some warmer clothes for the kids and had to spend an hour in traffic going to the mall in Tysons Corner. According to the front desk; there wasn't anything closer. I would not stay there again as the ROI was average to poor. Next time I would spend more to be in D.C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Desti5117.

Thank you so much for your comments. I am delighted you liked our parking service and convenient location. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced caused by the room amenities and hotel facility you experienced during your stay. Rest assured we will address this and I hope when you return you will see improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'm so glad we decided to stay at this hotel. It was a first trip for my granddaughters 9 & 11 and I was apprehensive about getting around DC with them. We were able to walk from the Metro Yellow Line with luggage in 5-7 minutes to the hotel door. The front desk offered a shuttle but the walk was just as convenient. The hotel staff was exceptional. Even though the hotel was filled to capacity, Earl Hopkins at the front desk made us feel very welcome and treated us as special guests. My granddaughters were thrilled. Every member of the staff we encountered went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The rooms have been updated and were very clean. If there was a downside it was the breakfast. The service was good however the food was lackluster. The pool was open with a lifeguard from 3-11 a great way for the girls to finish their day of sightseeing. We were able to walk across the street to several restaurants (and a cinema) or the shuttle would take us into Old Town. The area felt very safe - a top priority when travelling with younger children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location next to Eisenhower Metro station. Convenient to Restaurants and a movie theater. Clean hotel with a very nice swimming pool. Ordered a chicken Caesar salad and raspberry cheesecake via room service. I liked the meal but I have had better at other holiday inn restaurants. Also the server did not get my order correct the first or second time but I only ordered room service once so take a comment with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are very pleased with this hotel for a number of reasons. The staff has been so accommodating to us ... we had a reservation, but decided to come a day early and had to make a separate reservation for the additional night. We stayed in a double the first night and, while it as small and the bathroom was a little tired, it was certainly going to adequate to our needs. Low and behold, a class field trip or two decided to book this hotel as well, and they needed our puny little double, so they upgraded us to a HUGE suite with two nicely updated bathrooms, a KING size bed and a very comfortable pull out sofa. I think this room is probaby almost half the square footage of my whole house!

Getting to the hotel was a snap. It's right off of the interstate and you just pull right off and pull right in to the parking lot. No navigating any complicated city streets in the middle of the night upon arrival. The metro stop is more or less right next door to the hotel, five minute walk at most. Perfect. Other folks on here were complaining about the traffic noise and I was on the fifth floor the first night on the west side of the building and, yeah, you could hear a vehicle every once in a while, but it was not loud at all, and certainly nothing that would keep you awake unless you are just one of those people who expects a hotel to be just like home. It ain't. None of them are.

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant the first morning and it was o.k. It's not the MGM Grand Buffet, but it will suffice! It's not the egg patty icky thing you get at those free breakfast hotels either. You could also order off of a menu, but we chose to go the buffet route, so that is all I can speak to.

DO NOT come to Washington and expect to drive to where you are going. It is an insane place filled with jerks behind the wheel. I tell you this because you may not really appreciate how important that METRO stop right next door to this place is, but I assure you, it may be the single biggest selling point for booking a room here.

The price for what we are getting and the comfort and safety level we feel at this location is a great value. I shopped around a lot and this hotel was one of the most affordable so I took a chance on it and I am glad that I did. If we return to D.C., we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
You couldn't have said it any better than you did in your title! This town is not the most convenient place to get around in and yes, it is a wise choice to metro around than to drive you're right! All too often an inexperienced driver finds out the hard way too late during rush hour traffic downtown. So glad to hear that you were not one of them!

We love our little oasis in this city and are thrilled to hear that you found your stay so enjoyable as well! Please, join us on Facebook and send us a note when you are coming back to visit. We would love to go just a little further when we know you're coming back to say thank you for your kind words!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Rooms were good. Exceptional service whenever we needed a shuttle bus.
All the drivers were great! If you're in Alexandria, stay here. Just don't think you'll be going for a morning swim. Alexandria has a wonderul old town section with great restaurant and wonderful artists at the Torpedo Factory

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Steve! We have our drivers on stand by ready to take you back to Old Towne, or any other destination you would like to go the next time you're in town!

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to leave comments about our hotel. It is truly appreciated and we do hope you will make us your top choice the next time you visit Alexandria. Just give us a call and we'll be sure to pick you up and have your room ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.