We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice stay for a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night to join the Woodrow Wilson Bridge Half Marathon super early the next morning. The hotel was busy, but the staff were very friendly and the room was in fine condition. Walls are a little thin, and I had a room right across from the ice maker, but didn't have trouble sleeping.

Only major complaint is beyond the hotel's control. It is located within a spaghetti of highway exits and off ramps that can be hard to navigate depending on which direction you're headed. It is a stone's throw from a Metro stop, so it would be very easy for an out of towner to park at the hotel for free and take transit into the city.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
The Marathon was a wonderful and fun event to host and hope you ran a great time considering you didn't have to get up earlier to travel to the start of the race.

If we could have a say in the number of routes that lead to our hotel, we would be the first to speak up but you are right in pointing out that we don't. We like to consider it a positive point by saying we are accessible from more directions than we know what to do with!

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for the great feedback, you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    104
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
81
45
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable beds, I would stay here again. This was our first trip to D.C. area and I really did not know what to expect as far as accomodations and locations, after spending time in Old Town, D.C., and Arlington, I was really glad we chose this hotel on Eisenhower, I felt safe here, there were plenty of joggers and walkers and it appeared to be the part of the city where the locals gathered for dinner and a movie. I picked this hotel after on line searches and what clinched the deal was the closeness in proximity to the Metro. Yes, the hotel itself is surrounded by the beltway/freeway systems, we used earplugs because we live in the country and are used to complete silence when we sleep. It was nice to get back to a clean room at the end of each day after walking miles and miles at the National Mall and downtown D.C. Ted's Montana Grill right across the street has the best burger I ever ate, we had to go back a second time, delicious! Never ate at the hotel restaurant, and did not use the pool because it didn't open until 3 p.m. This place needs a hot tub for tired muscles and feet. One other important thing to know, if you stay a week like we did, there is not a convenience store, food store, or drug store less than 2 mile walk away, I wish I would have packed more granola bars and snacks for quick breakfasts. We did not rent a car, we utilized the Metro and it was a great way to see the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Metro, that will be the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments; we work hard to accommodate the needs of our guests due to the lack of a nearby sundry store. We look forward to your next visit because you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were out on a date night celebrating our anniversary. The staff at check in was very friendly. The room was large and to my surprise the Kitchen Staff sent up a bottle of champagne, cheese and fruit. Delicious breakfast in the morning. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and are always thrilled to see that shine through in comments such as these! Our team members are what makes our hotel a destination, not just a location to stay. You feel welcome here because you are welcome here! Thank you for your feedback and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is very convenient to the Metro and the Capital Beltway. Due to highway configuration it is somewhat difficult navigate to the entrance. Maybe it was just me, but check-in took a while as there were many people in loine with three clerks handling that chore. Once at the counter my Priority Check-In went smoothly and efficiently. The room was on the top floor next to the guest laundry. I didn;t hear anything, but then again it may not have been used. The room had obviously been renovated, especially the bathroom. The fan in the bathroom runs 24/7. It's somewhat annoying. The bed was comfortable and the TV offers numerous channels some in High Definition. There two problems. The room smelled extremely musty. It didn't have that "fresh" smell. Second, the coffee maker sits on the bureau but the cord is too short to plug it into the wall without putting it on the floor. That was pretty silly. If there was a more convenient recepacle I didn't see it. The restaurant was visited for breakfast. They offer a buffet for about $15. My waiter spoke broken English, which caused a bit of a communication problem. He brought me OJ and thought I wanted the buffet. I asked for a menu instead. I ordered the American breakfast, which comes with three eggs, toast, meat, home fries and fruit on the plate, plus coffee and juice. The cost is $9.00. The scrambled eggs were delicious. The meal is filling. If you order this breakfast check the bill. They tried charging me $2.50 for juice. I had to point out that juice was included. They immediately brought a new check. Obviously, the waiter didn;t know his menu. The stay was OK. I would think about staying again but the room needs to be fresher.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Forget what you might think you know about Holiday Inns. This hotel competes well with so-called premium brands, offering a sophisticated lodging experience all the way around. The staff is well trained and friendly. My room was super. Breakfast is full-service, also with a nice buffet, but quick in a well appointed lobby restaurant with a thermos of coffee on the table. I can't say enough about it. I'll be back.

Room Tip: No particular tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for the great feedback, you're the reason we do what we do every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While expensive, but not by Washington DC standards this time of year, this was a very convenient hotel one block from the Metro and thus a 20 minute train ride to the DC Mall. Some very good restaurants a block away, and of course a Starbucks one block away to get us going in the morning. Very friendly staff. But do stay away from the hotel restaurant - $14.00 tasteless hamburgers. The room was clean well equipped, but the bed was lumpy and my partner and I always ended up sinking to the middle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback, we can only improve when we know how our guests feel. While we get a lot of positive comments about our new pillow top beds, we know that they may not be the best for everyone. We would love to invite you back again, however, to sample our new restaurant menus which offer a wider variety of foods at a lower and more family friendly price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Staff was great, they helped us with reserving tours, shuttled us to Old Town, and were very friendly. Every one greeted you with a "Good Morning". Prices of hotels closer to DC were spendy and they charged you to park. Not so here. Having restuarant and bar at hotel were a plus for breakfast in AM and relaxing cocktail in PM. Two block walk to Metro station made travel into DC a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracie R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Whether you’re in the mood for an early breakfast to kick off your day or a late cocktail to unwind, we have you covered here! Dutch’s Grill is our full service restaurant offering breakfast lunch and dinner service and a warm family atmosphere while Dutch’s lounge is a comfortable bar offering a wide variety of appetizers and a full bar. Whatever your mood may be, our friendly staff will be sure you are taken care of. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave

Address: 2460 Eisenhower Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn - Alexandria - I-95 hotel at Telegraph Road, a full service hotel conveniently located near the Capital Beltway/I-95, and minutes from Old Towne Alexandria, Washington, DC, Reagan National Airport (DCA), and the Eisenhower Metro Station. Our hotel has many features designed with you in mind: well appointed guest rooms, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary airport shuttle, indoor pool, fitness center, and ample free parking. The Holiday Inn Alexandria also offers the Eisenhower Station Restaurant & Lounge where Kids Eat Free, meeting facilities able to accommodate up to 350 guests, and much more.Area attractions include: the Smithsonian museums; Mt. Vernon, home of George Washington; Washington DC area memorials such as the George Washington Masonic National Memorial, the Vietnam Memorial, the WWII Memorial, and the Holocaust Memorial Museum; Arlington National Cemetery; and the White House. This Alexandria hotel is approximately one mile from Michael Baker Engineering, the Federal Courthouse, the Hoffman Buildings, AMC theatres and Strayer University.We look forward to meeting all of your lodging needs when your business or pleasure travels bring you to the historic Alexandria, Virginia area and our nation's capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Sw Eisenhower Ave Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Telegraph Rd
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Alexandria SW Eisenhower Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.